Dr Corinna Lenz appointed new site manager at the MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG biopharmaceutical development and forensics unit in Schachen, Lucerne

Lucerne, 4 February 2021 – MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG has appointed Dr Corinna Lenz as the new site manager of the Swiss research and development unit at Werthenstein BioPharma GmbH. Corinna Lenz is replacing Justin Pennington who occupied the role in a temporary capacity.

Werthenstein BioPharma GmbH plays a key role in the global provision of new innovative medicines. At the site in Schachen (Lucerne), more than 400 employees from around 15 countries develop and analyse new biotechnological active ingredients, test new medicines, conduct stability studies and package and supply medicines for clinical trials all around the world. Schachen is also home to one of MSD's three forensic laboratories worldwide, which aim to quickly detect product manipulation and counterfeiting, thereby making an important contribution to patient safety.

Corinna Lenz has more than 20 years of experience in the healthcare and pharmaceutical industry, including five years at the Schachen site (owned by Schering-Plough at the time) where she held various positions in the Global Clinical Supply division. Before joining MSD, Corinna Lenz worked in several management positions, starting out as head of the Quality division and subsequently the Production division at Galderma/Nestlé Skin Health (Switzerland). Lenz has a Master's in pharmaceutics and achieved a PhD in pharmaceutical technology from the University of Basel. She also holds an Executive Master in Consulting and Coaching for Change from the INSEAD business school.

Bild Corinna Lenz

Corinna Lenz: “I am delighted to have been given the opportunity to head up the research and development site in Schachen and collaborate with such a motivated and innovative team to make an important contribution to improving the health of our patients.”

Corinna Lenz, new site
manager at Werthenstein
BioPharma GmbH

About MSD in Switzerland

MSD Switzerland employs over 1000 people working in local, regional and global functions across four sites in the canton of Lucerne and one site in the canton of Zurich. Our business activities are subdivided in the two divisions, Human Health and Animal Health.

MSD Human Health covers a broad range of biopharmaceuticals. Our areas of research and development are focusing on Oncology and Immuno-Oncology as well as Vaccines to prevent diseases for children, young people, and adults against Human Papilloma Virus (HPV), Ebola, Hepatitis, Pneumococcus, Meningococcus, Measles, Rubella, Chickenpox and Herpes Zoster. In addition, MSD is conducting research in the area of infectious diseases to find new therapeutic approaches for antibiotic resistance, HIV/Aids and Hepatitis C. Further research focuses include immunology (auto-immune diseases) as well as cardiometabolic diseases and Diabetes. MSD has a long-lasting legacy in contributing to major public health challenges, such as River Blindness, Ebola and SARS-CoV-2.

MSD Animal Health develops and markets products for the prevention, treatment and control of disease in farm animals and pets. With the most innovative and largest product portfolio for animal health in Switzerland, MSD contributes substantially to animals’ wellbeing.

Our company has one of the largest clinical research programs worldwide. MSD Switzerland conducts 25 clinical trials per year for which the required medicines are manufactured at our research & development site in Schachen. The Schachen site operates since 2018 one of the three MSD forensic laboratories worldwide, investigating in manipulations and counterfeiting of MSD products – an important contribution to patient safety.

At the newly opened Zurich site “The Circle”, our company sets the focus on research & development, data management and the commercialization of our medicines and vaccines. The Zurich hub offers a state-of-the-art work environment where our empowered, culturally diverse and inclusive workforce focuses on scientific excellence to improve people's health.

MSD Switzerland plays an active role in its community and supports a range of local and regional initiatives as for example MSD for mothers, the health congress “Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern”, and the Swiss City Marathon Lucerne.

Since 2013, MSD Switzerland has been continuously certified as a Top Employer and is pioneering a gender-neutral parental leave program for employees.

For more information www.msd.ch, www.de.msd-animal-health.ch
Follow-us on Twitter, LinkedIn and YouTube.

