Shingles is painful, unpredictable and can affect anyone!1,2

Lucerne, Monday, July 8, 2019. Every fourth person will have suffered from shingles at some point by the age of 80.3,4 Who this will be, we cannot know.2 The Federal Office of Public Health (BAG) recommends vaccinations against the shingles virus for all persons aged between 65 and 79.5

Is shingles widespread?

Shingles affects Swiss over-50s to a significant degree.6 In Switzerland there are an estimated 30,000 cases of shingles each year.7

Who can get shingles?

Anyone who has had the varicella-zoster virus (chickenpox) can get shingles. This is 96% of all adults.8-10 Once the disease has been overcome, the varicellazoster virus travels along the nervous pathways and remain dormant in nerve cells in the spinal cord, where it can be reactivated in later age.5,8-9

Persons with a diminished immune system are at particular risk.11,12

  • The elderly
  • Persons whose immune system has been compromised temporarily or as a result of disease, for example due to chronic diseases such as diabetes, asthma, COPD and depression.

How does shingles manifest itself?

Shingles manifests itself as a painful skin rash, usually on one side of the body, running like a belt around the body (hence the name – the word shingles is derived from the Latin “cingulum”, meaning belt).5 One of the most common complications is pain known as postherpetic neuralgia (PHN).13,14

Once the skin rash has healed, the nervous pain can last for months or even years.2 The patient suffers from a constantly throbbing or stabbing pain.14 In severe cases, shingles can even lead to blindness, loss of hearing, temporary paralysis or mental diseases, which incur significant additional costs.2

The Federal Office of Public Health recommends vaccinating against shingles

In Switzerland the Federal Office of Public Health (BAG) recommends vaccination against shingles for persons aged between 65 and 79 as well as individuals with compromised immune systems from the age of 50.5 The costs for this vaccination are reimbursed by most health insurers through supplementary insurance policies.

Please visit www.stop-guertelrose.ch for more information on shingles

References

1) Gnann JW Jr, Whitley RJ. Clinical practise. Herpes zoster. N Engl J Med. 2002;347(5):340–346

2) Harpaz R et al. Prevention of herpes zoster: recommendations of The Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). MMWR Recomm Rep. 2008;57(RR-5):1– 30.

3) Miller E, Marshall R, Vurdien J. Epidemiology, outcome and control of varicella-zoster infection. Rev Med Microbiol. 1993;4:222–30.

4) Bowsher D. The lifetime occurrence of herpes zoster and prevalence of postherpetic neuralgia: A retrospective survey in an elderly population. Eur J Pain. 1999;3(4):335–42.

5) Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG): BAG Bulletin 48/2017: Empfehlungen zur Impfung gegen Herpes Zoster/«Gürtelrose»

6) Forbes HJ et al. Quantification of risk factors for herpes zoster: population based casecontrol study. BMJ. 2014 (13);348:g2911

7) Eckert N. et al. Varizellen und Herpes Zoster. Ein Virus, zwei Krankheiten und aktuelleImpfempfehlungen in der Schweiz. Therapeutische Umschau. 2016;73:247 – 252

8) Kimberlin D et al. Varicella-Zoster Vaccine for the Prevention of Herpes Zoster. N Engl J Med. 2007;356:1338–43.

9) Arvin A. Aging, immunity, and the varicella-zoster virus. N Engl J Med. 2005;352(22):2266–2267.

10) Schweizer Impfplan 2018. Bundesamt für Gesundheit und Eidgenössische Kommission für Impffragen, Richtlinien und Empfehlungen, Stand 2018.

11) Forbes HJ et al. Quantification of risk factors for herpes zoster: population based casecontrol study. BMJ. 2014 (13);348:g2911

12) Guignard AP et al. Risk of herpes zoster among diabetics: a matched cohort study in a US insurance claim database before introduction of vaccination, 1997-2006. Infection. 2014;42(4):729–35.

13) Lukas K., Edte A. Bertrand I. The impact of herpes zoster and post-herpetic neuralgia on quality of life: patient-reported outcomes in six European countries, 2011. J Public Health. 2012;20:441–451.

14) Johnson RW. Consequences and management of pain in herpes zoster. J Infect Dis. 2002;186(Suppl1):S83–90.

