Human Papillomavirus (HPV): More Needs to Be Done in Terms of Information and Education

Switzerland lags far behind the sought-after immunization rate of 80% of 16-year-old girls, which is intended to prevent HPV-related types of cancer. This is demonstrated by the latest figures from the Immunization Monitor, which is published each year by the Federal Office of Public Health1,2.

Lucerne, September 2, 2019. Immunization in Switzerland against HPV-related diseases such as vulvar, vaginal, cervical and anal cancer remains low. This is demonstrated once again by the figures from the Immunization Monitor, which is published each year by the Federal Office of Public Health.

Immunization Coverage Rate of 80% Required

The Federal Office for Public Health (BAG) conducts annual cantonal immunization surveys to record the level of immunization coverage in Switzerland for the recommended basic and supplementary vaccinations for 2, 8 and 16-year-olds1. The immunization rate among 16-year-old girls for preventing human papillomavirus (HPV) infection is at 56%2. This is with a two-dose schedule, as recommended for boys and girls aged between 11 and 14 for maximum protection against genital and anal cancers as well as genital warts (condylomata).

The immunization rate sought by the BAG for 16-year-old girls, however, is at least 80%3. Based on the existing vaccines available, the BAG asserted in October 2018 that with a high immunization coverage rate, it was possible to protect the population from around 90% of HPV-associated diseases4.

Addressing Shortfalls in Information and Awareness

Shortfalls in information and awareness play a significant role in the situation in Switzerland. This was established by a recent comparative study in Europe (March 2019), which was conducted in ten countries, among them Switzerland. Here is the data from this study which is of relevance for Switzerlandat a glance5:

  • Along with Germany and Austria, Switzerland is one of the countries with the lowest awareness of HPV. In Switzerland, 48% of those surveyed said they were familiar with the term HPV; in contrast to this, according to the survey, the European average awareness level is 62%. Every second person in Switzerland did not know what the term HPV (human papillomavirus) means5.
  • Knowledge of the frequency of HPV infection is also low: In addition to the 52% of those who did not know what HPV means, 31% assume that HPV infection occurs rarely to somewhat rarely5. On the contrary, the risk of a person being infected with HPV at least once in their lifetime is over 75%6.
  • It is also little known in Switzerland that HPV can also cause cancer in men: 36% of those surveyed think that only girls are at risk of infection. Only 8% knew that boys are just as exposed to this risk5.

This means that more work needs to be put into education and resources must be dedicated to providing access to objective, evidence-based information, especially given that HPV is the most common viral genital infection and causes a range of diseases in men and women7. Such educational efforts must be applied at multiple levels: as part of precautionary medical measures, through education at schools, during compulsory medical examinations for military service and also – as before – through the publications of BAG (“Vaccinations – good to know!” and “Cancer and genital warts: Protect yourself before having sex for the first time! HPV vaccinations for youths”). This is supplemented by the platform https://hpv-info.ch/ initiated by MSD in February 2018 and since supported by numerous partners.

This information is intended for representatives of the media only. MSD draws attention to the advertising provisions of pharmaceutical law, in particular to the prohibition of advertising to the public for prescription-only pharmaceutical products.

About Cantonal Immunization Monitoring

Cantonal immunization monitoring is performed on behalf of the Federal Office of Public Health (BAG). The annual surveys are performed by the Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Prevention Institute at the University of Zurich in collaboration with the cantons1. Following the initial survey between 1999 and 2003, a series of surveys has been performed every three years since 2005. A certain number of the cantons participates each year. The national values are based on the data of all cantons participating in a survey period1.
For 2018, values were collected in eight cantons2.The surveyed immunization coverage rates among 16-year-old girls for HPV vaccinations according to the 2018 data is 62% for one dose, 56% for two doses and 7% for three doses2.

