MSD offers apprenticeships in the Lucerne Region

Lucerne, 9th August 2017 - MSD Switzerland is once again offering apprenticeships for different professions this year. This gives young people from the Lucerne region the opportunity to complete an exciting apprenticeship in an international company.

Werthenstein BioPharma GmbH in Schachen LU, a research unit of MSD, has been offering apprenticeships for laboratory assistants (EFZ Eidgenössisches Fähigkeitszeugnis) in chemistry since 1977 and in biology since 2010. This year, a trainee will continue to take up training in the field of chemistry. At Werthenstein BioPharma, students gain insights into various test methods, work with organisms and examine samples using various methods. The analysis of raw materials for biotechnological processes is at the forefront of chemical alignment. In the field of biology, the laboratory technicians carry out cell biological analyses and test active substances using biochemical methods.

At the MSD location in the city of Lucerne, apprenticeships have been offered since 2014 as business administration (EFZ Eidgenössisches Fähigkeitszeugnis). Once again this year, a trainee will start her three-year apprenticeship, giving her an insight into various departments of a globally oriented but locally active company. With a wide range of activities and practical training, an apprenticeship at MSD offers a valuable basis for further professional careers and optimally preparation for specialization, e. g. in the fields of marketing, accounting, finance or human resources.

For MSD Switzerland, it is also part of its corporate responsibility to offer training places in the region and thus support the dual education system of Switzerland. By taking on apprenticeship training, we are making a small contribution to the future of the young generation in the Lucerne region. At the same time, we are also benefiting from the new insights gained from our apprentices, "says Thomas Lang, Managing Director of MSD Switzerland.

Since 2014, a total of nine apprentices have successfully completed their training in the different professions at MSD Switzerland.

About MSD

MSD is a leading global biopharmaceutical company which has been engaged in life science research for more than a century, developing drugs and vaccines for the most challenging diseases worldwide. MSD is a registered trademark of Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, USA. With our prescription drugs, vaccines, biological therapies, and veterinary products, we offer innovative health solutions in over 140 countries. With wide-ranging programs and partnerships, we are also committed to achieving improved access to healthcare. Today MSD is still at the forefront of research for the prevention and treatment of diseases which threaten people and society around the world, including cancer, cardiovascular diseases, new animal diseases, Alzheimer’s, and infectious diseases, including HIV and Ebola. For more information visit www.msd.com and follow us on Twitter.

MSD Human Medicine Switzerland

Switzerland is a key location for the company, which has 600 employees working there in national and international functions. The Human Medicine division in Switzerland is responsible for the distribution of prescription drugs and biopharmaceuticals in the areas of oncology, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, infectious diseases (including anti-fungal, antibiotic resistance, HIV/Aids, and hepatitis C), immunology, women’s health as well as vaccines for children, young people, and adults.

MSD is active in clinical research in Switzerland, where the company provides medicines for clinical trials worldwide. Additionally, MSD is committed to raising health literacy and promoting the healthcare economy on a local level. The firm is also active in Lucerne, where the MSD headquarters are located, In 2017 the company received certification as a “Top Employer” in Switzerland for the fifth year in succession, as well as the “Top Employer Europe” award for the second time.

More information is available at: www.msd.ch

Press contact:
Dr. Angelika März, Director Policy & Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 35 18 / Mobile 079 378 02 47
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2017 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. All rights reserved.

CORP-1227909-0000, August 2017

MSD crée des places d'apprentissage dans la région lucernoise

Lucerne, 9 août 2017 - Cette année aussi, MSD Suisse offre des places d'apprentissage de diverses professions. Des jeunes de la région lucernoise ont ainsi la possibilité de suivre une formation passionnante dans le cadre d'une entreprise internationale.

