Top Employer Switzerland: MSD among the top five

Lucerne, 26th August 2019 - For the first time, MSD ranks within the top five as certified “Top Employer Switzerland” with above average performance for “Career & Succession Management” as well as “Leadership Development”. This confirms the high standards of attractive working conditions for MSD employees.

MSD is among the top five performers for the first time among a total of 26 companies in Switzerland certified in 2019, reaching over 90 percent of the possible total score. The survey results show key strengths for MSD in Switzerland within the categories “Career & Succession Management” as well as “Leadership Development” while identifying potential for improvement around “Employer Branding and Employee Value Proposition”. In addition, the “Top Employer Europe” recognition underlines the strong performance of MSD in comparison with other European employers.

An inclusive culture where diversity is enhanced

“We are really proud to have made it into the top five highest scoring companies of the Top Employer Award. This confirms our high standards of attractive working conditions for MSD employees. We continuously invest in programs across the company to create an inclusive culture where diversity is enhanced and celebrated. We have now made it easy to recognize and reward a job well done and have initiated programs around well-being and healthy habits for our own people.

Being an international company with many different functions represented in Switzerland, we can offer a broad range of local and international career development opportunities. For “Employer Branding and Employee Value Proposition”, according to the Top Employer analysis a category in which MSD can still improve, we are currently working on a comprehensive program, which we will implement in the coming years.” underlines Judeke Frederiks, HR Director Switzerland.

MSD has been evaluated and certified as Top Employer since 2013, being awarded in 2019 as “Top Employer Switzerland” for the seventh time in succession.

About Top Employer:

The Top Employer Institute has been giving awards to companies from a wide range of industries worldwide every year since 1991. The analysis process is multi-stage and lasts around six months. In addition, data evaluated are audited by Grant Thornton. Crucial factors for gaining the Top Employer Award include above-average ratings under the headings Human Resource Management, Remuneration and Social Security, Career Opportunities, Working Conditions, Education and Training, and Corporate Culture. Only those companies with above-average performance in all these areas are awarded the Top Employer quality label.

About MSD in Switzerland:

1000 employees are working in national and international functions in Switzerland. The Human Medicine division is active in the areas of prescription drugs and biopharmaceuticals for therapies including oncology, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, infectious diseases (including fungal infections, antibiotic resistance, HIV/Aids, and hepatitis C), immunology, women’s health as well as in the area of vaccines for children, young people, and adults.
In Switzerland, MSD develops and analyses new biotechnological active ingredients, tests new drugs, conducts stability studies, coordinates and supplies test drugs for worldwide clinical trials during the development phases. MSD also plays an active role in engaging locally, supporting the health congress “Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern” and the popular “Swiss City Marathon Lucerne”. In 2019, the company was certified as a “Top Employer Switzerland” for the seventh year in succession, as well as a “Top Employer Europe” for the fourth time.

About MSD worldwide:

MSD is a registered trademark of Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, USA. MSD is a leading global biopharmaceutical company which has been engaged in life science research for more than a century, developing drugs and vaccines for the most challenging diseases worldwide, including cancer, cardiovascular diseases, Alzheimer’s, and infectious diseases, such as HIV and Ebola.

For more information: www.msd.ch
Follow us on Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

Contact Top Employer Institute:
Joachim Kempf
Global Account Manager
Tel. +49 211 936 537 19
joachim.kempf@top-employers.com

Press contact MSD Switzerland:
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. +41 (0) 58 618 30 30

Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)
Liliane Elspass (Communications Lead)

© 2019 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Lucerne. All rights reserved.

CH-CIN-000179, 08/2019

Top Employer Switzerland: MSD unter den besten fünf

Luzern, 26. August 2019 – Erstmals zählt MSD als zertifizierter «Top Employer Switzerland» (Top-Arbeitgeber Schweiz) zu den besten fünf Arbeitgebern des Landes. Das Unternehmen erzielte überdurchschnittliche Leistungen in den Bereichen «Karriere- & Nachfolgeplanung» und «Führungskräfteentwicklung». Dies bestätigt den hohen Standard attraktiver Arbeitsbedingungen für unsere MSD-Mitarbeitenden.

MSD zählt unter den 26 im Jahr 2019 zertifizierten Unternehmen in der Schweiz erstmals zu den besten fünf und erreicht über 90 Prozent der möglichen Gesamtpunktzahl. Die Umfrageergebnisse zeigen, dass die wichtigsten Stärken von MSD in der Schweiz in den Kategorien «Karriere- & Nachfolgeplanung» und «Entwicklung von Führungskräften» liegen. Gleichzeitig offenbaren sie Verbesserungspotenziale rund um den Bereich «Arbeitgebermarke und Leistungsversprechen für die Arbeitnehmenden». Darüber hinaus unterstreicht die Auszeichnung «Top Employer Europe» (TopArbeitgeber Europa) die starke Leistung von MSD im Vergleich zu anderen europäischen Arbeitgebern.

