Apprentices at MSD Switzerland graduated successfully

Lucerne, 6 July 2018 - Once again this year, apprentices at MSD Switzerland have successfully graduated. They took the opportunity to start their professional careers in an international, research-based biopharmaceutical company.

At the MSD research and development site in Schachen, Werthenstein BioPharma GmbH has been offering apprenticeships for Swiss federal certification as a chemistry laboratory technician (EFZ, Eidgenössisches Fähigkeitszeugnis) since 1977, and as a biology laboratory technician since 2010. This year Mjriam von Flüe successfully completed the training in the field of chemistry.

Mjriam von Flüe with her diploma. After successful training at the MSD research and development site in Schachen, she is now an EFZ laboratory assistant (Swiss Federal Certificate of Competence) in the field of chemistry.

“I am proud to have completed my apprenticeship at MSD in Schachen. The atmosphere in the team with 14 nationalities is inspiring. It is a great feeling to know that the drugs developed and biotechnologically produced here can help many people to better control their disease or, at best, to get healthy," says Mjriam von Flüe.

At the MSD headquarters in the city of Lucerne, apprentices have been completing their training for Swiss federal certification in business administration (EFZ, Eidgenössisches Fähigkeitszeugnis) in the area of service and administration since 2014. This year Vera Zumstein completed this training at MSD.

Vera Zumstein has successfully completed her three-year training in business administration EFZ (Swiss Federal Certification) in the area of service & administration at the MSD location Citybay in the city of Lucerne.

"To be trained in an international biopharmaceutical company like MSD is a great opportunity. I have gained insights into many different areas and at the same time improved my language skills, as I had points of contact with colleagues from all over the world. I am very happy with my successful conclusion." says Vera Zumstein.

Offering training places in the region and thus supporting the dual education system is part of MSD Switzerland's corporate responsibility. After the summer holidays, the next three-year training cycle begins at MSD.

More information: http://www.msd.ch/en/career/education/

About MSD

MSD is a leading global biopharmaceutical company which has been engaged in life science research for more than a century, developing drugs and vaccines for the most challenging diseases worldwide. MSD is a registered trademark of Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, USA. With our prescription drugs, vaccines, biological therapies, and veterinary products, we offer innovative health solutions in over 140 countries. With wide-ranging programs and partnerships, we are also committed to achieving improved access to healthcare. Today MSD is still at the forefront of research for the prevention and treatment of diseases which threaten people and society around the world, including cancer, cardiovascular diseases, new animal diseases, Alzheimer’s, and infectious diseases, including HIV and Ebola. For more information visit www.msd.com and follow us on Twitter.

MSD Human Medicine Switzerland

Switzerland is a key location for the company, which has 600 employees working there in national and international functions. The Human Medicine division in Switzerland is responsible for the distribution of prescription drugs and biopharmaceuticals in the areas of oncology, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, infectious diseases (including anti-fungal, antibiotic resistance, HIV/Aids, and hepatitis C), immunology, women’s health as well as vaccines for children, young people, and adults.

MSD is active in clinical research in Switzerland, where the company provides medicines for clinical trials worldwide. Additionally, MSD is committed to raising health literacy and promoting the healthcare economy on a local level. The firm is also active in Lucerne, where the MSD headquarters are located. In 2018 the company received certification as a “Top Employer” in Switzerland for the sixth year in succession, as well as the “Top Employer Europe” award for the third time.

More information is available at: www.msd.ch

Press contact:
Liliane Elspass, Lead Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 34 24 / Mobile 079 235 58 90
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2018 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. All rights reserved.

CORP-1249067-0002, June 2018

Erfolgreicher Lehrabschluss für Auszubildende bei MSD Schweiz

Luzern, 6. Juli 2018 – Auch in diesem Jahr haben die Lernenden bei MSD Schweiz ihre Ausbildung erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Sie hatten die Möglichkeit, in einem international tätigen, forschenden biopharmazeutischen Unternehmen ihren beruflichen Werdegang zu starten.

Seit 1977 bietet die Werthenstein BioPharma GmbH am MSD Forschungs- und Entwicklungsstandort in Schachen LU, Lehrstellen für Laborantinnen und Laboranten EFZ (Eidgenössisches Fähigkeitszeugnis) in der Fachrichtung Chemie an. Seit 2010 auch in der Fachrichtung Biologie. In diesem Jahr hat Mjriam von Flüe ihre Ausbildung in der Fachrichtung Chemie erfolgreich abgeschlossen.

