Jean-Blaise Defago joins MSD Switzerland as Director Policy & Communications

Lucerne, September 1, 2018. As of September 1, Jean-Blaise Defago has joined the Swiss subsidiary of MSD (Merck Sharp & Dohme AG) as Director Policy & Communications. In this position, Defago will develop and promote external collaboration with political stakeholders and industry representatives. As head of the Policy & Communications team, he is also responsible for strengthening MSD’s internal and external communication in Switzerland. This will make it possible for the biopharmaceutical research company to play a more active role in the healthcare system as an important player and to exploit its strong position in both the Swiss pharmaceutical market and the canton of Lucerne, where the company maintains four sites with 700 employees, from which it serves Switzerland and operates in numerous markets around the world.

Defago comes to MSD Switzerland from Abbvie Switzerland, where he worked as Government Affairs Manager. Before that, Defago had an extensive career, with more than 20 years of professional experience in government and health insurance, focusing on public affairs and communications. Among other positions, he was Head of Corporate Communication for the assurance company Visana and was also employed at the Federal Department of Defense, Civil Protection and Sport, first as Head of Corporate Communications and then later as a consultant and Chief of Staff.

About MSD

MSD is a leading global biopharmaceutical company which has been engaged in life science research for more than a century, developing drugs and vaccines for the most challenging diseases worldwide. MSD is a registered trademark of Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, USA. With our prescription drugs, vaccines, biological therapies, and veterinary products, we offer innovative health solutions in over 140 countries. With wide-ranging programs and partnerships, we are also committed to achieving improved access to healthcare. Today MSD is still at the forefront of research for the prevention and treatment of diseases which threaten people and society around the world, including cancer, cardiovascular diseases, new animal diseases, Alzheimer’s, and infectious diseases, including HIV and Ebola. For more information visit www.msd.com and follow us on Twitter.

MSD Human Medicine Switzerland

Switzerland is a key location for the company, which has 700 employees working there in national and international functions. The Human Medicine division in Switzerland is responsible for the distribution of prescription drugs and biopharmaceuticals in the areas of oncology, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, infectious diseases (including fungal infections, antibiotic resistance, HIV/Aids, and hepatitis C), immunology, women’s health as well as vaccines for children, young people, and adults.

MSD is active in clinical research in Switzerland, where the company provides medicines for clinical trials worldwide. Additionally, MSD is committed to raising health literacy and promoting the healthcare economy on a local level. The company is also active in Lucerne, where the MSD headquarters are located. In 2018 the company received certification as a “Top Employer” in Switzerland for the sixth year in succession, as well as the “Top Employer Europe” award for the third time.

More information is available at: www.msd.ch
Follow us on Twitter, LinkedIn and YouTube.

Press contact:
Liliane Elspass, Assoc. Director Policy & Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 34 24 / Mobile 079 235 58 90
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2018 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. All rights reserved.

CORP-1276007-0000, 11/2018

Jean-Blaise Defago steigt bei MSD Schweiz als Director Policy & Communications ein

Luzern, 1. September 2018. Jean-Blaise Defago tritt zum 1. September als Director Policy and Communications in die Schweizer Tochtergesellschaft von MSD (Merck Sharp & Dohme AG) ein. In dieser Funktion wird Jean-Blaise Defago die externe Zusammenarbeit mit politischen Interessengruppen und Industrievertretungen entwickeln und fördern. Als Leiter des Policy & Communication Teams ist er ebenso dafür verantwortlich, die interne und externe Kommunikation für MSD in der Schweiz zu stärken. Dies wird es dem forschenden biopharmazeutischen Unternehmen ermöglichen, sich vermehrt aktiv als wichtiger Player im Gesundheitsweisen einzubringen und seine starke Position auf dem Schweizer Pharmamarkt sowie im Kanton Luzern wahrzunehmen, aus dem das Unternehmen mit vier lokalen Standorten und 700 Mitarbeitenden für die Schweiz und zahlreiche Märkte weltweit tätig ist.

Jean-Blaise Defago wechselt von Abbvie Schweiz zu MSD Schweiz, wo er als Government Affairs Manager tätig war. Davor hatte Jean-Blaise Defago eine umfangreiche Karriere mit über 20 Jahren Berufserfahrung in der Regierungs- und Krankenversicherung mit Schwerpunkt Public Affairs und Kommunikation. Unter anderem war er Leiter der Unternehmenskommunikation der Visana-Versicherungen und Teil des Eidgenössischen Departements für Verteidigung, Bevölkerungsschutz und Sport, zunächst als Leiter der Unternehmenskommunikation, später als Berater und Stabschef des Leiters des Departements für Verteidigung, Bevölkerungsschutz und Sport.

Über MSD:

MSD ist ein führendes globales biopharmazeutisches Unternehmen, das seit mehr als einem Jahrhundert für das Leben forscht und für die herausforderndsten Krankheiten weltweit Arzneimittel und Impfstoffe entwickelt. MSD ist ein geschützter Name von Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, U.S.A. Mit unseren rezeptpflichtigen Medikamenten, Impfstoffen, Biotherapeutika und Tiergesundheitsprodukten bieten wir in über 140 Ländern innovative Gesundheitslösungen an. Darüber hinaus setzen wir uns mit weitreichenden Programmen und Partnerschaften für den verbesserten Zugang zur Gesundheitsversorgung ein. Heute steht MSD weiterhin an der Spitze der Forschung zur Vorbeugung und Behandlung von Krankheiten, die Menschen und die Gesellschaft auf der ganzen Welt bedrohen, darunter Krebs, Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, neue Tierkrankheiten, Alzheimer sowie Infektionskrankheiten, inklusive HIV und Ebola. Für weitere Informationen besuchen Sie www.msd.com und folgen Sie uns auf Twitter.

MSD Humanmedizin Schweiz:

Die Schweiz ist ein wichtiger Standort für das Unternehmen. Hier sind 700 Mitarbeitende in nationalen und internationalen Funktionen tätig. Der Bereich Humanmedizin ist in der Schweiz zuständig für den Vertrieb rezeptpflichtiger Medikamente und Biopharmazeutika in den Therapiebereichen Onkologie, Diabetes, Herzkreislauf, Anti-Infektiva (u.a. Antimykotika, Antibiotika-Resistenzen, HIV/AIDS und Hepatitis C), Immunologie, Frauengesundheit sowie von Impfstoffen für Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene.

MSD ist in der Schweiz aktiv in der klinischen Forschung und stellt hier Medikamente weltweit für klinische Studien her. Die Stärkung der Gesundheitskompetenz und der Gesundheitsökonomie sind weitere Anliegen, für die sich MSD lokal einsetzt. Ebenso engagiert sich MSD am Standort Luzern. 2018 erhielt das Unternehmen in der Schweiz zum sechsten Mal in Folge die Zertifizierung «Top Employer» und zum dritten Mal die Auszeichnung «Top Employer Europe».

Mehr unter: www.msd.ch
Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

Kontakt:
Liliane Elspass, Assoc. Director Policy & Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 34 24 / Mobile 079 235 58 90
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2018 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

CORP-1276007-0000, 09/2018