About HPV6

Almost all forms of cervical cancer (99%) are caused by infection with one of the high-risk strains of HPV. According to the World Health Organization (WHO), it is the fourth most common type of cancer among women and is associated with a high level of mortality worldwide. HPV infections can also cause several other cancers in both men and women that are associated with a serious risk of mortality and are a strain on healthcare systems. Some HPV strains can cause highly unpleasant genital warts (condylomata), while others can cause genital, anal or oral cancer.

About the European Survey on HPV5

Ipsos carried out interviews for MSD on a representative sample of 15,000 adults between the ages of 16 and 60 within Europe (in alphabetical order): Belgium 1,000, Germany 2,000, France 2,000, Greece 1,000, Italy 2,000, Austria 1,000, Portugal 1,000, Switzerland 1,000, Spain 2,000 and United Kingdom 2,000. The survey was conducted online from January 7 to 21, 2019. The population was based proportionally on gender, age, region and work status at country level, and survey data was weighted according to given population ratios. The market research was initiated and funded by MSD. MSD owns the distribution rights to the study results. In Switzerland, a total 1,000 people (two-thirds of whom were adolescents, one-third adults) were interviewed from across all language regions.

For more information:

References

1 https://www.bag.admin.ch/bag/de/home/gesund-leben/gesundheitsfoerderung-undpraevention/impfungen-prophylaxe/informationen-fachleute-gesundheitspersonal/durchimpfung.html, accessed on August 13, 2019

2 Federal Office of Public Health, “Vaccination Rates of 2, 8 and 16-Year-Old Children in Switzerland, 1999-2018 (XLS, 459 kB, June 13, 2019), accessed on August 23, 2019

3 3 Federal Office for Public Health, “National Vaccination Strategy” (November 23, 2018), page 37: https://www.bag.admin.ch/bag/de/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationalestrategie-impfungen-nsi.html, accessed on August 13, 2019

4 https://www.bag.admin.ch/bag/de/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/hpv.html or HPV vaccination: Recommendations of BAG and EKIF on the new vaccine Gardasil 9® (PDF, 133 kB, October 22, 2018 Bull BAG 2018; No. 43: 10-15, accessed on August 13, 2019

5 Ipsos Healthcare Service Line: https://www.ipsos.com/en-ch/human-papillomavirus-europe, bzw. PDF “EU HPV Consumer Awareness Study” from March 4, 2019, accessed on August 13, 2019

6 Syrjänen K et al. Prevalence, Incidence, and estimated life-time risk of cervical Human Papillomavirus Infections in a non-selected Finnish female population. Sex Transm Dis 1990;17:15-19.

7 World Health Organization: Immunization, Vaccines and Biologicals https://www.who.int/immunization/diseases/hpv/en/, accessed on August 13, 2019

About MSD in Switzerland:

1000 employees are working in national and international functions in Switzerland. The Human Medicine division is active in the areas of prescription drugs and biopharmaceuticals for therapies including oncology, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, infectious diseases (including fungal infections, antibiotic resistance, HIV/Aids, and hepatitis C), immunology, women’s health as well as in the area of vaccines for children, young people, and adults.
In Switzerland, MSD develops and analyses new biotechnological active ingredients, tests new drugs, conducts stability studies, coordinates and supplies test drugs for worldwide clinical trials during the development phases. MSD also plays an active role in engaging locally, supporting the health congress “Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern” and the popular “Swiss City Marathon Lucerne”. In 2019, the company was certified as a “Top Employer Switzerland” for the seventh year in succession, as well as a “Top Employer Europe” for the fourth time.

About MSD worldwide:

MSD is a registered trademark of Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, USA. MSD is a leading global biopharmaceutical company which has been engaged in life science research for more than a century, developing drugs and vaccines for the most challenging diseases worldwide, including cancer, cardiovascular diseases, Alzheimer’s, and infectious diseases, such as HIV and Ebola.

