Running for a good cause: MSD donates 20,000 Swiss francs to UNICEF Switzerland and Liechtenstein generated at the UNICEF Extra Mile at today’s Swiss City Marathon Lucerne

MSD supports UNICEF Switzerland and Liechtenstein, the charity partner at the Swiss City Marathon Lucerne. Runners who had completed their official running distance were motivated to also run the UNICEF Extra Mile for the benefit of children in Tajikistan. Here at the check handover (from left to right): Jan van Acker, President Emerging Markets MSD, Bettina Junker, Managing Director UNICEF Switzerland and Liechtenstein, Ruth Strässle, Vice President SwissCityMarathon, and Nico van Hoecke, Senior Vice President Regional Marketing MSD.

Lucerne, 27th October 2019: Being goal-oriented, ambitious and dedicated are decisive criteria in the sporting and entrepreneurial context. MSD supports UNICEF Switzerland and Liechtenstein, the charity partner at the Swiss City Marathon Lucerne. Runners who completed their official 10, 21 and 42 kilometer runs were motivated to also run the UNICEF Extra Mile for the benefit of children in Tajikistan.

The UNICEF program supports health centers and promotes access to clean water and sanitation, preventing the transmission of disease and improving care. In Tajikistan, the mortality rate for newborns is high: five times more babies die in the first 28 days than in Switzerland, more than 80 percent of them even in the first week of life. (Source: UNICEF)

Reducing maternal and neonatal mortality is one of the corporate responsibility goals that MSD is pursuing worldwide with the MSD for Mothers project and by pursuing the United Nations sustainability goal (UN Target 3.1) of Good Health & Wellbeing (SDG 3).

MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG has supported the Swiss City Marathon since 2011; since 2018 as Charity Supporting Partner.

About MSD in Switzerland:

1000 employees are working in national and international functions in Switzerland. The Human Medicine division is active in the areas of prescription drugs and biopharmaceuticals for therapies including oncology, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, infectious diseases (including fungal infections, antibiotic resistance, HIV/Aids, and hepatitis C), immunology, women’s health as well as in the area of vaccines for children, young people, and adults.
In Switzerland, MSD develops and analyses new biotechnological active ingredients, tests new drugs, conducts stability studies, coordinates and supplies test drugs for worldwide clinical trials during the development phases. MSD also plays an active role in engaging locally, supporting the health congress “Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern” and the popular “Swiss City Marathon Lucerne”. In 2019, the company was certified as a “Top Employer Switzerland” for the seventh year in succession, as well as a “Top Employer Europe” for the fourth time.

About MSD worldwide:

MSD is a registered trademark of Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, USA. MSD is a leading global biopharmaceutical company which has been engaged in life science research for more than a century, developing drugs and vaccines for the most challenging diseases worldwide, including cancer, cardiovascular diseases, Alzheimer’s, and infectious diseases, such as HIV and Ebola.

For more information: www.msd.ch
Follow us on Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

Press contact MSD Switzerland:
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. +41 (0) 58 618 30 30

Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)
Liliane Elspass (Communications Lead)

© 2019 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Lucerne. All rights reserved.

CH-CIN-000272, 10/2019

Courir pour une bonne cause : résultant de l'UNICEF Extra Mile du Swiss City Marathon Lucerne, MSD remet un chèque de 20’000 francs suisses à l’organisation UNICEF Suisse et Liechtenstein

MSD soutient UNICEF Suisse et Liechtenstein, partenaire caritatif du Swiss City Marathon Lucerne. Après avoir franchi la ligne d’arrivée, les coureuses et les coureurs ayant terminé leur distance officielle ont également pu effectuer l'UNICEF Extra Mile en faveur des enfants au Tadjikistan. Ici, lors de la remise du chèque (de gauche à droite) : Jan van Acker, President Emerging Markets MSD, Bettina Junker, Directrice générale d’UNICEF Suisse et Liechtenstein, Ruth Strässle, Vice-Présidente SwissCityMarathon, et Nico van Hoecke, Senior Vice President Regional Marketing MSD.

Lucerne, le 27 octobre 2019 : orientation vers la cible, ambition et volonté d'être en chemin avec persévérance sont des critères décisifs dans un contexte tant sportif qu’entrepreneurial. MSD soutient UNICEF Suisse et Liechtenstein, partenaire caritatif du Swiss City Marathon Lucerne. Après avoir franchi la ligne d’arrivée, les coureuses et les coureurs ayant parcouru leur distance de course officielle de 10, respectivement 21 et 42 kilomètres, ont pu effectuer l’UNICEF Extra Mile en faveur des enfants au Tadjikistan.

Le programme de l'UNICEF soutient des centres de santé et favorise l'accès à l'eau potable et à des installations sanitaires, prévenant ainsi la transmission de maladies et améliorant les soins. Au Tadjikistan, le taux de mortalité des nouveau-nés est élevé : en comparaison avec la Suisse, cinq fois plus de bébés meurent au cours des 28 premiers jours dont plus de 80% au cours de la première semaine de vie déjà. (Source: UNICEF)

La réduction de la mortalité maternelle et néonatale est l'un des objectifs de responsabilité d'entreprise que MSD s’est fixée dans le monde avec le projet MSD for Mothers et en poursuivant l'objectif de durabilité (Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 3 pour une bonne santé et le bien-être) des Nations Unies (objectif 3.1 de l’ONU).

MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG soutient le Swiss City Marathon depuis 2011; depuis 2018 en tant que partenaire caritatif.

A propos de MSD en Suisse:

1’000 employés et employées travaillent en Suisse dans des fonctions nationales et internationales. La division Médecine Humaine est active dans le domaine des médicaments et produits biopharmaceutiques sur ordonnance couvrant les domaines thérapeutiques de l’oncologie, du diabète, des maladies cardiovasculaires, des maladies infectieuses (y compris les infections fongiques, la résistance aux antibiotiques, le VIH/sida et l’hépatite C), de l’immunologie, de la santé des femmes autant que dans le domaine des vaccins pour enfants, adolescents et adultes.
Dans son site suisse, MSD analyse des nouveaux principes actifs biologiques, teste des nouveaux médicaments, conduit des études de stabilité, coordonne et livre des médicaments de tests pendant différentes phases de développement clinique, pour des études cliniques dans le monde. MSD joue un rôle actif dans l’engagement local en soutenant l’événement annuel spécialisé «Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern» et le «Swiss City Marathon Lucerne». En 2019, MSD s’est classée pour la première fois parmi les 5 meilleures compagnies en tant que «Top Employer Switzerland»

A propos de MSD sur la plan global:

MSD est un nom commercial de Merck & Co., Inc., ayant son siège à Kenilworth, N.J., USA. MSD est une compagnie biopharmaceutique mondiale de premier plan qui depuis plus d’un siècle invente pour la vie en présentant des médicaments et des vaccins destinés aux maladies qui posent le plus de défis, y compris le cancer, les affections cardio-métaboliques, les maladies animales émergentes, la maladie d’Alzheimer et les maladies infectieuses incluant le VIH et l’Ebola.

Informations complémentaires sur www.msd.ch
Suivez-nous sur Twitter, LinkedIn et YouTube.

Contact médias MSD Suisse:
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. 058 618 30 30

Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)
Liliane Elspass (Communications Lead)

© 2019 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Lucerne. Tous droits réservés.

CH-NON-000272, 10/2019