MSD Expands Operations in Switzerland

  • Company will open a new location in Zurich, focused on accelerating research, data and commercialization of our medicines and vaccines
  • Lucerne will remain the center of MSD’s presence in Switzerland

Lucerne, January 31, 2020 – MSD (Merck Sharp & Dohme AG) today announced that it will establish a new office in Zurich, Switzerland, aimed at accelerating the development and commercialization of many of our company’s medicines and vaccines, which supports our mission to save and improve lives around the world. The new location has a target date of 2021 for operational readiness.

“We are proud that MSD is building on our rich, almost 60-year legacy in Switzerland through the establishment of a new office in Zurich, which is a natural extension of our footprint here,” said Thomas Lang, Managing Director, MSD in Switzerland. “Lucerne will remain the center of our presence in Switzerland, and we look forward to our continued success.”

The new office in Zurich will be staffed by teams working in strategic and operational roles in medical affairs, clinical development, access and marketing operations functions. In addition to relocating employees from other MSD locations worldwide, new talent will be hired. By the time of its completion, more than 250 employees will work at the new site.

“We selected Zurich because of its exceptional academic and life sciences ecosystem coupled with its high stability, central European location,” added Klaus Beck, Vice President, Medical Affairs, MSD in Switzerland. “Zurich provides an ideal setting for our teams to achieve scientific excellence by collaborating to develop and commercialize our inventions to improve human health around the world.”

MSD has had a presence in Switzerland since 1963. With a regional office and manufacturing/packaging facility, Lucerne is considered the center of operations. Approximately 1,000 people work at the four Lucerne locations (Weystrasse, Citybay, Schachen and Kriens).

About MSD in Switzerland:

The field of human medicine in Switzerland is responsible for selling drugs and biopharmaceuticals available only on prescription in the therapy areas of oncology, diabetes, cardiovascular, infectious diseases (amongst others, fungus infections, antibiotic resistances, HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis C), immunology, women’s health as well as vaccines for children, adolescents and adults. In Switzerland, MSD conducts clinical research and manufactures drugs for worldwide clinical studies. MSD is also involved at its Lucerne location, among other things in the annual specialist event “Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern”. In 2019, the Switzerland company received the certification “Top Employer” for the seventh time in a row as well as the award “Top Employer Europe” for the fourth time.

About MSD worldwide:

For more than a century, MSD, a leading global biopharmaceutical company, has been inventing for life, bringing forward medicines and vaccines for many of the world’s most challenging diseases. MSD is the trade name of Merck & Co., Inc, with headquarters in Kenilworth, N.J., USA. Through our prescription medicines, vaccines, biologic therapies and animal health products, we work with customers and operate in more than 140 countries to deliver innovative health solutions. We also demonstrate our commitment to increasing access to health care through far-reaching policies, programs and partnerships. Today, MSD continues to be at the forefront of research to advance the prevention and treatment of diseases that threaten people and communities around the world - including cancer, cardio-metabolic diseases, emerging animal diseases, Alzheimer’s disease and infectious diseases including HIV and Ebola.

For more information: www.msd.ch
Follow us on Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

This information is intended exclusively for media professionals. MSD presents the advertising law provisions of pharmaceutical law, in particular to the ban on public advertising for prescription medicinal products.

Media department MSD Switzerland
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. +41 (0) 58 618 30 30
Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)

© 2020 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Lucerne. All rights reserved.

CH-NON-00410, 01/2020

MSD étend ses opérations en Suisse

  • La société ouvrira un nouveau site à Zurich, axé sur l’accélération de la recherche, des données et de la commercialisation de nos médicaments et vaccins
  • Lucerne restera le centre de la présence de MSD en Suisse

Lucerne, le 31 janvier 2020 – MSD (Merck Sharp & Dohme AG) a annoncé aujourd’hui qu’elle va établir un nouveau bureau à Zurich, en Suisse, destiné à accélérer le développement et la commercialisation de nombreux médicaments et vaccins de notre société, ce qui soutient notre mission de sauver et d’améliorer des vies dans le monde entier. L’objectif pour la disponibilité opérationnelle du nouvel emplacement est fixé à 2021.

«Nous sommes fiers que MSD s’appuie sur notre riche héritage de près de 60 ans en Suisse en établissant un nouveau bureau à Zurich, qui constitue une extension naturelle de notre empreinte ici», a déclaré Thomas Lang, directeur général de MSD en Suisse. «Lucerne restera le centre de notre présence en Suisse, et nous nous réjouissons de poursuivre notre réussite.»

Le nouveau bureau de Zurich sera occupé par des équipes travaillant dans des rôles stratégiques et opérationnels pour les affaires médicales, le développement clinique, l’accès et les opérations de marketing. En plus de relocaliser les employés d’autres sites MSD dans le monde, de nouveaux talents seront embauchés. Au moment de son achèvement, plus de 250 employés travailleront sur le nouveau site.

«Nous avons choisi Zurich en raison de son écosystème exceptionnel de sciences académiques et de sciences de la vie, associé à sa haute stabilité et à sa situation au centre de l’Europe», a ajouté Klaus Beck, vice-président des affaires médicales pour MSD en Suisse. «Zurich offre un cadre idéal pour que nos équipes atteignent l’excellence scientifique en collaborant pour développer et commercialiser nos inventions afin d’améliorer la santé humaine dans le monde entier».

MSD est présente en Suisse depuis 1963. Avec un bureau régional et une usine de fabrication/conditionnement, Lucerne est considérée comme le centre des opérations. Environ 1000 personnes travaillent sur les quatre sites de Lucerne (Weystrasse, Citybay, Schachen et Kriens).

A propos de MSD en Suisse:

Le domaine de la médecine humaine en Suisse est responsable de la vente de médicaments et de produits biopharmaceutiques disponibles uniquement sur ordonnance dans les domaines thérapeutiques de l’oncologie, du diabète, des maladies cardiovasculaires, des maladies infectieuses (entre autres, les infections fongiques, les résistances aux antibiotiques, le VIH/sida et l’hépatite C), de l’immunologie, de la santé des femmes ainsi que des vaccins pour les enfants, les adolescents et les adultes. En Suisse, MSD mène des recherches cliniques et fabrique des médicaments pour des études cliniques mondiales. MSD est également impliquée, sur son site de Lucerne, entre autres dans l’événement annuel pour spécialistes «Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern». En 2019, la société suisse a reçu la certification de «Top Employer» pour la septième fois consécutive, ainsi que la récompense «Top Employer Europe» pour la quatrième fois.

À propos de MSD dans le monde:

MSD est une raison sociale protégée de Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, U.S.A. MSD est une entreprise biopharmaceutique leader, qui fait des recherches depuis plus d’un siècle pour la vie et développe des médicaments et des vaccins contre les maladies les plus exigeantes dans le monde entier, dont le cancer, les maladies cardiovasculaires, d’Alzheimer ainsi que les maladies infectieuses, y compris le VIH et le virus Ebola.

Informations complémentaires sur www.msd.ch
Suivez-nous sur Twitter, LinkedIn et YouTube.

Ces informations sont réservées aux professionnels des médias. MSD présente les dispositions de la loi sur la publicité en matière de droit pharmaceutique, notamment l’interdiction de la publicité publique pour les médicaments délivrés sur ordonnance.

Département des médias MSD Suisse
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. 058 618 30 30
Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)

© 2020 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Lucerne. Tous droits réservés.

CH-NON-00410, 01/2020