About MSD

For more than 125 years, MSD has been inventing for life, bringing forward medicines and vaccines for many of the world's most challenging diseases in pursuit of our mission to save and improve lives. MSD is a trade name of Merck & Co., Inc., with headquarters in Kenilworth, N.J., U.S.A. We demonstrate our commitment to patients and population health by increasing access to healthcare through far-reaching policies, programs and partnerships. Today, MSD continues to be at the forefront of research to prevent and treat diseases that threaten people and animals — including cancer, infectious diseases such as HIV and Ebola, and emerging animal diseases — as we aspire to be the premier researchintensive biopharmaceutical company in the world.

For more information, visit https://www.msd.com and connect with us on Twitter, LinkedIn and YouTube.

Media department MSD Switzerland
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. 058 618 30 30
Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)

© 2021 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. . All rights reserved.

CH-NON-01010, 02/2021

Standort für Biopharmazeutische Entwicklung und Forensik von MSD Merck, Sharp & Dohm AG in Schachen/LU erhält mit Dr. Corinna Lenz eine neue Standortleiterin

Luzern, 4. Februar 2021 – MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG hat Dr. Corinna Lenz zur neuen Standortleiterin der Schweizer Forschungs- und Entwicklungseinheit Werthenstein BioPharma GmbH ernannt. Sie löst damit Justin Pennington von seiner Interimfunktion ab.

Die Werthenstein BioPharma GmbH spielt eine zentrale Rolle in der weltweiten Bereitstellung neuer innovativer Medikamente. Am Standort in Schachen (LU) entwickeln und analysieren über 400 Mitarbeitende aus rund 15 Nationen neue biotechnologische Wirkstoffe, testen neue Medikamente, führen Stabilitätsstudien durch und verpacken und liefern Medikamente für klinische Studien weltweit. Ausserdem betreibt MSD in Schachen eines von weltweit drei forensischen Laboren, mit dem Ziel, Manipulationen und Fälschungen von Produkten rasch zu erkennen und leistet damit einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Patientensicherheit.

Corinna Lenz verfügt über mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung in der Gesundheits- und Pharmaindustrie, davon fünf Jahre am Standort Schachen (damals Schering Plough), wo sie in verschiedenen Funktionen innerhalb der Organisation Global Clinical Supply tätigwar. Bevor Corinna Lenz zu MSD wechselte, war sie in mehreren Führungspositionen tätig. So leitete sie zuerst den Bereich Qualität und später den Produktionsbereich bei Galderma/Nestlé Skin Health (Schweiz). Corinna Lenz promovierte an der Universität Basel in pharmazeutischer Technologie und verfügt über einen Master in Pharmazie. Ausserdem erwarb Corinna Lenz einen Executive Master in Change Consulting und Coaching der INSEAD Business School.

Bild Corinna Lenz

Corinna Lenz: « Ich freue mich ausserordentlich den Forschungs- und Entwicklungsstandort in Schachen leiten zu dürfen und zusammen mit einem motivierten und innovativen Team einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Verbesserung der Gesundheit unserer Patientinnen und Patienten zu leisten.»

Corinna Lenz, neue
Standortleiterin Werthenstein
BioPharma GmbH

Über MSD in der Schweiz

MSD Schweiz beschäftigt über 1'000 Mitarbeitende in lokalen, regionalen und globalen Funktionen an vier Standorten im Kanton Luzern und einem Standort im Kanton Zürich.
Unsere Geschäftstätigkeiten sind in die beiden Bereichen Human- und Veterinärmedizin unterteilt.

