Organon in Switzerland

On February 5, 2020, Merck & Co. Inc (trading under the name Merck Sharp & Dohme outside the United States and Canada) announced its intention to spin off products from its Women’s Health, Trusted Legacy Brands and Biosimilars businesses into a new, independent, publicly traded company.

Under the following link, you will find the corresponding media release

The transaction will create two leading companies: Merck & Co. Inc. (hereinafter jointly referred to with the Company’s subsidiaries as “MSD”) and Organon & Co (hereinafter jointly referred to with the Company’s subsidiaries as “Organon”).

The transaction (hereinafter referred to as the “Spin-off”) is expected to be completed during the first half of 2021. We believe that the planned spin-off will put both companies in a position to better respond to the specific needs of their patients and customers. You can find further information on our microsite

In connection with the spin-off, certain parts of MSD’s business, including certain products and the related marketing authorizations, will be transferred from MSD to Organon in due course.

Since November 1, 2020, the transferred part of the business in Switzerland has been carried out by the new company Organon GmbH. It will remain a subsidiary of MSD until the global transaction is completed in the first half of 2021.


CH-NON-00845, 10/2020

Organon in der Schweiz

Am 5. Februar 2020 gab Merck & Co. Inc. (ausserhalb der USA und Kanada unter der Bezeichnung Merck Sharp & Dohme firmierend) die Absicht bekannt, Produkte aus den Unternehmenssparten Women's Health, Trusted Legacy Brands und Biosimilars in ein neues, unabhängiges, börsennotiertes Unternehmen auszugliedern.

Unter folgendem Link finden Sie die entsprechende Medienmitteilung

Im Rahmen der Transaktion werden zwei führende Unternehmen entstehen: Merck & Co. Inc. (im Folgenden gemeinschaftlich mit den Tochtergesellschaften des Unternehmens als «MSD» bezeichnet) sowie Organon & Co (im Folgenden gemeinschaftlich mit den Tochtergesellschaften des Unternehmens als «Organon» bezeichnet).

Die Transaktion (im Folgenden als «Ausgliederung» bezeichnet) wird voraussichtlich im Laufe des ersten Halbjahres 2021 abgeschlossen sein. Wir gehen davon aus, dass die geplante Ausgliederung beide Unternehmen in eine Position versetzen wird, in der sie besser auf die besonderen Anforderungen ihrer Patienten und Kunden reagieren können. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf unserer Microsite

In Verbindung mit der Ausgliederung werden bestimmte Teilbereiche der Geschäftstätigkeit von MSD, darunter bestimmte Produkte und die zugehörigen Marktzulassungen, zu gegebener Zeit von MSD auf Organon übertragen.

Seit dem 1. November 2020 wird der übertragene Teil des Geschäfts in der Schweiz von der neuen Gesellschaft Organon GmbH ausgeübt. Diese bleibt solange eine Tochtergesellschaft von MSD, bis die globale Transaktion im Laufe des ersten Halbjahres 2021 abgeschlossen sein wird.


CH-NON-00845, 10/2020