In Switzerland, long-term partnerships and support for local projects are integral components of MSD’s social engagement.

Our social engagement in Switzerland

Apprenticeships

MSD gives young people a strong career start and provides the training they need to become qualified professionals.

Apprenticeships

Since 1977, we have been committed to promoting young talent in the region. We offer young people the opportunity to complete apprenticeships for Swiss federal certification as a chemistry or biology laboratory technician (EFZ, Eidgenössisches Fähigkeitszeugnis) as well as business administrator (EFZ, Eidgenössisches Fähigkeitszeugnis) in the area of service and administration.

Learn more

Running for a good cause

MSD supports the SwissCityMarathon Lucerne.

Running for a good cause

Since 2010, MSD has been supporting the SwissCityMarathon Lucerne to promote exercise and sport as a means of personal health literacy. Our commitment will benefit both the marathon and the official charity partner of the marathon, the Swiss Committee of UNICEF. Since 2018, all participants can run the "UNICEF Extra Mile" for a good cause following their 10, 21 or 42-kilometer distance. MSD donates for every Extra Mile run until the donation target of 20,000 Swiss francs for UNICEF has been reached. With its donation to Unicef, MSD has helped to reduce the number of insufficiently equipped maternity clinics in Tajikistan from 65 to 47.

Learn more

«MSD for Mothers Grant»

for Swiss project in Tanzania

«MSD for Mothers Grant»

The “MSD for Mothers” program was initiated in 2011 to support the UN program “Every Woman Every Child” with 500 million US dollars over ten years. The program aims to reduce maternal mortality by 75 % and to create better access to reproductive healthcare. As part of this initiative, the Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute in Basel received the MSD for Mothers Grant to support the «One-stop-clinic » in Ifakara, Tanzania that provides integrated healthcare to HIV-infected pregnant women and their families.

Learn more

Corporate Volunteering

Our employees commit their time to helping others in social projects.

Corporate Volunteering

As part of MSD's Corporate Volunteering Program, we give our employees time for social commitment. They can use up to 40 of their working hours every year to do volunteer activities that support non-profit organizations: voluntarily and during working hours.

As part of the fight against the SARS-CoV-2 pandemic, MSD has temporarily lifted the limit of 40 hours for volunteer work. This applies to employees trained in healthcare professions such as medicine, nursing, laboratory technology, etc. who volunteer for health-related activities.

Activities

Neighborhood assistance during the COVID-19 pandemic (2020)

Over the course of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, MSD employees have volunteered to help in the neighborhood; among them, one employee who has registered with the "Vicino Quartierhilfe Würzenbach" and who, as a volunteer, has supported at-risk persons with their weekly shopping or other errands.


Involvement with the Health and Sports Department of the Canton of Lucerne (2020)

During the Corona crisis, the Health and Sports Department of the Canton of Lucerne received support from MSD for the COVID-19 drive-in test centers as well as for on-call service.


Volunteer work with "Bergversetzer" (2019)

With expert direction from Bergversetzer.ch a group of MSD volunteers performed manual labor in Schwändiberg (Canton Schwyz). They worked in the mountain region to provide effective support for the local population in their daily tasks, including renovation work and the maintenance of hiking trails.

MSD Fellowship for Global Health

Our employees do on-site volunteer work to improve the health of the people who are in the greatest need.

MSD Fellowship for Global Health

The MSD Fellowship for Global Health is a three-month volunteer program that gives our employees a chance to apply their talents and expertise around the world. The employees chosen for this program are called Richard T. Clark (RTC) fellows in honor of our former CEO Dick Clark. The program matches our employees' expertise with non-profit organizations all around the world in order to meaningfully and systematically improve healthcare for people in the greatest need.

Learn more


CH-NON-00945, 12/2020

En Suisse, des partenariats de longue date et le soutien de projets locaux sont des composants essentiels de l’engagement social de MSD.

Notre engagement en Suisse

Nous formons

MSD permet à de jeunes personnes d’entrer dans la vie professionnelle et les forme en tant que spécialistes qualifiés.

Nous formons

Depuis 1977, nous nous engageons dans la région pour encourager la relève. Nous offrons à de jeunes personnes la possibilité de poursuivre une formation, mettant l’accent sur différentes priorités: laborantines et laborantins CFC avec une spécialisation en chimie et en biologie ainsi que des employée/employées de commerce CFC dans le domaine des services de l’administration.

En savoir plus

Courir pour une bonne cause

MSD soutient le SwissCityMarathon Lucerne.

Courir pour une bonne cause

Depuis 2010, MSD soutient le SwissCityMarathon de Lucerne pour favoriser le mouvement et la joie de faire du sport, faisant partie intégrante des compétences en matière de santé relevant de la propre responsabilité de chacun. Cette année, notre engagement se fait aussi bien au profit du marathon que du partenariat caritatif officiel du marathon et du Comité suisse de l’UNICEF. Pour la première fois, au terme de leur parcours de 10, 21 ou 42 kilomètres, toutes les participantes et tous les participants peuvent courir l’«UNICEF Extra Mile» pour une bonne cause. Pour chaque Extra Mile couru, MSD fait un don jusqu’à ce que l’objectif de la donation pour l’UNICEF de 20’000 francs suisses soit atteint.