Depuis 1977 déjà, Werthenstein BioPharma GmbH à Schachen LU, une unité de recherche de MSD, propose des places d'apprentissage avec CFC (certificat fédéral de capacité) à des laborantines et des laborantins en chimie et, depuis 2010, dans le domaine de la biologie. Cette année également, un apprenti en formation de chimie trouvera une place. Chez Werthenstein BioPharma, les apprentis reçoivent des éclairages dans diverses procédures de tests, travaillent avec des organismes et analysent des échantillons à l'aide de différentes méthodes. Dans le domaine de la chimie, l'analyse de matières premières destinées à des processus biotechnologiques est au premier plan. En ce qui concerne la biologie, les laborantins effectuent des analyses et testent des substances actives à l'aide de méthodes biochimiques.

Depuis 2014, des places d'apprentissage d'employés de commerce avec un CFC sont proposées dans le site de MSD en ville de Lucerne. Cette année aussi, un apprenti va débuter sa formation de trois ans pendant laquelle il pourra acquérir une expérience dans différents départements d'une entreprise ayant une dimension mondiale mais étant active localement. Grâce à des activités variées et à une formation orientée vers la pratique, une place d'apprentissage chez MSD représente une base solide pour la carrière professionnelle future d'un apprenti et elle le prépare de manière optimale à une spécialisation dans les domaines du marketing, de la comptabilité ou des ressources humaines.

Pour MSD Suisse, offrir des places d'apprentissage dans la région et ainsi soutenir le système de formation dual de la Suisse fait aussi partie de sa responsabilité entrepreneuriale. «Avec la prise en charge de formations en apprentissage, nous apportons une petite contribution à l'avenir de la jeune génération de la région lucernoise. En même temps, nous profitons d'acquérir de nouveaux éclairages grâce à nos apprentis» a déclaré Thomas Lang, Directeur général de MSD Suisse.

Depuis 2014, neuf apprentis ont terminé avec succès leur formation dans différents domaines professionnels chez MSD Suisse.

A propos de MSD

Depuis plus d'un siècle, MSD, une compagnie biopharmaceutique mondiale de premier plan, invente pour la vie en présentant des médicaments et des vaccins destinés aux maladies qui posent le plus de défis. MSD est un nom commercial de Merck & Co., Inc., ayant son siège à Kenilworth, N.J., USA. Avec nos médicaments, nos vaccins, nos traitements biologiques et nos produits à usage vétérinaire délivrés sur ordonnance, nous travaillons avec nos clients et nous opérons dans plus de 140 pays pour apporter des solutions de santé innovatrices. Nous démontrons également notre détermination à améliorer l'accès aux soins de santé grâce à des politiques, des programmes et des partenariats d'envergure. Aujourd'hui, MSD reste aux avant-postes de la recherche pour faire avancer la prévention et le traitement de maladies menaçant les personnes et les communautés dans le monde - y compris le cancer, les affections cardio-métaboliques, les maladies animales émergentes, la maladie d'Alzheimer et les maladies infectieuses incluant le VIH et l'Ebola. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez visiter le site internet www.msd.com ou vous mettre en contact avec nous sur Twitter.

MSD Médecine humaine Suisse

La Suisse est un site important pour l'entreprise. 600 employés et employées travaillent ici dans des fonctions nationales aussi bien qu'internationales. La division de la médecine humaine de MSD est responsable de la distribution de médicaments et de biopharmaceutiques délivrés sur ordonnance médicale dans les domaines thérapeutiques que sont l'oncologie, le diabète, les maladies infectieuses (incluant les infections fongiques, les résistances aux antibiotiques, le VIH/SIDA et l'hépatite C), l'immunologie, la santé des femmes de même que des vaccins pour les enfants, les adolescents et les adultes.

En Suisse, MSD est également active dans la recherche clinique et dans la production de médicaments destinés aux essais cliniques. Renforcer les compétences et l'économie en matière de santé est une autre occasion pour MSD de s'impliquer localement. C'est ainsi que MSD s'engage dans son site de Lucerne. En 2017, l'entreprise s'est vue décerner la certification «Top Employer Suisse» pour la cinquième fois consécutive et celle «Top Employer Europe» pour la deuxième fois.

Pour plus d'informations: www.msd.ch

Contact:
Dr. Angelika März, Director Policy & Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 35 18 / Mobile 079 378 02 47
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2017 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. Tous droits réservés.

CORP-1227909-0000, August 2017