This information is intended for representatives of the media only. MSD draws attention to the advertising provisions of pharmaceutical law, in particular to the prohibition of advertising to the public for prescription-only pharmaceutical products.

About MSD in Switzerland:

1000 employees are working in national and international functions in Switzerland. The Human Medicine division is active in the areas of prescription drugs and biopharmaceuticals for therapies including oncology, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, infectious diseases (including fungal infections, antibiotic resistance, HIV/Aids, and hepatitis C), immunology, women’s health as well as in the area of vaccines for children, young people, and adults.
MSD is active in clinical research, where it manufactures drugs for clinical trials worldwide. MSD plays an active role in engaging locally, supporting the health congress “Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern” and the popular “Swiss City Marathon Lucerne. In 2019, the company was certified as a “Top Employer Switzerland” for the seventh year in succession, as well as a “Top Employer Europe” for the fourth time.

About MSD worldwide:

MSD is a registered trademark of Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, USA. MSD is a leading global biopharmaceutical company which has been engaged in life science research for more than a century, developing drugs and vaccines for the most challenging diseases worldwide, including cancer, cardiovascular diseases, Alzheimer’s, and infectious diseases, such as HIV and Ebola.

For more information: www.msd.ch
Follow us on Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

Press contact MSD Switzerland:
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. +41 (0) 58 618 30 30

Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)
Liliane Elspass (Communications Lead)

© 2019 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Lucerne. All rights reserved.

CH-CIN-00020, 06/2019

Gürtelrose ist schmerzhaft, unvorhersehbar und kann jeden treffen! 1,2

Luzern, 8. Juli 2019. Jede vierte Person erkrankt bis zum Alter von 80 Jahren an Gürtelrose.3,4 Welche es sein wird, weiss man nicht.2 Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) empfiehlt die Impfung gegen Gürtelrose allen Personen zwischen 65-79 Jahren.5

Ist Gürtelrose stark verbreitet?

Die Gürtelrose betrifft die Schweizer Bevölkerung ab 50 Jahren im hohen Mass.6 In der Schweiz kommt es geschätzt zu 30‘000 Fällen von Gürtelrose pro Jahr.7

Wer kann an Gürtelrose erkranken?

Gürtelrose kann alle treffen, die an Varizellen (Windpocken) erkrankt sind. Das sind 96% aller erwachsenen Personen.8-10 Nach überstandener Erkrankung wandert das Varizella-Zoster-Virus entlang der Nervenbahnen und schlummert jahrzentelang in Nervenzellen des Rückenmarks, wo mit steigendem Alter eine Reaktivierung des Virus stattfinden kann.5,8-9

Besonders gefährdet sind Personen, bei denen die Abwehrkraft des Immunsystems geschwächt ist: 11,12

  • ältere Personen
  • Personen, bei denen das Immunsystem vorubergehend oder krankheitsbedingt geschwächt ist, zum Beispiel aufgrund von chronischen Krankheiten (wie Diabetes, Asthma, COPD und Depression)

Wie äussert sich eine Gürtelrose?

Die Gürtelrose äussert sich als schmerzhafter, meist einseitiger Hautausschlag, der sich wie ein Gürtel um den Körper zieht.5Eine sehr häufige Komplikation ist die schmerzhafte sogenannte Postherpetische Neuralgie (PHN).13,14

Nachdem der Hautausschlag abgeheilt ist, bleibt dieser Nervenschmerz über Monate bis zu Jahren bestehen.2 Der Betroffene leidet an einem konstant pochenden oder stechenden Schmerz.14 In schwerwiegenden Fällen kann die Gürtelrose auch zu Erblindung, Hörverlust, vorübergehenden Lähmungen oder psychischen Erkrankungen mit entsprechend hohen Folgekosten führen.2

Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit empfiehlt die Impfung gegen Gürtelrose

In der Schweiz empfiehlt das Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG) eine Impfung gegen Gürtelrose für Personen zwischen 65 und 79 Jahren sowie für in Zukunft immungeschwächte Personen ab 50 Jahren.5 Die Impfung wird von den meisten Krankenkassen über die Zusatzversicherung rückvergütet.

