Our work in diabetes

About 500,000 people in Switzerland are affected by diabetes and approximately 90% of them (one in 18 people) suffer from type 2 diabetes.1 Many people may not even know that they have this disease, as the average case of type 2 diabetes is not diagnosed for seven years.2 The number of diabetes patients is constantly rising. By 2045, the number of people affected across the world is estimated to have increased to 700 million.3

About

500000

people in Switzerland suffer from diabetes.1

Type 2 diabetes makes up approximately

90%

of all cases of diabetes diagnosed in adults.1

«Diabetes is one of MSD’s key therapeutic areas. We are committed to conducting scientifically excellent and innovative research into diabetes in order to continuously improve treatment options for patients.»

Helgo Magnussen, Director Business Unit Primary Care & Vaccines, MSD Switzerland

Type 2 diabetes2

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic condition, which develops gradually and is characterised by increased blood sugar levels. It occurs when the pancreas does not produce enough insulin or the body is unable to use the insulin effectively to convert blood sugar into energy (insulin resistance). In most cases, type 2 diabetes does not develop until later in the patient’s life. At first, it does not cause any detectable symptoms. The condition often goes undetected until complications arise, such as wounds not healing properly or being prone to infection or visual impairments. Type 2 diabetes is affecting an increasing number of younger people who are severely overweight.

People with type 2 diabetes have a higher risk of cardiovascular diseases and death.

Type 2 diabetic patients between the ages of 45 and 64 have an increased risk of heart attacks.4

People with type 2 diabetes are 1.5 – 2 times more likely than the general population to suffer a stroke.5

50% of deaths among people with typ 2 diabetes are the result of a cardiovascular disease.6

Blood sugar control is vital for type 2 diabetes patients.2

When treating type 2 diabetes, it is vitally important to normalise the patient’s increased blood sugar levels. Switching to a healthier diet and exercising more does help, but in many cases it is not enough. These patients also rely on antidiabetics (drugs that reduce blood sugar) and regular visits to their doctor.

We are investigating the development of new treatment options to further improve the quality of life of diabetes patients.

Diabetes is a chronic illness and, as yet, there is still no cure for it. MSD has been actively conducting research into diabetes for years, to enable us to provide patients with new, innovative treatment options.

MSD plays a leading role in the field of diabetes

With an unwavering focus on innovation and substantiated science, we are working on researching, developing and providing drugs and vaccines. In 2007, our long-standing research programme for diabetes enabled us to contribute to one of the most important advances in type 2 diabetes treatment: the introduction of a new class of treatment known as DPP-4 inhibitors. Although diabetes patients have seen their quality of life improve considerably, there are still many who do not reach their target blood sugar levels. Nowadays, there is a new class of antidiabetic substances used to treat type 2 diabetes, known as SGLT-2 inhibitors. This gives patients further options for combination and supplementary therapy for treating type 2 diabetes.

We are working to improve the possibility of early diabetes detection.

Many patients’ diabetes is not detected until they start displaying visible symptoms2. The PARIS (Patient at Risk Identification System) software developed by MSD helps to identify patients at risk of diabetic and cardiovascular conditions. PARIS uses patient data to estimate the patient’s risk of disease as a basis for determining the most effective treatment for them. PARIS is also designed to prevent over- and under-treatment, ensure that resources are used more efficiently and make it easier to measure therapeutic success.

References

1 Bundesamt für Gesundheit https://www.bag.admin.ch, last access 13.12.2018; 2 https://www.diabetesschweiz.ch/, last access 13.12.2018; 3 Diabetes Atlas der IDF https://www.diabetes-online.de/, last access 13.12.2018; 4 Haffner et al. Mortality from coronary heart disease in subjects with type 2 diabetes and nondiabetic subjects with and without prior myocardial infarction. New England Journal of Medicine. 1998 Jul 23;339(4):229 – 234.; 5 Emerging risk factors collaboration: Diabetes mellitus, fasting blood glucose concentration, and risk of vascular disease: a collaborative meta-analysis of 102 prospective studies. The Lancet. 2010.; 6 World Health Organisation Europe. Data and Statistics. http://www.euro.who.int/en/ health-topics/noncommunicable-diseases/diabetes/data-and-tatistics.

Unsere Arbeit im Bereich Diabetes

Rund 500'000 Menschen sind in der Schweiz von Diabetes betroffen, circa 90% davon (eine von 18 Personen) leiden an Diabetes Typ 2.1 Viele Personen wissen möglicherweise noch gar nicht, dass sie ebenfalls daran erkrankt sind, denn es dauert im Durchschnitt 7 Jahre, bis ein Typ-2-Diabetes entdeckt wird.2 Die Zahl der Diabetes-Patienten nimmt stetig zu. Schätzungen zufolge soll die Zahl der weltweit Betroffenen im Jahr 2045 auf 700 Millionen angestiegen sein.3

Rund

500000

Menschen in der Schweiz leiden an Diabetes.1

Diabetes Typ 2 macht circa

90%

aller diagnostizierten Diabetes-Fälle bei Erwachsenen aus.1

«Diabetes ist ein bedeutender Therapiebereich von MSD. Wir engagieren uns für wissenschaftliche Exzellenz und Innovationen in der Diabetesforschung, um die Behandlungsmöglichkeiten von Patienten kontinuierlich zu verbessern.»

