MSD supports awareness campaign on World IBD Day 2019

Lucerne, 15 May 2019 – Sunday, 19 May is World IBD Day. The global awareness and solidarity campaign aims to inform the public about chronic inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD) and promotes understanding for those affected. In Switzerland, the awareness initiative for World IBD Day will be coordinated by Crohn Colitis Schweiz (the Swiss Association for Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis) on May 18th. MSD supports the activities in Lucerne and Lausanne and will be present as an exhibitor with an information booth.

IBD refers to recurrent or continuous inflammatory changes in the bowel.1 In Switzerland, more than 25,000 people (1 in 350) are affected.1 The most common chronic inflammatory bowel diseases are Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis.1 Symptoms such as blood in the stool, diarrhea, abdominal discomfort and general physical weakness make it hard for patients to lead a normal everyday life.1 Even though the introduction of biological drugs has led to significant advances in treatment,2 Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis remain incurable to this day and the patient's level of suffering is often still very high.1

Education and raising awareness in Lucerne and Lausanne on May 18th

This year's World IBD Day activities will take place in Lucerne and Lausanne. They are intended to inform the public about chronic inflammatory bowel diseases such as Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis and at the same time give those affected the opportunity to talk to each other and exchange ideas.

Program in Lucerne

In the Hotel Radisson Blu, the venue in Lucerne, lectures by the specialists Prof. Dr. med. Stephan Vavricka and Dr. Daniel Venetz are part of the program. In addition, coach and supervisor Patrick Widmer will speak on the subject of "Good mood begins with me". Various exhibitors, including MSD, will be informing visitors at their booths about chronic inflammatory bowel diseases and much more, and those who dare can try to walk barefoot on broken glass. The event will be moderated by the Swiss TV, radio and event presenter Linda Gwerder. As a purple highlight, the archway at Lucerne railway station will be illuminated in purple from 7 p.m. onwards.

Further information Programm flyer Lucerne

Program in Lausanne

At the CHUV (Centre hospitalier universitaire Vaudois) in Lausanne, the experts Prof. Alain Schoepfer, Dr. Nurullah Aslan and Dr. Sébastien Godat will give lectures to the public on chronic inflammatory bowel diseases, how they can affect the quality of life of patients and what treatment and monitoring options are available.

More Informationen Program flyer Lausanne

MSD's commitment to the fight against IBD

For years, MSD has been committed to researching new and improving existing treatment options for IBD patients. To develop innovative solutions that contribute to improving the health of patients in Switzerland, MSD is constantly seeking opportunities for partnership. The result of such a successful cooperation is, for example, iBDialog monthly: a practical app that gives patients in Switzerland with chronic inflammatory bowel diseases and their gastroenterologists a continuous overview of their course of treatment. iBDialog monthly was developed by leading gastroenterologists from IBDnet and the patient organization Crohn Colitis Schweiz in close cooperation with MSD.

References

1 https://www.crohn-colitis.ch/leben-mit-der-krankheit, last access 02.05.2019

2 Cote-Daigneault J et al "Biologics in inflammatory bowel disease: what are the data? United European Gastroenterology Journal 2015, Vol. 3(5) 419–428

About MSD in Switzerland:

700 employees are working in national and international functions in Switzerland. The Human Medicine division is active in the areas of prescription drugs and biopharmaceuticals for therapies including oncology, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, infectious diseases (including fungal infections, antibiotic resistance, HIV/Aids, and hepatitis C), immunology, women’s health as well as in the area of vaccines for children, young people, and adults.
MSD is active in clinical research, where it manufactures drugs for clinical trials worldwide. MSD plays an active role in engaging locally, supporting the health congress “Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern” and the popular “Swiss City Marathon Lucerne. In 2019, the company was certified as a “Top Employer Switzerland” for the seventh year in succession, as well as a “Top Employer Europe” for the fourth time.

About MSD worldwide:

MSD is a registered trademark of Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, USA. MSD is a leading global biopharmaceutical company which has been engaged in life science research for more than a century, developing drugs and vaccines for the most challenging diseases worldwide, including cancer, cardiovascular diseases, Alzheimer’s, and infectious diseases, such as HIV and Ebola.

For more information: www.msd.ch
Follow us on Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

Media Office MSD Switzerland:
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. 058 618 30 30

Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)
Liliane Elspass (Communications Lead)

© 2019 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Lucerne. All rights reserved.

CH-NON-0117, 05/2019

MSD unterstützt Aufklärungsinitiative am Welt-CED-Tag 2019

Luzern, 15. Mai 2019 - Am Sonntag, 19. Mai ist Welt-CED-Tag (engl. World IBD Day). Die globale Sensibilisierungs- und Solidaritätskampagne soll die breite Öffentlichkeit über chronisch entzündliche Darmerkrankungen (CED) informieren und das Verständnis für Betroffene fördern. In der Schweiz wird die Aufklärungsinitivative zum Welt-CED-Tag von Crohn Colitis Schweiz (der Schweizerischen Morbus Crohn/Colitis ulcerosa Vereinigung) am 18. Mai koordiniert. MSD unterstützt die Aktivitäten in Luzern und Lausanne und ist mit einem Informationsstand als Aussteller vor Ort.