En savoir plus

«MSD for Mothers Grant»

pour un projet suisse en Tanzanie

Subvention à «MSD for Mothers Grant»
pour un projet suisse en Tanzanie

Le programme «MSD for Mothers» a été initié en 2011 et il soutient le programme de l’ONU «Every Woman Every Child» pendant dix ans avec un montant de 500 millions de dollars US. Les objectifs sont de baisser la mortalité maternelle de 75 % et d’améliorer l’accès à la santé de la reproduction. En 2014, l’Institut Tropical et de Santé Publique Suisse de Bâle a reçu de ce programme le «MSD for Mothers Grant» pour mettre en place le projet «One-stop-Clinic» à Ifakara, Tanzanie, avec des soins de santé intégrés et une prévention renforcée pour les femmes enceintes infectées par le VIH et leurs familles.

En savoir plus

Corporate Volunteering

Nos collaboratrices et nos collaborateurs s’engagent pour d’autres personnes dans des projets sociaux.

Corporate Volunteering

Dans le cadre du programme Corporate Volunteering de MSD, nous offrons à nos collaboratrices et à nos collaborateurs le temps nécessaire pour un engagement social. Ils peuvent ainsi disposer d’un temps allant jusqu’à 40 heures par année pour participer à des activités de bénévolat pour soutenir des organisations caritatives : de manière volontaire et pendant le temps de travail.

Engagements

Après-midi de Noël dans la Haus für Mutter und Kind (Maison pour maman et enfant) à Hergiswil (2017)

Durant cet après-midi, des collaboratrices et des collaborateurs de MSD ont consacré du temps aux résidentes et résidents de la Haus für Mutter und Kind à Hergiswil pour se réjouir de Noël. Sous la direction d’une fleuriste, ils ont confectionné ensemble avec les mamans des couronnes de l’Avent et ont joué avec les enfants. Ils leur ont raconté des histoires de Noël, ils ont chanté et joué avec eux et ils leur ont offert des petits cadeaux soutenus par les collaboratrices et les collaborateurs de MSD qui les avaient préalablement aimablement emballés.


Action « 2 x Noël » avec la Croix-Rouge Suisse (2017 et 2016)

Dans le cadre de l’action « 2 x Noël », l’équipe de la division Regulatory Affairs a soutenu la Croix-Rouge Suisse en équipant 300 cabas avec des denrées alimentaires et des articles d’hygiène et en les distribuant le jour suivant à des personnes dans le besoin de la région de l’Entlebuch.


Construction d’une piste cyclable dans la Haus für Mutter und Kind (2016)

Dans le grand jardin de la « Haus für Mutter und Kind » à Hergiswil, un groupe de collaboratrices et de collaborateurs de MSD a construit une piste cyclable en gravier sous la direction d’un professionnel. Un deuxième groupe a aidé la prise en charge des enfants dans le même lieu et à contribué aux tâches ménagères.

Les heures consacrées de toutes les collaboratrices et de tous les collaborateurs au niveau mondial sont visibles dans le rapport sur la responsabilité sociale entrepreneuriale de MSD.

MSD Corporate Responsibility

MSD Fellowship for Global Health

Nos collaboratrices et collaborateurs s’engagent sur place pour la santé des personnes en situation d’extrême urgence.

MSD Fellowship for Global Health

MSD Fellowship for Global Health est un programme de volontariat de notre entreprise s’étendant sur trois mois qui a pour but d’engager efficacement les connaissances professionnelles et les talents de nos collaboratrices et de nos collaborateurs dans le monde. Celles et ceux sélectionés pour cela sont appelés boursiers Richard T. Clark (RTC) en hommage à l’ancien président et PDG Dick Clark. Le programme met en relation le savoir-faire des collaboratrices et collaborateurs de notre entreprise avec des organisations à but non lucratif dans le monde pour améliorer de manière judicieuse et systématique les soins de santé prodigués à des personnes en situation d’extrême urgence.

En 2017, deux collaboratrices de MSD Suisse ont pu prendre part au programme. Siân Perry a travaillé pendant trois mois à Cusco, Pérou, et elle a soutenu le travail de CerviCusco, une clinique médicale sans but lucratif qui veut éviter les décès et les souffrances liées au cancer du col de l’utérus dans la région. Susie Wood a passé trois mois au Malawi et dans le cadre d’Africare, elle a aidé l’« Institute for Child Wellness in Africa » (TICWA) a améliorer la santé et à offrir des chances aux enfants africains, grâce à des approches innovatrices.