Our work in diabetes

About 500,000 people in Switzerland are affected by diabetes and approximately 90% of them (one in 18 people) suffer from type 2 diabetes.1 Many people may not even know that they have this disease, as the average case of type 2 diabetes is not diagnosed for seven years.2 The number of diabetes patients is constantly rising. By 2045, the number of people affected across the world is estimated to have increased to 700 million.3

About

500000

people in Switzerland suffer from diabetes.1

Type 2 diabetes makes up approximately

90%

of all cases of diabetes diagnosed in adults.1

«Diabetes is one of MSD’s key therapeutic areas. We are committed to conducting scientifically excellent and innovative research into diabetes in order to continuously improve treatment options for patients.»

Helgo Magnussen, Director Business Unit Primary Care & Vaccines, MSD Switzerland

Type 2 diabetes2

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic condition, which develops gradually and is characterised by increased blood sugar levels. It occurs when the pancreas does not produce enough insulin or the body is unable to use the insulin effectively to convert blood sugar into energy (insulin resistance). In most cases, type 2 diabetes does not develop until later in the patient’s life. At first, it does not cause any detectable symptoms. The condition often goes undetected until complications arise, such as wounds not healing properly or being prone to infection or visual impairments. Type 2 diabetes is affecting an increasing number of younger people who are severely overweight.

People with type 2 diabetes have a higher risk of cardiovascular diseases and death.

Type 2 diabetic patients between the ages of 45 and 64 have an increased risk of heart attacks.4

People with type 2 diabetes are 1.5 – 2 times more likely than the general population to suffer a stroke.5

50% of deaths among people with typ 2 diabetes are the result of a cardiovascular disease.6

Blood sugar control is vital for type 2 diabetes patients.2

When treating type 2 diabetes, it is vitally important to normalise the patient’s increased blood sugar levels. Switching to a healthier diet and exercising more does help, but in many cases it is not enough. These patients also rely on antidiabetics (drugs that reduce blood sugar) and regular visits to their doctor.

We are investigating the development of new treatment options to further improve the quality of life of diabetes patients.

Diabetes is a chronic illness and, as yet, there is still no cure for it. MSD has been actively conducting research into diabetes for years, to enable us to provide patients with new, innovative treatment options.

MSD plays a leading role in the field of diabetes

With an unwavering focus on innovation and substantiated science, we are working on researching, developing and providing drugs and vaccines. In 2007, our long-standing research programme for diabetes enabled us to contribute to one of the most important advances in type 2 diabetes treatment: the introduction of a new class of treatment known as DPP-4 inhibitors. Although diabetes patients have seen their quality of life improve considerably, there are still many who do not reach their target blood sugar levels. Nowadays, there is a new class of antidiabetic substances used to treat type 2 diabetes, known as SGLT-2 inhibitors. This gives patients further options for combination and supplementary therapy for treating type 2 diabetes.

We are working to improve the possibility of early diabetes detection.

Many patients’ diabetes is not detected until they start displaying visible symptoms2. The PARIS (Patient at Risk Identification System) software developed by MSD helps to identify patients at risk of diabetic and cardiovascular conditions. PARIS uses patient data to estimate the patient’s risk of disease as a basis for determining the most effective treatment for them. PARIS is also designed to prevent over- and under-treatment, ensure that resources are used more efficiently and make it easier to measure therapeutic success.

References

1 Bundesamt für Gesundheit https://www.bag.admin.ch, last access 13.12.2018; 2 https://www.diabetesschweiz.ch/, last access 13.12.2018; 3 Diabetes Atlas der IDF https://www.diabetes-online.de/, last access 13.12.2018; 4 Haffner et al. Mortality from coronary heart disease in subjects with type 2 diabetes and nondiabetic subjects with and without prior myocardial infarction. New England Journal of Medicine. 1998 Jul 23;339(4):229 – 234.; 5 Emerging risk factors collaboration: Diabetes mellitus, fasting blood glucose concentration, and risk of vascular disease: a collaborative meta-analysis of 102 prospective studies. The Lancet. 2010.; 6 World Health Organisation Europe. Data and Statistics. http://www.euro.who.int/en/ health-topics/noncommunicable-diseases/diabetes/data-and-tatistics.

Notre travail dans le domaine du diabète

En Suisse, près de 500 000 personnes sont atteintes de diabète, dont environ 90% (une personne sur 18) souffrent de diabète de type 2.1 De nombreuses personnes ignorent peut-être encore qu’elles sont également atteintes car il faut en moyenne sept ans pour qu’un diabète de type 2 soit détecté.2 Le nombre de sujets diabétiques augmente constamment. Selon des estimations, le nombre de personnes atteintes de diabète dans le monde s’élèvera à 700 millions en 2045.3

Environ

500000

personnes souffrent de diabète en Suisse.1

Le diabète de type 2 représente environ

90%

de tous les cas de diabète diagnostiqués chez des adultes.1

«Le diabète est un domaine thérapeutique important chez MSD. Nous nous engageons pour l’excellence scientifique et les innovations dans la recherche sur le diabète, afin d’améliorer en permanence les possibilités thérapeutiques des patients.»

