Running for a good cause: MSD donates 20,000 Swiss francs to UNICEF Switzerland and Liechtenstein generated at the UNICEF Extra Mile at today’s Swiss City Marathon Lucerne

MSD supports UNICEF Switzerland and Liechtenstein, the charity partner at the Swiss City Marathon Lucerne. Runners who had completed their official running distance were motivated to also run the UNICEF Extra Mile for the benefit of children in Tajikistan. Here at the check handover (from left to right): Jan van Acker, President Emerging Markets MSD, Bettina Junker, Managing Director UNICEF Switzerland and Liechtenstein, Ruth Strässle, Vice President SwissCityMarathon, and Nico van Hoecke, Senior Vice President Regional Marketing MSD.

Lucerne, 27th October 2019: Being goal-oriented, ambitious and dedicated are decisive criteria in the sporting and entrepreneurial context. MSD supports UNICEF Switzerland and Liechtenstein, the charity partner at the Swiss City Marathon Lucerne. Runners who completed their official 10, 21 and 42 kilometer runs were motivated to also run the UNICEF Extra Mile for the benefit of children in Tajikistan.

The UNICEF program supports health centers and promotes access to clean water and sanitation, preventing the transmission of disease and improving care. In Tajikistan, the mortality rate for newborns is high: five times more babies die in the first 28 days than in Switzerland, more than 80 percent of them even in the first week of life. (Source: UNICEF)

Reducing maternal and neonatal mortality is one of the corporate responsibility goals that MSD is pursuing worldwide with the MSD for Mothers project and by pursuing the United Nations sustainability goal (UN Target 3.1) of Good Health & Wellbeing (SDG 3).

MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG has supported the Swiss City Marathon since 2011; since 2018 as Charity Supporting Partner.

About MSD in Switzerland:

1000 employees are working in national and international functions in Switzerland. The Human Medicine division is active in the areas of prescription drugs and biopharmaceuticals for therapies including oncology, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, infectious diseases (including fungal infections, antibiotic resistance, HIV/Aids, and hepatitis C), immunology, women’s health as well as in the area of vaccines for children, young people, and adults.
In Switzerland, MSD develops and analyses new biotechnological active ingredients, tests new drugs, conducts stability studies, coordinates and supplies test drugs for worldwide clinical trials during the development phases. MSD also plays an active role in engaging locally, supporting the health congress “Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern” and the popular “Swiss City Marathon Lucerne”. In 2019, the company was certified as a “Top Employer Switzerland” for the seventh year in succession, as well as a “Top Employer Europe” for the fourth time.

About MSD worldwide:

MSD is a registered trademark of Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, USA. MSD is a leading global biopharmaceutical company which has been engaged in life science research for more than a century, developing drugs and vaccines for the most challenging diseases worldwide, including cancer, cardiovascular diseases, Alzheimer’s, and infectious diseases, such as HIV and Ebola.

For more information: www.msd.ch
Follow us on Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

Press contact MSD Switzerland:
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. +41 (0) 58 618 30 30

Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)
Liliane Elspass (Communications Lead)

© 2019 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Lucerne. All rights reserved.

CH-CIN-000272, 10/2019

Laufen für einen guten Zweck: Aus der UNICEF Extra Mile am Swiss City Marathon Lucerne überreicht MSD der Organisation UNICEF Schweiz und Liechtenstein einen Check in der Höhe von 20'000 Schweizer Franken

MSD unterstützt UNICEF Schweiz und Liechtenstein, den Charity Partner am Swiss City Marathon Lucerne. Läuferinnen und Läufer, die ihre offizielle Laufstrecke absolvierten, konnten nach dem Zieleinlauf zu Gunsten von Kindern in Tadschikistan zusätzlich die UNICEF Extra Mile laufen. Hier bei der Checkübergabe (v.l.n.r.): Jan van Acker, President Emerging Markets MSD, Bettina Junker, Geschäftsführerin UNICEF Schweiz und Liechtenstein, Ruth Strässle, Vizepräsidentin SwissCityMarathon, und Nico van Hoecke, Senior Vice President Regional Marketing MSD.

Luzern, 27. Oktober 2019: Zielorientiert, ambitioniert und mit Durchhaltewillen unterwegs zu sein, sind im sportlichen wie unternehmerischen Kontext entscheidende Kriterien. MSD unterstützt UNICEF Schweiz und Liechtenstein, den Charity Partner am Swiss City Marathon Lucerne. Läuferinnen und Läufer, die ihre offizielle Laufstrecke von 10-, 21- bzw. 42-Kilometern absolvierten, konnten nach dem Zieleinlauf zu Gunsten von Kindern in Tadschikistan zusätzlich die UNICEF Extra Mile laufen.

Das UNICEF-Programm unterstützt Gesundheitszentren und fördert den Zugang zu sauberem Wasser und sanitären Einrichtungen, wodurch die Übertragung von Krankheiten verhindert und die Versorgung verbessert werden. In Tadschikistan ist die Sterblichkeitsrate bei Neugeborenen hoch: In den ersten 28 Tagen sterben im Vergleich zur Schweiz fünfmal mehr Babies, mehr als 80 Prozent davon gar in der ersten Lebenswoche. (Quelle: UNICEF)

Die Sterblichkeit von Müttern und Neugeborenen zu senken, entspricht einem der Corporate-Responsibility-Zielen, die MSD weltweit mit dem Pojekt MSD for Mothers sowie durch die Verfolgung des Nachhaltigkeitsziels (SDG 3 für Good Health & Wellbeing) der Vereinten Nationen (UN Target 3.1) verfolgt.

MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG unterstützt den Swiss City Marathon seit 2011; seit 2018 als Charity Supporting Partner.

Über MSD in der Schweiz:

Hier in der Schweiz sind 1000 Mitarbeitende in nationalen und internationalen Funktionen tätig. Der Bereich Humanmedizin ist in der Schweiz zuständig für den Vertrieb rezeptpflichtiger Medikamente und Biopharmazeutika in den Therapiebereichen Onkologie, Diabetes, Herzkreislauf, Infektionserkrankungen (u.a. Pilzinfektionen, Antibiotika-Resistenzen, HIV/AIDS und Hepatitis C), Immunologie, Frauengesundheit sowie von Impfstoffen für Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene.
Am Schweizer Standort analysiert MSD neue biotechnologische Wirkstoffe, testet neue Medikamente, führt Stabilitätsstudien durch, koordiniert und liefert während der verschiedenen klinischen Entwicklungsphasen Testmedikamente für weltweite klinische Studien. MSD engagiert sich vor Ort für die Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern und den Swiss City Marathon Lucerne. 2019 rangiert MSD erstmals unter den Top 5 als zertifizierter "Top Employer Switzerland".

Über MSD global:

MSD ist ein geschützter Name von Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, U.S.A. MSD ist ein führendes globales biopharmazeutisches Unternehmen, das seit mehr als einem Jahrhundert für das Leben forscht und Arzneimittel und Impfstoffe gegen die herausforderndsten Krankheiten weltweit entwickelt, darunter Krebs, Herz-Kreislauf, Alzheimer sowie Infektionskrankheiten, inklusive HIV und Ebola.

Mehr unter: www.msd.ch
Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

Medienstelle MSD Schweiz:
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. 058 618 30 30

Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)
Liliane Elspass (Communications Lead)

© 2019 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

CH-NON-00272, 10/2019