For more information: www.msd.ch
Follow us on Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

Press contact MSD Switzerland:
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. +41 (0) 58 618 30 30

Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)
Liliane Elspass (Communications Lead)

© 2019 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Lucerne. All rights reserved.

CH-CIN-000180, 08/2019

Humane Papillomaviren (HPV): Es braucht mehr Informations- und Aufklärungsarbeit

Die Schweiz hinkt der angestrebten Durchimpfungsrate von 80% bei 16-jährigen Mädchen zur Prävention vor HPV-bedingten Krebsarten deutlich hinterher. Dies zeigen die neusten Zahlen des Durchimpfungsmonitors, die das Bundesamt für Gesundheit jährlich veröffentlicht1,2.

Luzern, 02.09.2019. Die Impfrate in der Schweiz gegen HPV-bedingte Erkrankungen wie Vulva-, Vaginal- und Gebärmutterhalskrebs sowie Krebs im Analbereich bleibt in der Schweiz weiterhin tief. Dies zeigen erneut die Zahlen des Durchimpfungsmonitors, die das Bundesamt für Gesundheit jährlich veröffentlicht.

Durchimpfungsrate von 80% erforderlich

Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) führt das kantonale Durchimpfungsmonitoring jährlich durch, um den Stand der Impfraten in der Schweiz für die empfohlenen Basis- und ergänzenden Impfungen bei den 2-, 8- und 16-Jährigen zu erfassen1. Bei der Prävention vor einer Infektion durch humane Papillomaviren (HPV) liegt die Durchimpfungsrate der 16-jährigen Mädchen bei 56%2. Dies bei zwei Impfdosen, wie sie bei Mädchen und Jungen im Alter zwischen 11 bis 14 Jahren für einen höchstmöglichen Schutz vor Krebs im Genital- und Analbereich sowie vor Genitalwarzen (Feigwarzen) empfohlen werden.

Die vom BAG angestrebte Durchimpfungsrate sollte bei 16-jährigen Mädchen jedoch bei mindestens 80% liegen3. Aufgrund des bestehenden Impfangebots bekräftigte das BAG im Oktober 2018, dass es bei einer hohen Durchimpfungsrate möglich sei, die Bevölkerung vor rund 90% der HPV-assoziierten Erkrankungen zu schützen4.

Informations- und Wissenslücken füllen

Die Situation in der Schweiz ist massgeblich auf eine Informations- und Wissenslücke zurückzuführen. Dies verdeutlicht eine aktuelle Vergleichsstudie in Europa (März 2019), die in zehn Ländern inklusive der Schweiz durchgeführt wurde. Die aus dieser Studie für die Schweiz relevanten Datenim Überblick5:

  • Die Schweiz gehört zusammen mit Deutschland und Österreich zu den Ländern mit dem geringsten HPV-Bewusstsein. In der Schweiz gaben 48% der Befragten an, den Begriff HPV zu kennen; demgegenüber liegt das Bewusstsein im europäischen Durchschnitt gemäss der Befragung bei 62%. In der Schweiz konnte jeder zweite den Begriff HPV (Humanes Papillomavirus) nicht zuordnen5.
  • Auch das Wissen über die Häufigkeit einer HPV-Infektion ist gering: Zusätzlich zu den 52%, die den Begriff HPV nicht zuordnen konnten, gehen 31% davon aus, dass eine HPV-Infektion selten bis ziemlich selten vorkommt5. Demgegenüber steht die Tatsache, dass das Risiko, im Leben mindestens einmal mit HPV infiziert zu werden, bei über 75% liegt6.
  • Dass HPV ebenso Krebs bei Männern verursachen kann, ist in der Schweiz nur wenigen bewusst: 36% aller Befragten denken, dass alleine die Mädchen einem Infektionsrisiko ausgesetzt sind. Nur 8% wussten, dass Jungs ebenso diesem Risiko ausgesetzt sind5.