Helgo Magnussen, Director Business Unit Primary Care & Vaccines, MSD Switzerland

Diabète de type 22

Le diabète de type 2 est une maladie chronique qui se développe lentement et est caractérisée par un taux élevé de sucre sanguin. Il apparaît au moment où le pancréas ne produit plus suffisamment d’insuline ou que le corps ne peut plus utiliser efficacement l’insuline pour transformer le sucre sanguin en énergie (résistance à l’insuline). Dans la plupart des cas, le diabète de type 2 survient dans la seconde moitié de la vie. Au début, aucun symptôme n’est détectable. Souvent, la maladie n’est identifiée qu’au moment où apparaissent de premières complications telles que des plaies qui cicatrisent mal et s’infectent facilement ou des troubles de la vision. Le diabète de type 2 survient aussi de plus en plus fréquemment chez des sujets plus jeunes présentant un surpoids important.

Le diabète de type 2 recèle un risque élevé de maladies cardiovasculaires et de cas de décès.

Les personnes atteintes de diabète de type 2 âgées de 45 à 64 ans présentent un risque accru d’infarctus du myocarde.4

Les patients souffrant de diabète de type 2 présentent un risque augmenté de 1,5 à 2 fois d’accident vasculaire cérébral par rapport à la population générale.5

50% des cas de décès de personnes atteintes de diabète de type 2 sont la conséquence d’une maladie cardiovasculaire.6

Chez les personnes souffrant de diabète de type 2, le contrôle glycémique revêt une importance fondamentale.2

Le traitement du diabète de type 2 vise surtout à la normalisation des valeurs élevées de la glycémie. La passage à une alimentation plus saine et davantage d'exercice peuvent y contribuer. Néanmoins, dans de nombreux cas, ceci ne suffit pas. Ces patients doivent en outre prendre des antidiabétiques (médicaments qui abaissent la glycémie) et se rendre régulièrement chez leur médecin.

Nous faisons de la recherche dans le développement de nouveaux traitements qui procurent aux patients diabétiques une meilleure qualité de vie.

Le diabète est une maladie chronique incurable à ce jour. MSD s’engage activement depuis des années dans la recherche sur le diabète, afin de pouvoir mettre à disposition des patients affectés des thérapies innovantes.

MSD assume un rôle de leader dans le domaine du diabète

En mettant en permanence l’accent sur l’innovation et la science approfondie, nous travaillons à la recherche, au développement et à la préparation de médicaments et de vaccins. Notre programme de recherche portant sur de longues années dans le domaine du diabète a permis en 2007 de contribuer à l’un des progrès majeurs dans le traitement du diabète de type 2: l’introduction de molécules appelées inhibiteurs de DPP-4 comme option thérapeutique d’une nouvelle classe à l’époque. Même si la qualité de vie des patients diabétiques s’est ainsi nettement améliorée, tous les patients ne réussissent pas encore à atteindre leur valeur cible de glycémie. Aujourd’hui, les substances appelées inhibiteurs de SGLT-2 constituent une nouvelle classe d’antidiabétiques pour le traitement du diabète de type 2. Les patients ont ainsi d’autres traitements d'association et traitements adjuvants à leur disposition pour le diabète de type 2.

Nous nous engageons pour améliorer les possibilités de détection précoce du diabète.

Chez de nombreux patients, le diabète n’est reconnu qu’au moment où des symptômes visibles se manifestent2. Le logiciel PARIS (Patient at Risk Identification System) développé par MSD aide dans l’identification des patients présentant un risque diabétique et cardiovasculaire. Avec PARIS, il est possible d’estimer le risque de maladie à partir de données du patient - comme base pour la détermination du traitement optimal. En outre, PARIS devrait permettre d’éviter des sur-traitements ou des sous-traitements, d’exploiter plus efficacement les ressources et d’obtenir des résultats thérapeutiques plus mesurables.

Références

1 Bundesamt für Gesundheit https://www.bag.admin.ch, dernier accès le 13.12.2018; 2 https://www.diabetesschweiz.ch/, dernier accès le 13.12.2018; 3 Diabetes Atlas der IDF https://www.diabetes-online.de/, dernier accès le 13.12.2018; 4 Haffner et al. Mortality from coronary heart disease in subjects with type 2 diabetes and nondiabetic subjects with and without prior myocardial infarction. New England Journal of Medicine. 1998 Jul 23;339(4):229 – 234.; 5 Emerging risk factors collaboration: Diabetes mellitus, fasting blood glucose concentration, and risk of vascular disease: a collaborative meta-analysis of 102 prospective studies. The Lancet. 2010.; 6 World Health Organisation Europe. Data and Statistics. http://www.euro.who.int/en/ health-topics/noncommunicable-diseases/diabetes/data-and-tatistics.