Weitere Informationen zum Thema Gürtelrose finden Sie auf www.stop-guertelrose.ch

Referenzen

1) Gnann JW Jr, Whitley RJ. Clinical practise. Herpes zoster. N Engl J Med. 2002;347(5):340–346

2) Harpaz R et al. Prevention of herpes zoster: recommendations of The Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). MMWR Recomm Rep. 2008;57(RR-5):1– 30.

3) Miller E, Marshall R, Vurdien J. Epidemiology, outcome and control of varicella-zoster infection. Rev Med Microbiol. 1993;4:222–30.

4) Bowsher D. The lifetime occurrence of herpes zoster and prevalence of postherpetic neuralgia: A retrospective survey in an elderly population. Eur J Pain. 1999;3(4):335–42.

5) Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG): BAG Bulletin 48/2017: Empfehlungen zur Impfung gegen Herpes Zoster/«Gürtelrose»

6) Forbes HJ et al. Quantification of risk factors for herpes zoster: population based casecontrol study. BMJ. 2014 (13);348:g2911

7) Eckert N. et al. Varizellen und Herpes Zoster. Ein Virus, zwei Krankheiten und aktuelleImpfempfehlungen in der Schweiz. Therapeutische Umschau. 2016;73:247 – 252

8) Kimberlin D et al. Varicella-Zoster Vaccine for the Prevention of Herpes Zoster. N Engl J Med. 2007;356:1338–43.

9) Arvin A. Aging, immunity, and the varicella-zoster virus. N Engl J Med. 2005;352(22):2266–2267.

10) Schweizer Impfplan 2018. Bundesamt für Gesundheit und Eidgenössische Kommission für Impffragen, Richtlinien und Empfehlungen, Stand 2018.

11) Forbes HJ et al. Quantification of risk factors for herpes zoster: population based casecontrol study. BMJ. 2014 (13);348:g2911

12) Guignard AP et al. Risk of herpes zoster among diabetics: a matched cohort study in a US insurance claim database before introduction of vaccination, 1997-2006. Infection. 2014;42(4):729–35.

13) Lukas K., Edte A. Bertrand I. The impact of herpes zoster and post-herpetic neuralgia on quality of life: patient-reported outcomes in six European countries, 2011. J Public Health. 2012;20:441–451.

14) Johnson RW. Consequences and management of pain in herpes zoster. J Infect Dis. 2002;186(Suppl1):S83–90.

Diese Informationen sind ausschliesslich für Medienschaffende bestimmt. MSD weist auf die werberechtlichen Bestimmungen des Arzneimittelrechtes hin, insbesondere auf das Verbot der Publikumswerbung für verschreibungspflichtige Arzneimittel.

Über MSD in der Schweiz:

Hier in der Schweiz sind 1000 Mitarbeitende in nationalen und internationalen Funktionen tätig. Der Bereich Humanmedizin ist in der Schweiz zuständig für den Vertrieb rezeptpflichtiger Medikamente und Biopharmazeutika in den Therapiebereichen Onkologie, Diabetes, Herzkreislauf, Infektionserkrankungen (u.a. Pilzinfektionen, Antibiotika-Resistenzen, HIV/AIDS und Hepatitis C), Immunologie, Frauengesundheit sowie von Impfstoffen für Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene.
MSD ist in der Schweiz aktiv in der klinischen Forschung und stellt hier Medikamente weltweit für klinische Studien her. Ebenso engagiert sich MSD am Standort Luzern, u.a. für die jährliche Fachveranstaltung Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern. 2019 erhielt das Unternehmen in der Schweiz zum siebten Mal in Folge die Zertifizierung «Top Employer» und zum vierten Mal die Auszeichnung «Top Employer Europe».

Über MSD global:

MSD ist ein geschützter Name von Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, U.S.A. MSD ist ein führendes globales biopharmazeutisches Unternehmen, das seit mehr als einem Jahrhundert für das Leben forscht und Arzneimittel und Impfstoffe gegen die herausforderndsten Krankheiten weltweit entwickelt, darunter Krebs, Herz-Kreislauf, Alzheimer sowie Infektionskrankheiten, inklusive HIV und Ebola.

Mehr unter: www.msd.ch
Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

Medienstelle MSD Schweiz:
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. +41 (0) 58 618 30 30

Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)
Liliane Elspass (Communications Lead)

© 2019 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

CH-CIN-00020, 07/2019