Es braucht daher mehr Aufklärungsarbeit und der Zugang zu sachlichen, evidenzbasierten Informationen sollte gefördert werden. Dies auch vor dem Hintergrund, dass HPV die häufigste virale Infektion im Genitalbereich und Ursache einer Reihe von Erkrankungen bei Männern und Frauen ist7. Diese Informationsarbeit sollte dabei auf mehreren Ebenen stattfinden: innerhalb der ärztlichen Vorsorge, im Aufklärungsunterricht der Schulen, bei der militärischen Stellungspflicht und weiterhin im Rahmen der öffentlich zugänglichen Informationen durch das BAG («Impfen – gut zu wissen!» bzw. «Krebs und Genitalwarzen: Schütze dich, bevor du das erste Mal Sex hast! HPV-Impfung für Jugendliche). Eine Ergänzung dazu ist auch die im Februar 2018 von MSD initiierte Plattform https://hpv-info.ch/, die inzwischen von zahlreichen Partnern unterstützt wird.

Diese Informationen sind ausschliesslich für Medienschaffende bestimmt. MSD weist auf die werberechtlichen Bestimmungen des Arzneimittelrechtes hin, ins-besondere auf das Verbot der Publikumswerbung für verschreibungspflichtige Arzneimittel.

Über das kantonale Durchimpfungsmonitoring

Im Auftrag des Bundesamts für Gesundheit (BAG) erfolgt das kantonale Durchimpfungsmonitoring. Ausgeführt werden die jährlichen Erhebungen durch das Institut für Epidemiologie, Biostatistik und Prävention der Universität Zürich in Zusammenarbeit mit den Kantonen1. Nach einer ersten Erhebung 1999-2003, erfolgt seit 2005 eine Abfolge von dreijährigen Erhebungen. Jedes Jahr nimmt ein Teil der Kantone teil. Die nationalen Werte basieren auf den Daten aller an einer Erhebungsperiode teilnehmenden Kantone1.
Für 2018 wurden Zahlen in 8 Kantonen erhoben2. Die erhobenen Durchimpfungsraten bei den 16-jährigen Mädchen für die HPV-Impfung liegt gemäss der für 2018 erhobenen Zahlen bei 62% für 1 Dosis, bei 56% für zwei Dosen und bei 7% für die 3. Dosis2.

Über HPV6

Beinahe alle Formen von Gebärmutterhalskrebs (99%) werden durch eine Infektion mit einem der HPV-Hochrisikotypen verursacht. Es ist gemäss der Weltgesundheits-organisation (WHO, World Health Organisation) die vierthäufigste Krebsart bei Frauen und weist weltweit eine hohe Sterblichkeitsrate auf. HPV-Infektionen können zudem die Ursache mehrerer anderer Krebserkrankungen sowohl bei Frauen wie Männern sein, verbunden mit einem ernst zu nehmenden Sterberisiko und einer Belastung für das Gesundheitswesen. Einige der HPV-Typen können höchst unerwünschte Genitalwarzen (Feigwarzen) auslösen, andere können Krebs im Genital-, Anal- oder Mundbereich verursachen.

Über die European Survey on HPV5

Ipsos führte im Namen von MSD Interviews bei einer repräsentativen Grundgesamtheit von 15'000 Erwachsenen im Alter zwischen 16 und 60 Jahren innerhalb Europas durch (in alphabetischer Reihenfolge): Belgien 1’000, Deutschland 2’000, Frankreich 2’000, Griechenland 1’000, Italien 2’000, Österreich 1'000, Portugal 1’000, Schweiz 1'000, Spanien 2’000 und Vereintes Königreich 2’000. Die Erhebung erfolgt online zwischen dem 7. bis 21. Januar 2019. Die Grundgesamtheit basiert auf Anteile in Bezug auf Geschlecht, Alter, Region und Arbeitsstatus auf Länderniveau und die Erhebungsdaten wurden entsprechend der gegebenen Bevölkerungsverhältnisse gewichtet. Die Marktforschung wurde durch MSD initiiert und finanziert. Sie besitzt die Vertriebsrechte an den Untersuchungsergebnissen. In der Schweiz wurden insgesamt 1’000 Personen (zwei Drittel Jugendliche, ein Drittel Erwachsene) aus allen Sprachregionen befragt.

