Dr. Maurice Hilleman - an exceptional figure in vaccine development

Lucerne, 20 April 2018 - One of the most important scientists in the history of modern medicine for vaccines: Dr. Maurice Hilleman (1919 - 2005). In his almost 30 years of work at MSD (1956 - 1984), Dr. Maurice Hilleman was of decisive importance in developing over forty vaccines for human and animal medicine. His passionate research and humanistic approach are still the inspiration for medical scientists worldwide today. We use this year’s World Immunization Week, launched by the WHO to commemorate Dr. Maurice Hilleman, probably the most influential public health figure of the 20th century, considering that his work has helped save millions of lives.1

When Dr. Maurice Hilleman took the job as Director of Virus and Cell Biology Research at the Merck Institute for Therapeutic Research in West Point, Pennsylvania, in 1956, he could not have foreseen that he would one day be one of the most important scientists in the history of modern medicine in the area of vaccines. Until then, Jonas Salk and Albert Sabin had the reputation as the scientists who had made groundbreaking achievements in the fight against viral diseases. Maurice's great passion for science had already, however, become apparent during his childhood to his brother, who laid the foundation for his university education.2

Pic 1 and 2: Dr. Maurice Hilleman (1919 - 2005), one of the most important scientists in the history of modern vaccine medicine. During his nearly 30 year career at MSD he developed more than 40 vaccines for humans and animals.

Maurice Hilleman grew up on a farm in Montana. The hard life was a valuable basis for his later professional life. "Growing up on a farm means that you learn a lot of practical things," he emphasized later. After his studies at the University of Chicago with a doctoral degree in Microbiology and Chemistry, he chose to enter the pharmaceutical industry instead of taking up an academic career - a real stroke of luck for the world's health, as would later become obvious!

In his almost 30 years of work at MSD (1956 - 1984), Dr. Maurice Hilleman was of decisive importance in developing over forty vaccines for human and animal medicine. His passionate research and humanistic approach are still the inspiration for medical scientists worldwide today. More information can be found in an impressive video portrait

The vaccine against mumps Mumpsvax (mumps virus vaccine, live), developed in 1967, which he took from a cell culture of his daughter Jeryl Lynn (left in the picture), who had contracted mumps, is legendary. One night in 1956, Maurice Hilleman took the necessary materials from the laboratory to take cell cultures at home, which he then froze and isolated in the laboratory. Some years later, shortly before the first vaccine against this contagious viral infection was licensed, his younger daughter Kirsten has been vaccinated with it. The famous photo shows both his daughters; the younger one had just received the mumps vaccine, developed from the cell cultures of her sister.

Pic. 3: Jeryl Lynn Hilleman with her sister, Kirsten, as a doctor gave her the mumps vaccine developed by their father.

Memories and Honours

Anthony S.Fauci, M.D., Director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease, National Institutes of Health in the USA said among other things about Maurice Hilleman: "If I had to name a person who has done more for the benefit of human health, with less recognition than anyone else, it would be Maurice Hilleman. Maurice should be recognized as the most successful vaccinologist in history."1

Maurice Hilleman saw very complex things with astonishing clarity, emphasized David M. Morens, Senior Advisor of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases. Unlike many scientists who understand the leaf on the tree, he understood the whole forest.2

In 1988, Dr. Maurice Hilleman was awarded the National Medal of Science by President Ronald Reagan and in 1997, he received the Albert B. Sabin Gold Medal Award.3

MSD - WELLCOME TRUST: Hilleman Laboratories

Hilleman Laboratories, founded in memory of Maurice Hilleman, have been working since 2009 to manufacture effective drugs at low prices for regions of the world with limited health resources, and to close gaps in supply gaps.4

References

World Immunization Week 24. – 30. April 2018

World Immunization Week – launched by the WHO – aims to highlight the collective action needed to ensure that every person is protected from vaccine-preventable diseases.

This year’s theme: “Protected Together, #VaccinesWork”, encourages people at every level – from donors to the general public – to go further in their efforts to increase immunization coverage for the greater good.

MSD supports this WHO call worldwide.

About MSD

MSD is a leading global biopharmaceutical company which has been engaged in life science research for more than a century, developing drugs and vaccines for the most challenging diseases worldwide. MSD is a registered trademark of Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, USA. With our prescription drugs, vaccines, biological therapies, and veterinary products, we offer innovative health solutions in over 140 countries. With wide-ranging programs and partnerships, we are also committed to achieving improved access to healthcare. Today MSD is still at the forefront of research for the prevention and treatment of diseases which threaten people and society around the world, including cancer, cardiovascular diseases, new animal diseases, Alzheimer’s, and infectious diseases, including HIV and Ebola. For more information visit www.msd.com and follow us on Twitter.