Der Bereich Humanmedizin umfasst ein breites Spektrum an Biopharmazeutika. Unsere Forschungsaktivitäten konzentrieren sich auf Onkologie und Immun-Onkologie sowie Impfstoffe zur Prävention von Erkrankungen bei Kindern, Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen gegen Humane Papillomaviren (HPV), Ebola, Hepatitis, Pneumokokken, Meningokokken, Masern, Röteln, Windpocken und Herpes Zoster. Zudem forscht MSD im Bereich Infektionskrankheiten nach neuen Therapieansätzen bei Antibiotika-Resistenzen, HIV/Aids, Hepatitis C. Weitere Forschungsschwerpunkte bilden die Immunologie (Auto-Immun-Erkrankungen) sowie kardio-metabolische Erkrankung und Diabetes. Darüber hinaus engagiert sich MSD in der Bewältigung von grossen Herausforderungen der öffentlichen Gesundheit, wie Flussblindheit, Ebola und SARS-CoV-2 und folgt damit einer langen Firmentradition.

MSD Animal Health entwickelt und vermarktet Produkte für die Prävention, Behandlung und Kontrolle von Krankheiten in Zuchtbetrieben und bei Haustieren. Mit dem innovativsten und grössten Produktportfolio für die Veterinärmedizin in der Schweiz trägt MSD wesentlich zum Wohlergehen von Tieren bei.

Unser Unternehmen unterhält eines der weltweit grössten klinischen Forschungsprogramme weltweit. MSD Schweiz führt 25 klinische Studien pro Jahr durch. Die dafür erforderlichen Wirkstoffmengen werden am Forschungs- und Entwicklungsstandort in Schachen hergestellt. In Schachen betreibt MSD seit 2018 eines von weltweit drei forensischen Laboren mit dem Ziel, Manipulationen und Fälschungen von MSD-Produkten zu erkennen. Das Unternehmen leistet damit einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Patientensicherheit.

Am neu eröffneten Standort «The Circle» in Zürich konzentriert sich MSD auf Forschung und Entwicklung, Datenmanagement und die Vermarktung der Medikamente und Impfstoffe. Der Zürch-Hub bietet ein hochmodernes Arbeitsumfeld, in dem unsere kompetente, kulturell vielfältige und integrative Belegschaft erstklassige wissenschaftliche Arbeit zur Verbesserung der Gesundheit der Menschen leistet.

MSD Schweiz spielt eine aktive Rolle in der lokalen Gemeinschaft und unterstützt eine Reihe lokaler und regionaler Initiativen, darunter «MSD for Mothers», den Gesundheitskongress «Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern» sowie den SwissCityMarathon in Luzern.

Seit 2012 wird MSD Schweiz ununterbrochen als «Top Employer» zertifiziert und übernimmt mit der geschlechterneutralen Regelung zur Elternzeit eine Vorreiterrolle.

Für weitere Informationen besuchen Sie uns bitte auf www.msd.ch, www.de.msd-animal-health.ch und folgen Sie uns auf Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

Über MSD

Seit über 125 Jahren stehen wir im Dienste des Lebens und entwickelen Medikamente und Impfstoffe für viele der herausforderndsten Krankheiten der Welt – stets im Sinne unserer Mission, Leben zu retten und zu verbessern. MSD ist ein Handelsname von Merck & Co., Inc. mit Hauptsitz in Kenilworth, New Jersey, in den USA. Wir stellen unser Engagement für die Patienten und die Gesundheit der Bevölkerung unter Beweis, indem wir durch weitreichende Strategien, Programme und Partnerschaften den Zugang zur Gesundheitsversorgung verbessern. Heute ist MSD nach wie vor führend in der Forschung zur Vorbeugung und Behandlung von Erkrankungen, die Menschen und Tiere bedrohen, darunter Krebs, Infektionskrankheiten wie HIV und Ebola sowie neuartige Tierkrankheiten. Unser Anspruch ist, das weltweit führende forschungsintensive biopharmazeutische Unternehmen zu sein.

Für weitere Informationen besuchen Sie bitte https://www.msd.com und folgen Sie uns auf Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

Medienabteilung MSD Schweiz:
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. 058 618 30 30
Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)

© 2021 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

CH-NON-01010, 02/2021