Chronic inflammatory bowel diseases

The most common chronic, inflammatory bowel diseases are Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis. Crohn's disease is a chronic illness that flares up periodically and can affect the entire digestive tract. Like Crohn's, ulcerative colitis is a long-term illness that follows a cycle of relapse and remission. But in this disease the inflammation is limited to the colon. Symptoms include severe stomach aches, bloody diarrhea, fever, and weight loss. In both diseases, the immune system overreacts to the body's own germs or cells that are normally found in the bowels, resulting in inflammation. Despite extensive research, it is still unclear why this happens. Although increasingly effect therapies have been developed, Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis are incurable.

«We engage in medical research and participate as a partner in various projects and cooperative ventures to contribute to further progress in the treatment of patients with Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis.»

Dr. Monika Kobialko Stakeholder Manager Gastroenterology, MSD Switzerland

Our engagement in Switzerland

MSD supports the annual World IBD Day as an official partner. Its goal is to support an increase in global understanding and awareness in the public for people with chronic inflammatory bowel diseases. In Switzerland, World IBD Day is being coordinated by patient organization Crohn Colitis Schweiz.

In partnership with leading gastroenterologists from IBDnet and the patient organization Crohn Colitis Schweiz, MSD has also developed IBDialog monthly: a practical app which gives patients with chronic inflammatory bowel diseases and their gastroenterologists a continuous overview of their course of treatment.

Patient Website «MSD Gesundheit Schweiz»

On the patient website MSD Gesundheit Schweiz, interested people can find information on the chronic inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD) Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis. They learn more about their causes, symptoms, progression and treatment options and get tips on additional topics like nutrition, pregnancy, sexuality and travel.

Access patient website


CH-NON-00239, 10/2019

Chronisch entzündliche Darmerkrankungen1

Die häufigsten chronisch entzündlichen Darmerkrankungen sind Morbus Crohn und Colitis ulcerosa. Morbus Crohn ist eine chronische Erkrankung, die den gesamten Verdauungstrakt betreffen kann und in Schüben verläuft. Auch Colitis ulcerosa ist eine langandauernde Erkrankung und verläuft in Schüben. Bei ihr beschränkt sich die Entzündung jedoch auf den Dickdarm. Zu den Symptomen zählen heftige Bauchschmerzen, blutiger Durchfall, Fieber und Gewichtsverlust. Bei beiden Erkrankungen reagiert das Immunsystem übermässig auf körpereigene Keime oder Zellen, die sich normalerweise im Darm befinden, was zu den Entzündungen führt. Warum das passiert, ist trotz intensiver Forschung bis heute unklar. Auch wenn es inzwischen immer wirksamere Therapien gibt, sind Morbus Crohn und Colitis ulcerosa nicht heilbar.

«Wir engagieren uns in der medizinischen Forschung und als Partner in verschiedenen Projekten und Kooperationen, um zu weiteren Behandlungsfortschritten von Patienten mit Morbus Crohn und Colitis ulcerosa beizutragen.»

Dr. Monika Kobialko Stakeholder Manager Gastroenterology, MSD Switzerland

Unser Engagement in der Schweiz

MSD unterstützt den jährlichen Welt-CED-Tag als offizieller Partner. Er soll weltweit das Verständnis und die Aufmerksamkeit der Öffentlichkeit für Menschen mit chronisch entzündlichen Darmerkrankungen fördern. In der Schweiz wird der Welt-CED-Tag von der Schweizerischen Morbus Crohn/Colitis ulcerosa Vereinigung (SMCCV) koordiniert.

Ausserdem hat MSD im Rahmen einer partnerschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit mit führenden Gastroenterologen von IBDnet und der Patientenorganisation SMCCV IBDialog monthly entwickelt: Eine praktische App, die Patienten mit chronisch entzündlichen Darmerkrankungen und deren Gastroenterologen einen kontinuierlichen Überblick über den Therapieverlauf ermöglicht.

Referenzen

1 https://www.rheumaliga.ch, eingesehen 14.11.2018