MSD as “Top Employer Switzerland 2017” and “Top Employer Europe 2017”

Lucerne, 24th May 2017 - The Top Employer label is given to companies that meet the highest standards in HR management and stand out as attractive employers. For the fifth time in succession the biopharmaceutical research company MSD, which is developing drugs and vaccines, has been awarded the label “Top Employer Switzerland” and for the second time also the label “Top Employer Europe.”

The Top Employer Institute has been giving awards to companies from a wide range of industries worldwide every year since 1991. The analysis process is multi-stage and lasts approximatively six months. Then the audit firm Grant Thornton examines the data. Crucial factors for gaining the “Top Employer” award include aboveaverage ratings under the headings Human Resource Management, Remuneration and Social Security, Career Opportunities, Working Conditions, Education and Training, and Corporate Culture. Only those companies with above-average performance in all these areas are awarded the "Top Employer” quality label.

Important for MSD from several perspectives

“We are really delighted to receive the award again in both categories. It is an important indicator both internally to our 600 employees at the four sites in the Lucerne region and externally to future potential employees. Switzerland is an important location for the research and development-oriented company. Over 50 nations are represented here. We consider diversity and interdisciplinary collaboration to be key elements of our success. Our corporate culture is molded to a large extent by the exchange of ideas across divisional and functional boundaries. This helps us to take new approaches and promotes innovative working.” Thomas Lang, Managing Director MSD Switzerland

“The Top Employer Award confirms our high standards in terms of the attractive working conditions that we want to offer our employees. It shows that once again we meet the requirements to be classed as a ‘Top Employer.’ In addition to a wide range of education and training options and an advanced system of performance recognition, our multi-faceted offering includes attractive national and international development opportunities within the global Group.” Kathrin Gilly, Director HR Switzerland and Austria.

“With our team of over 250 scientists, engineers, technicians, and process specialists at Schachen near Lucerne in Switzerland, we are part of the global MSD research and development network. For example, from here we developed in recent years a biological immuno-oncology therapy which is now used worldwide for patients with various serious forms of cancer. Development is continuing and we need equally highly qualified and well-motivated employees for the manufacture, analysis and packaging of these new medications, as well as for many other activities at our site. The ‘Top Employer’ award helps us to make our attractive opportunities more widely known.” Peter Hofstetter, Site Head Werthenstein GmbH.

A total of 16 companies were certified in Switzerland in 2017. The “Top Employer Europe” label also underlines the strong performance of MSD in comparison with other European employers.

For more information visit: www.msd.ch

Press contact:
Liliane Elspass-Elsener, Communications Lead, Policy & Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 34 24 / Mobile +41 79 235 58 90
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2017 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. All rights reserved.

CORP-1219036-0000, May 2017

MSD „Top Employer Schweiz 2017“ und „Top Employer Europe 2017“

Luzern, 24. Mai 2017 - Mit dem Top Employer Label werden Unternehmen ausgezeichnet, die höchste Standards im Personalmanagement erfüllen und sich als attraktive Arbeitgeber hervortun. Zum fünften Mal in Folge ist MSD, ein für Arzneimittel und Impfstoffe forschendes biopharmazeutisches Unternehmen, mit dem Label „Top Employer Schweiz“ sowie zum zweiten Mal zusätzlich mit dem Label „Top Employer Europe“ zertifiziert worden.

Das Top Employer Institut zeichnet seit 1991 jährlich weltweit Unternehmen verschiedenster Branchen aus. Der Analyseprozess ist mehrstufig und dauert ca. sechs Monate. Anschliessend untersucht das Wirtschaftsprüfungsunternehmen Grant Thornton die erhobenen Resultate. Massgebend für die Auszeichnung als „Top Employer“ sind überdurchschnittliche Werte in der Beurteilung von Human Ressource Management, Vergütung und Sozialleistungen, Karrierechancen, Arbeitsbedingungen, Aus- und Weiterbildungen sowie der Unternehmenskultur. Nur wer überdurchschnittliche Ergebnisse in allen Bereichen aufweist, erhält das Qualitätslabel Top Employer.

Für MSD aus mehreren Perspektiven bedeutsam

„Die erneute Auszeichnung in beiden Kategorien freut uns ausserordentlich. Es ist ein wichtiges Zeichen nach Innen gegenüber unseren 600 Mitarbeitenden an den vier Standorten im Grossraum Luzern und nach Aussen gegenüber zukünftigen, potentiellen Mitarbeitenden. Die Schweiz ist für das forschungs- und entwicklungsorientierte Unternehmen ein wichtiger Standort. Über 50 Nationen sind hier vertreten. Die Diversität und das interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeiten erachten wir als Schlüsselelemente unseres Erfolgs. Der intensive Austausch über Divisions- und Funktionsgrenzen hinweg prägt unsere Unternehmenskultur in hohem Masse. Das verhilft zu neuen Denkansätzen und fördert die innovative Zusammenarbeit“, Thomas Lang, Managing Director MSD Schweiz

„Die Top-Employer-Auszeichnung bestätigt unsere hohen Ansprüche an die attraktiven Rahmenbedingungen, die wir unseren Mitarbeitenden bieten wollen. Sie zeigt, dass wir den gesetzten Anforderungen als „Top Employer“ ein weiteres Mal gerecht werden. Unser breitgefächertes Angebot umfasst neben einem vielfältigen Aus- und Weiterbildungsangebot und einer fortschrittlichen Leistungsanerkennung attraktive nationale und internationale Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten innerhalb des globalen Konzerns“, Kathrin Gilly, Director HR Schweiz und Österreich.

„In der Schweiz sind wir am Standort Schachen bei Luzern mit einem Team von über 250 Wissenschaftern, Ingenieuren, Technikern und Prozess-Spezialisten Teil des globalen MSD Forschungs- und Entwicklungs-Netzwerkes. Von hier aus haben wir in den vergangenen Jahren beispielsweise ein immun-onkologisches Biologikum – eine Therapiemöglichkeit der neusten Generation – entwickelt, das heute weltweit bei Patienten mit unterschiedlichen Formen an schweren Krebserkrankungen zum Einsatz kommt. Die Entwicklung geht weiter, und für die Herstellung, Analytik und Verpackung dieser neuen Medikamente wie auch für viele weitere Tätigkeiten an unserem Standort benötigen wir ebenso hochqualifizierte und motivierte Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter. Die „Top Employer“-Auszeichnung unterstützt uns dabei, unsere attraktiven Möglichkeiten bekannter zu machen“, Peter Hofstetter, Site Head Werthenstein GmbH.

2017 wurden in der Schweiz insgesamt 16 Unternehmen zertifiziert. Das Label „Top Employer Europe“ unterstreicht die starke Leistung von MSD auch im europäischen Vergleich.

Mehr unter: www.msd.ch

Kontakt:
Liliane Elspass-Elsener, Communications Lead, Policy & Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 34 24 / Mobile +41 79 235 58 90
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2017 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

CORP-1219036-0000, May 2017