Eine integrative Kultur, in der Vielfalt gefördert wird

«Wir sind sehr stolz darauf, dass wir zu den fünf am besten bewerteten Unternehmen des Top Employer Award zählen. Dies bestätigt den hohen Standard attraktiver Arbeitsbedingungen für unsere MSD-Mitarbeitenden. Wir investieren kontinuierlich in unternehmensweite Programme, um eine integrative Kultur zu schaffen, in der Vielfalt gefördert und begrüsst wird. Wir haben es nun einfacher gemacht, gute Arbeit anzuerkennen und zu belohnen. Ausserdem haben wir Programme ins Leben gerufen, die das Wohlbefinden steigern und das Bewusstsein für die Gesundheit am Arbeitsplatz fördern.

Als international tätiges Unternehmen mit vielen verschiedenen Funktionen in der Schweiz können wir ein breites Spektrum lokaler und internationaler Karrieremöglichkeiten bieten. In der Kategorie «Arbeitgebermarke und Leistungsversprechen für die Arbeitnehmenden» kann sich MSD gemäss der Top-Employer-Analyse noch verbessern. Derzeit arbeiten wir an einem umfassenden Programm, das wir in den kommenden Jahren umsetzen werden», unterstreicht Judeke Frederiks, HR Director Schweiz.

MSD ist seit 2013 als Top Employer bewertet und zertifiziert. 2019 erhielt das Unternehmen zum siebten Mal in Folge die Auszeichnung «Top Employer Switzerland».

Über Top Employer:

Das Top Employer Institute zeichnet seit 1991 jedes Jahr weltweit Unternehmen aus den unterschiedlichsten Branchen aus. Der Analyseprozess ist mehrstufig und dauert rund sechs Monate. Darüber hinaus werden die ausgewerteten Daten von Grant Thornton geprüft. Ausschlaggebend für den Top Employer Award sind überdurchschnittliche Bewertungen in den Bereichen Personalmanagement, Entlohnung und soziale Sicherheit, Karrieremöglichkeiten, Arbeitsbedingungen, Aus- und Weiterbildung sowie Unternehmenskultur. Nur Unternehmen mit überdurchschnittlicher Leistung in all diesen Bereichen werden mit dem Top EmployerGütesiegel ausgezeichnet.

Über MSD in der Schweiz:

Hier in der Schweiz sind 1000 Mitarbeitende in nationalen und internationalen Funktionen tätig. Der Bereich Humanmedizin ist in der Schweiz zuständig für den Vertrieb rezeptpflichtiger Medikamente und Biopharmazeutika in den Therapiebereichen Onkologie, Diabetes, Herzkreislauf, Infektionserkrankungen (u.a. Pilzinfektionen, Antibiotika-Resistenzen, HIV/AIDS und Hepatitis C), Immunologie, Frauengesundheit sowie von Impfstoffen für Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene.
Am Schweizer Standort analysiert MSD neue biotechnologische Wirkstoffe, testet neue Medikamente, führt Stabilitätsstudien durch, koordiniert und liefert während der verschiedenen klinischen Entwicklungsphasen Testmedikamente für weltweite klinische Studien. MSD engagiert sich vor Ort für die Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern und den Swiss City Marathon Lucerne. 2019 rangiert MSD erstmals unter den Top 5 als zertifizierter "Top Employer Switzerland".

Über MSD global:

MSD ist ein geschützter Name von Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, U.S.A. MSD ist ein führendes globales biopharmazeutisches Unternehmen, das seit mehr als einem Jahrhundert für das Leben forscht und Arzneimittel und Impfstoffe gegen die herausforderndsten Krankheiten weltweit entwickelt, darunter Krebs, Herz-Kreislauf, Alzheimer sowie Infektionskrankheiten, inklusive HIV und Ebola.

Mehr unter: www.msd.ch
Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

Kontakt zum Top Employer Institute:
Joachim Kempf
Global Account Manager
Tel. +49 211 936 537 19
joachim.kempf@top-employers.com

Medienstelle MSD Schweiz:
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. 058 618 30 30

Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)
Liliane Elspass (Communications Lead)

© 2019 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

CH-NON-00179, 08/2019