MSD Human Medicine Switzerland

Switzerland is a key location for the company, which has 600 employees working there in national and international functions. The Human Medicine division in Switzerland is responsible for the distribution of prescription drugs and biopharmaceuticals in the areas of oncology, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, infectious diseases (including anti-fungal, antibiotic resistance, HIV/Aids, and hepatitis C), immunology, women’s health as well as vaccines for children, young people, and adults.

MSD is active in clinical research in Switzerland, where the company provides medicines for clinical trials worldwide. Additionally, MSD is committed to raising health literacy and promoting the healthcare economy on a local level. The firm is also active in Lucerne, where the MSD headquarters are located. In 2018 the company received certification as a “Top Employer” in Switzerland for the sixth year in succession, as well as the “Top Employer Europe” award for the third time.

More information is available at: www.msd.ch

Press contact:
Liliane Elspass, Lead Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 34 24 / Mobile 079 235 58 90
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2018 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. All rights reserved.

VACC-1254933-0000, April 2018

Dr. Maurice Hilleman – eine Ausnahmefigur in der Impfstoff-Entwicklung

Luzern, 20. April 2018 - Einer der entscheidensten Wissenschaftler in der Geschichte der modernen Medizin für Impfstoffe: Dr. Maurice Hilleman (1919 – 2005). In seiner 30-jährigen Tätigkeit bei MSD (1956 - 1984) war Dr. Maurice Hilleman mitentscheidend bei der Entwicklung von über vierzig Impfstoffen für die Human- und Tiermedizin. Sein leidenschaftliches Forschen und sein humanistischer Ansatz sind heute noch Inspiration für Medizin-Wissenschaftler weltweit. Wir nutzen den diesjährigen Aufruf der WHO zur Weltimpfwoche dazu, Dr. Maurice Hilleman in Erinnerung zu rufen, der als die möglicherweise einflussreichste Figur des 20. Jahrhunderts für die öffentliche Gesundheit gilt, wenn man bedenkt, dass er mit seinem Wirken dazu beitrug, dass Millionen von Menschenleben gerettet werden konnten.1

Als Dr. Maurice Hilleman 1956 die Stelle als Direktor der Forschung für Virus- und Zell-Biologie am Merck Institute for Therapeutic Research in West Point, Pennsylvania, antrat, konnte er kaum ahnen, dass er einst als einer der entscheidendsten Wissenschaftler in die Geschichte der modernen Medizin im Bereich der Impfstoffe eingehen würde. Bis dahin standen Jonas Salk und Albert Sabin im Rufe jener Wissenschaftler, die Bahnbrechendes im Kampf gegen virale Erkrankungen geleistet hatten. Maurice grosse Leidenschaft für die Wissenschaft allerdings war seinem Bruder bereits während der Kindheit aufgefallen, der ihm den Grundstein zur universitären Ausbildung legte.2

Bild 1 und 2: Dr. Maurice Hilleman (1919 - 2005), einer der bedeutendsten Wissenschaftler in der Geschichte der modernen Medizin für Impfstoffe. Während seiner beinahe 30 jährigen Karriere bei MSD entwickelte er mehr als 40 Impfstoffe für Menschen und Tiere.

Maurice Hilleman wuchs auf einer Farm in Montana auf. Das harte Leben war eine wertvolle Grundlage für das spätere Berufsleben. „Auf einer Farm aufzuwachsen, heisst viel Praktisches mitzubekommen,” hielt er später fest. Nach dem Studium an der University of Chicago mit einem Doktorat in Mikrobiologie und Chemie wählte er anstelle der akademischen Laufbahn den Weg in die pharmazeutische Industrie - ein wahrer Glücksfall für die Weltgesundheit, wie sich später herausstellen sollte!

In seiner fast 30-jährigen Tätigkeit bei MSD (1956 - 1984) war Dr. Maurice Hilleman mitentscheidend bei der Entwicklung von über vierzig Impfstoffen für die Human- und Tiermedizin. Sein leiden-schaftliches Forschen und sein humanistischer Ansatz sind heute noch Inspiration für Medizin-Wissenschaftler weltweit. Mehr dazu direkt in einem eindrücklichen Videoportrait

Legendär ist der 1967 entwickelte Impfstoff gegen Mumps MUMPSVAX (Mumps Virus Vaccine, Live), den er aus einer Zellkultur seiner an Mumps erkrankten Tochter Jeryl Lynn (links im Bild) entnahm. In jener Nacht, es war im Jahr 1956, holte Maurce Hilleman vom Labor die notwendigen Materialien, um zu Hause Zellkulturen zu entnehmen, die er wieder zurück im Labor einfror und isolierte. Einige Jahre später, kurz vor Lizenzierung des ersten Impfstoffes gegen diese ansteckende Virusinfektion, wurde seine jüngere Tochter Kirsten damit geimpft. Das bekannte Foto zeigt beide seiner Töchter, die jüngere hatte eben die Mumps-Impfung erhalten, entwickelt aus den Zellkulturen ihrer Schwester.