Für weitere Informationen:

Referenzen

1 https://www.bag.admin.ch/bag/de/home/gesund-leben/gesundheitsfoerderung-undpraevention/impfungen-prophylaxe/informationen-fachleute-gesundheitspersonal/durchimpfung.html, eingesehen am 13.08.2019

2 Bundesamt für Gesundheit, «Durchimpfung von 2-, 8- und 16-jährigen Kindern in der Schweiz, 1999-2018 (XLS, 459 kB, 13.06.2019), eingesehen am 23.08.2019

3 Bundesamt für Gesundheit, «Aktionsplan Nationale Strategie zu Impfungen» (23.11.2018), Seite 37: https://www.bag.admin.ch/bag/de/home/strategie-und-politik/nationale-gesundheitsstrategien/nationalestrategie-impfungen-nsi.html, eingesehen am 13.08.2019

4 https://www.bag.admin.ch/bag/de/home/krankheiten/krankheiten-im-ueberblick/hpv.html bzw. HPVImpfung: Empfehlungen des BAG und der EKIF zum neuen Impfstoff Gardasil 9® (PDF, 133 kB, 22.10.2018) Bull BAG 2018; Nr. 43: 10-15, eingesehen am 13.08.2019

5 Ipsos Healthcare Service Line: https://www.ipsos.com/en-ch/human-papillomavirus-europe, bzw. PDF “EU HPV Consumer Awareness Study” vom 04.03.2019, eingesehen am 13.08.2019

6 Syrjänen K et al. Prevalence, Incidence, and estimated life-time risk of cervical Human Papillomavirus Infections in a non-selected Finnish female population. Sex Transm Dis 1990;17:15-19.

7 World Health Organization: Immunization, Vaccines and Biologicals https://www.who.int/immunization/diseases/hpv/en/, eingesehen am 13.08.2019

Über MSD in der Schweiz:

Hier in der Schweiz sind 1000 Mitarbeitende in nationalen und internationalen Funktionen tätig. Der Bereich Humanmedizin ist in der Schweiz zuständig für den Vertrieb rezeptpflichtiger Medikamente und Biopharmazeutika in den Therapiebereichen Onkologie, Diabetes, Herzkreislauf, Infektionserkrankungen (u.a. Pilzinfektionen, Antibiotika-Resistenzen, HIV/AIDS und Hepatitis C), Immunologie, Frauengesundheit sowie von Impfstoffen für Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene.
Am Schweizer Standort analysiert MSD neue biotechnologische Wirkstoffe, testet neue Medikamente, führt Stabilitätsstudien durch, koordiniert und liefert während der verschiedenen klinischen Entwicklungsphasen Testmedikamente für weltweite klinische Studien. MSD engagiert sich vor Ort für die Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern und den Swiss City Marathon Lucerne. 2019 rangiert MSD erstmals unter den Top 5 als zertifizierter "Top Employer Switzerland".

Über MSD global:

MSD ist ein geschützter Name von Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, U.S.A. MSD ist ein führendes globales biopharmazeutisches Unternehmen, das seit mehr als einem Jahrhundert für das Leben forscht und Arzneimittel und Impfstoffe gegen die herausforderndsten Krankheiten weltweit entwickelt, darunter Krebs, Herz-Kreislauf, Alzheimer sowie Infektionskrankheiten, inklusive HIV und Ebola.

Mehr unter: www.msd.ch
Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

Medienstelle MSD Schweiz:
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. 058 618 30 30

Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)
Liliane Elspass (Communications Lead)

© 2019 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

CH-NON-00180, 08/2019