Helgo Magnussen, Director Business Unit Primary Care & Vaccines, MSD Switzerland

Diabetes Typ 22

Typ-2-Diabetes ist eine chronische Erkrankung, die sich langsam entwickelt und durch einen erhöhten Blutzuckerspiegel gekennzeichnet ist. Sie entsteht, wenn die Bauchspeicheldrüse nicht ausreichend Insulin produziert oder der Körper das Insulin nicht wirksam nutzen kann, um Blutzucker in Energie umzuwandeln (Insulinresistenz). In den meisten Fällen tritt Typ-2-Diabetes in der zweiten Lebenshälfte auf. Dabei sind anfänglich keine Symptome spürbar. Die Krankheit wird häufig erst erkannt, wenn erste Komplikationen, wie z.B. schlecht heilende, infektionsanfällige Wunden oder Sehstörungen auftreten. Immer häufiger tritt Typ-2-Diabetes auch bei jüngeren Menschen mit starkem Übergewicht auf.

Typ-2-Diabetes birgt ein erhöhtes Risiko für kardiovaskuläre Erkrankungen und Todesfälle.

Typ-2-Diabetiker im Alter von 45-64 Jahren haben ein erhöhtes Herzinfarkt Risiko.4

Menschen mit Typ-2-Diabetes haben ein 1.5 – 2fach höheres Risiko für einen Schlaganfall im Vergleich zur Allgemeinbevölkerung.5

50% der Todesfälle bei Menschen mit Typ-2-Diabetes sind die Folge einer kardiovaskulären Erkrankung.6

Bei Typ-2-Diabetes ist die Blutzuckerkontrolle von grundlegender Bedeutung.2

Bei der Behandlung des Typ-2-Diabetes geht es vor allem darum, die erhöhten Blutzuckerwerte zu normalisieren. Dabei können die Umstellung auf eine gesündere Ernährung und mehr Bewegung helfen. In vielen Fällen reicht dies jedoch nicht. Diese Patienten sind zusätzlich auf Antidiabetika (blutzuckersenkende Medikamente) und regelmässige Besuche bei ihrem Arzt angewiesen.

Wir forschen an der Entwicklung neuer Therapien, die Diabetes-Patienten noch mehr Lebensqualität schenken.

Diabetes ist eine chronische Krankheit und bis heute nicht heilbar. MSD engagiert sich seit Jahren aktiv in der Diabetesforschung, um betroffenen Patienten neue, innovative Therapien zur Verfügung stellen zu können.

MSD übernimmt eine führende Rolle im Bereich Diabetes

Mit kontinuierlichem Fokus auf Innovation und fundierte Wissenschaft arbeiten wir an der Erforschung, Entwicklung und Bereitstellung von Medikamenten und Impfstoffen. Unser langjähriges Forschungsprogramm im Bereich Diabetes hat es ermöglicht, im Jahr 2007 zu einem der wichtigsten Fortschritte in der Behandlung des Typ-2-Diabetes beizutragen: zur Einführung sogenannter DPP-4-Inhibitoren als Therapieoption einer damals neuen Klasse. Auch wenn sich die Lebensqualität von Diabetes-Patienten damit deutlich verbessert hat, erreichen noch nicht alle Patienten ihren Blutzucker-Zielwert. Heute sind sogenannte SGLT-2-Inhibitoren eine neue Substanzklasse der Antidiabetika zur Therapie des Typ-2-Diabetes. Damit stehen den Patienten weitere Kombinations- und Ergänzungstherapien zur Behandlung des Diabetes Typ 2 zur Verfügung.

Wir setzen uns dafür ein, die Möglichkeiten zur Früherkennung von Diabetes zu verbessern.

Bei vielen Patienten wird Diabetes erst entdeckt, wenn sie sichtbare Symptome zeigen2. Die von MSD entwickelte Software PARIS (Patient at Risk Identification System) unterstützt die Identifikation von diabetischen und kardiovaskulären Risikopatienten. Mit PARIS lässt sich anhand von Patientendaten das Krankheitsrisiko abschätzen - als Grundlage für die Bestimmung einer möglichst optimalen Therapie. Zudem sollen mit PARIS Über- und Unterbehandlungen vermieden, Ressourcen effizienter genutzt und Therapieerfolge messbarer gemacht werden.

Referenzen

1 Bundesamt für Gesundheit https://www.bag.admin.ch, eingesehen 13.12.2018; 2 https://www.diabetesschweiz.ch/, eingesehen 13.12.2018; 3 Diabetes Atlas der IDF https://www.diabetes-online.de/, eingesehen 13.12.2018; 4 Haffner et al. Mortality from coronary heart disease in subjects with type 2 diabetes and nondiabetic subjects with and without prior myocardial infarction. New England Journal of Medicine. 1998 Jul 23;339(4):229 – 234.; 5 Emerging risk factors collaboration: Diabetes mellitus, fasting blood glucose concentration, and risk of vascular disease: a collaborative meta-analysis of 102 prospective studies. The Lancet. 2010.; 6 World Health Organisation Europe. Data and Statistics. Verfügbar unter: http://www.euro.who.int/en/ health-topics/noncommunicable-diseases/diabetes/data-and-tatistics.