Bild 3: Jeryl Lynn Hilleman (links im Bild) mit ihrer Schwester Kirsten, als ein Arzt sie mit dem von ihrem Vater entwickelten Mumps-Impfstoff impft.

Erinnerungen und Ehrungen

Anthony S.Fauci, M.D., Direktor des Nationalen Instituts für Allergie und Infektionskrankheiten am National Institutes of Health in den USA sagte u.a. über Maurice Hilleman: "Wenn ich eine Person nennen müsste, die mehr für die menschliche Gesundheit getan hat und mit weniger Anerkennung als jede andere, dann wäre es Maurice Hilleman. Maurice sollte als der erfolgreichste Vakkzinologe der Geschichte anerkannt werden."1

David M. Morens, Senior Advisor des National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases in den USA hielt seinerseits über Maurice Hilleman fest, dass er sehr komplexe Dinge in frappierender Klarheit sehen würde. Ungleich zahlreicher Wissenschaftler, welche das Blatt am Baum verstehen, verstand Hilleman den ganzen Wald – und damit eingebunden ebenso das Blatt.2

1988 wurde Dr. Maurice Hilleman von President Ronald Reagan mit der National Medal of Science geehrt, und 1997 erhielt er den „Albert B. Sabin Gold Medal Award“.3

MSD - WELLCOME TRUST: Die Hilleman Laboratories

Die Hilleman Laboratories, die in Erinnerung an Maurice Hilleman gegründet wurden, arbeiten seit 2009 daran, für Weltregionen mit beschränkten Gesundheitsressourcen leistungsfähige Medikamente zu tiefen Preisen herzustellen und Versorgungslücken zu schliessen.4

Referenzen

World Immunization Week 24. – 30. April 2018

Die von der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) ins Leben gerufene Weltimpfwoche hat zum Ziel, auf die gesellschaftliche Verantwortung und die kollektiven Massnahmen hinzuweisen, die notwendig sind, damit jeder Mensch vor Krankheiten geschützt werden kann, die sich durch Impfung vermeiden lassen.

Das diesjährige Thema "Protected Together, #VaccinesWork" ermutigt Menschen auf allen Ebenen - von Spendern bis hin zur breiten Öffentlichkeit -, ihre Anstrengungen zur Erhöhung der Impfquote zum Wohle der Allgemeinheit zu verstärken.

MSD unterstützt diesen Aufruf der WHO weltweit.

Über MSD:

MSD ist ein führendes globales biopharmazeutisches Unternehmen, das seit mehr als einem Jahrhundert für das Leben forscht und für die herausforderndsten Krankheiten weltweit Arzneimittel und Impfstoffe entwickelt. MSD ist ein geschützter Name von Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, U.S.A. Mit unseren rezeptpflichtigen Medikamenten, Impfstoffen, Biotherapeutika und Tiergesundheitsprodukten bieten wir in über 140 Ländern innovative Gesundheitslösungen an. Darüber hinaus setzen wir uns mit weitreichenden Programmen und Partnerschaften für den verbesserten Zugang zur Gesundheitsversorgung ein. Heute steht MSD weiterhin an der Spitze der Forschung zur Vorbeugung und Behandlung von Krankheiten, die Menschen und die Gesellschaft auf der ganzen Welt bedrohen, darunter Krebs, Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, neue Tierkrankheiten, Alzheimer sowie Infektionskrankheiten, inklusive HIV und Ebola. Für weitere Informationen besuchen Sie www.msd.com und folgen Sie uns auf Twitter.

MSD Humanmedizin Schweiz:

Die Schweiz ist ein wichtiger Standort für das Unternehmen. Hier sind 700 Mitarbeitende in nationalen und internationalen Funktionen tätig. Der Bereich Humanmedizin ist in der Schweiz zuständig für den Vertrieb rezeptpflichtiger Medikamente und Biopharmazeutika in den Therapiebereichen Onkologie, Diabetes, Herzkreislauf, Anti-Infektiva (u.a. Antimykotika, Antibiotika-Resistenzen, HIV/AIDS und Hepatitis C), Immunologie, Frauengesundheit sowie von Impfstoffen für Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene.

MSD ist in der Schweiz aktiv in der klinischen Forschung und stellt hier Medikamente weltweit für klinische Studien her. Die Stärkung der Gesundheitskompetenz und der Gesundheitsökonomie sind weitere Anliegen, für die sich MSD lokal einsetzt. Ebenso engagiert sich MSD am Standort Luzern. 2018 erhielt das Unternehmen in der Schweiz zum sechsten Mal in Folge die Zertifizierung «Top Employer» und zum dritten Mal die Auszeichnung «Top Employer Europe».

Mehr unter: www.msd.ch

Kontakt:
Liliane Elspass, Lead Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 34 24 / Mobile 079 235 58 90
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2018 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

VACC-1254933-0000, April 2018