Mjriam von Flüe mit ihrem Diplom. Nach erfolgreicher Ausbildung am MSD Forschungs- und Entwicklungsstandort Schachen ist sie jetzt Laborantin EFZ (Eidgenössisches Fähigkeitszeugnis) in der Fachrichtung Chemie.

„Ich bin stolz, meine Lehre bei MSD in Schachen absolviert zu haben. Die Atmosphäre im Team mit 14 Nationalitäten ist inspirierend. Es ist ein tolles Gefühl, zu wissen, dass die hier entwickelten und biotechnologisch hergestellten Medikamente vielen Menschen helfen können, ihre Krankheit besser zu kontrollieren bzw. im besten Fall gesund zu werden.“, sagt Mjriam von Flüe.

Am MSD-Hauptsitz in der Stadt Luzern absolvieren seit 2014 Lernende ihre Ausbildung zum Kaufmann EFZ /zur Kauffrau EFZ (Eidgenössisches Fähigkeitszeugnis) im Bereich Dienstleistung & Administration. In diesem Jahr absolvierte Vera Zumstein die Ausbildung bei MSD.

Vera Zumstein hat ihre dreijährige Ausbildung zur Kauffrau EFZ (Eidgenössisches Fähigkeitszeugnis) im Bereich Dienstleistung & Administration am MSD Standort Citybay in der Stadt Luzern erfolgreich beendet.

„In einem international tätigen biopharmazeutischen Unternehmen, wie MSD, zu lernen, ist eine grosse Chance. Ich habe Einblicke in viele unterschiedliche Bereiche erhalten und zugleich meine Sprachkenntnisse verbessert, da ich mit Kollegen aus der ganzen Welt Berührungspunkte hatte. Ich freue mich sehr über meinen erfolgreichen Abschluss.", sagt Vera Zumstein.

Ausbildungsplätze in der Region anzubieten und damit das duale Bildungssystem zu unterstützen, ist für MSD Schweiz Teil der unternehmerischen Verantwortung. Nach den Sommerferien beginnt der nächste dreijährige Ausbildungszyklus bei MSD.

Weitere Informationen: http://www.msd.ch/de/career/education/

Über MSD:

MSD ist ein führendes globales biopharmazeutisches Unternehmen, das seit mehr als einem Jahrhundert für das Leben forscht und für die herausforderndsten Krankheiten weltweit Arzneimittel und Impfstoffe entwickelt. MSD ist ein geschützter Name von Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, U.S.A. Mit unseren rezeptpflichtigen Medikamenten, Impfstoffen, Biotherapeutika und Tiergesundheitsprodukten bieten wir in über 140 Ländern innovative Gesundheitslösungen an. Darüber hinaus setzen wir uns mit weitreichenden Programmen und Partnerschaften für den verbesserten Zugang zur Gesundheitsversorgung ein. Heute steht MSD weiterhin an der Spitze der Forschung zur Vorbeugung und Behandlung von Krankheiten, die Menschen und die Gesellschaft auf der ganzen Welt bedrohen, darunter Krebs, Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, neue Tierkrankheiten, Alzheimer sowie Infektionskrankheiten, inklusive HIV und Ebola. Für weitere Informationen besuchen Sie www.msd.com und folgen Sie uns auf Twitter.

MSD Humanmedizin Schweiz:

Die Schweiz ist ein wichtiger Standort für das Unternehmen. Hier sind 700 Mitarbeitende in nationalen und internationalen Funktionen tätig. Der Bereich Humanmedizin ist in der Schweiz zuständig für den Vertrieb rezeptpflichtiger Medikamente und Biopharmazeutika in den Therapiebereichen Onkologie, Diabetes, Herzkreislauf, Anti-Infektiva (u.a. Antimykotika, Antibiotika-Resistenzen, HIV/AIDS und Hepatitis C), Immunologie, Frauengesundheit sowie von Impfstoffen für Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene.

MSD ist in der Schweiz aktiv in der klinischen Forschung und stellt hier Medikamente weltweit für klinische Studien her. Die Stärkung der Gesundheitskompetenz und der Gesundheitsökonomie sind weitere Anliegen, für die sich MSD lokal einsetzt. Ebenso engagiert sich MSD am Standort Luzern. 2018 erhielt das Unternehmen in der Schweiz zum sechsten Mal in Folge die Zertifizierung «Top Employer» und zum dritten Mal die Auszeichnung «Top Employer Europe».

Mehr unter: www.msd.ch

Kontakt:
Liliane Elspass, Lead Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 34 24 / Mobile 079 235 58 90
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2018 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

CORP-1249067-0002, Juni 2018