CED steht für schubweise wiederkehrende oder kontinuierlich auftretende entzündliche Veränderungen des Darms.1 In der Schweiz sind mehr als 25’000 Menschen (1 von 350 Personen) davon betroffen.1 Die häufigsten chronisch entzündlichen Darmerkrankungen sind Morbus Crohn und Colitis ulcerosa.1 Symptome wie Blut im Stuhl, Durchfälle, Bauchbeschwerden und allgemeine körperliche Schwäche erschweren es den Patienten, einen normalen Alltag zu führen.1 Auch wenn durch die Einführung biologischer Medikamente grosse Behandlungsfortschritte erreicht wurden,2 sind Morbus Crohn und Colitis ulcerosa bis heute nicht heilbar und der Leidensdruck der Patienten ist häufig immer noch sehr hoch.1

Aufklärung und Sensibilisierung der Bevölkerung am 18. Mai in Luzern und Lausanne

Die Aktivitäten zum Welt-CED-Tag finden in diesem Jahr in Luzern und Lausanne statt. Sie sollen die breite Bevölkerung über chronisch entzündliche Darmerkrankungen wie Morbus Crohn oder Colitis ulcerosa informieren und zugleich Betroffenen die Möglichkeit geben, miteinander ins Gespräch zu kommen und sich untereinander auszutauschen.

Programm in Luzern

Im Hotel Radisson Blu, dem Veranstaltungsort in Luzern, gehören Vorträge der Fachspezialisten Prof. Dr. med. Stephan Vavricka und Dr. Daniel Venetz zum Programm. Zudem spricht Coach und Supervisor Patrick Widmer zum Thema «Gute Laune beginnt bei mir!». Verschiedene Aussteller, darunter auch MSD, informieren an ihren Ständen über chronisch entzündliche Darmerkrankungen und vieles mehr, und wer sich traut, kann sich barfuss im Glasscherbenlauf versuchen. Moderiert wird die Veranstaltung von der Schweizer TV- Radio- und Eventmoderatorin Linda Gwerder. Als lila Highlight wird ab 19 Uhr der Torbogen beim Bahnhof Luzern in Lila beleuchtet.

Weitere Informationen Programmflyer Luzern

Programm in Lausanne

In Lausanne informieren die Experten Prof. Alain Schoepfer, Dr. Nurullah Aslan und Dr. Sébastien Godat am CHUV Centre hospitalier universitaire vaudois die breite Öffentlichkeit in verschiedenen Fachvorträgen über chronisch entzündliche Darmerkrankungen, wie sie die Lebensqualität der Betroffenen beeinflussen können und welche Möglichkeiten der Behandlung und Überwachung es gibt.

Weitere Informationen Programmflyer Lausanne

MSD’s Engagement im Kampf gegen CED

MSD setzt sich seit Jahren mit grossem Engagement für die Erforschung neuer und die Verbesserung bestehender Therapiemöglichkeiten von CED-Patienten ein. Um innovative Lösungen zu entwickeln, die zur Verbesserung der Gesundheit von Patienten in der Schweiz beitragen, sucht MSD fortlaufend Möglichkeiten der partnerschaftlichen Zusammenarbeit. Das Ergebnis einer solchen erfolgreichen Kooperation ist beispielsweise iBDialog monthly: Eine praktische App, die Patienten in der Schweiz mit chronisch entzündlichen Darmerkrankungen und deren Gastroenterologen einen kontinuierlichen Überblick über den Therapieverlauf ermöglicht. iBDialog monthly wurde von MSD in enger Zusammenarbeit mit führenden Gastroenterologen von IBDnet und mit der Patientenorganisation Crohn Colitis Schweiz entwickelt.

Referenzen

1 https://www.crohn-colitis.ch/leben-mit-der-krankheit (eingesehen 02.05.2019)

2 Cote-Daigneault J et al "Biologics in inflammatory bowel disease: what are the data? United European Gastroenterology Journal 2015, Vol. 3(5) 419–428

Über MSD in der Schweiz:

Hier in der Schweiz sind 700 Mitarbeitende in nationalen und internationalen Funktionen tätig. Der Bereich Humanmedizin ist in der Schweiz zuständig für den Vertrieb rezeptpflichtiger Medikamente und Biopharmazeutika in den Therapiebereichen Onkologie, Diabetes, Herzkreislauf, Infektionserkrankungen (u.a. Pilzinfektionen, Antibiotika-Resistenzen, HIV/AIDS und Hepatitis C), Immunologie, Frauengesundheit sowie von Impfstoffen für Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene.
MSD ist in der Schweiz aktiv in der klinischen Forschung und stellt hier Medikamente weltweit für klinische Studien her. Ebenso engagiert sich MSD am Standort Luzern, u.a. für die jährliche Fachveranstaltung Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern. 2019 erhielt das Unternehmen in der Schweiz zum siebten Mal in Folge die Zertifizierung «Top Employer» und zum vierten Mal die Auszeichnung «Top Employer Europe».

Über MSD global:

MSD ist ein geschützter Name von Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, U.S.A. MSD ist ein führendes globales biopharmazeutisches Unternehmen, das seit mehr als einem Jahrhundert für das Leben forscht und Arzneimittel und Impfstoffe gegen die herausforderndsten Krankheiten weltweit entwickelt, darunter Krebs, Herz-Kreislauf, Alzheimer sowie Infektionskrankheiten, inklusive HIV und Ebola.

Mehr unter: www.msd.ch
Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

Medienstelle MSD Schweiz:
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. 058 618 30 30

Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)
Liliane Elspass (Communications Lead)

© 2019 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

CH-NON-0117, 05/2019