MSD started with largest company team at the SwissCityMarathon Lucerne

Lucerne, 29th August 2018. The research-based biopharmaceutical company MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, located in Lucerne, has been supporting the regionally and nationally important marathon since 2010. This year as Charity Supporting Partner.

With almost 264 MSD runners from 36 nations, MSD started with the largest company team of the race. The employees were given the opportunity to experience the Swiss MSD location in Lucerne during this very special running event, in an unforgettable atmosphere and with breathtaking views.

A special highlight for the employees: The running course led directly past one of the four MSD locations in Lucerne. The large team brought a lot of positivity and energy with them. But above all: Motivation! All MSD runners made it safely to the finish. Social commitment is an additional motivation. Running for a good cause has been part of MSD's commitment to the Swiss City Marathon Lucerne since the beginning and so our MSD runners ran the UNICEF Extra Mile after crossing the finish line. It was a very special running experience for everyone!

MSD supports UNICEF Switzerland and Liechtenstein as Charity Supporting Partner at the SwissCityMarathon Lucerne. After their official run, the runners had the opportunity to run an extra mile for a good cause. A donation of 20,000 Swiss francs was raised.

Here at the check handover (from left to right): Jean-Blaise Defago, Director Policy & Communication MSD Switzerland; Kevin Ali, President MSD International, and Dr. Hans Künzle, President UNICEF Switzerland and Lichtenstein.

MSD and UNICEF

This year MSD supported UNICEF Switzerland, the Charity Partner, as Charity Supporting Partner at the SwissCityMarathon Lucerne. All runners who completed their 10, 21 and 42-kilometre distances were invited to run an Extra Mile for a good cause. At least 2,000 runners had to run the Extra Mile to achieve CHF 20,000, the amount of donation formulated by MSD.

In 2018, the donation will support the UNICEF project "Fighting malnutrition in Southern Sudan". Since 2013, the population of Southern Sudan has been suffering from ongoing civil wars resulting among others in malnutrition. Infants are particularly affected. With the help of UNICEF, malnourished children receive special therapeutic milk and special food so they can regain their strength. All donations go to UNICEF Switzerland for the benefit of children in need in Southern Sudan.

Further information:
https://www.swisscitymarathon.ch/
https://www.unicef.ch/de
https://www.msd.ch

About MSD

MSD is a leading global biopharmaceutical company which has been engaged in life science research for more than a century, developing drugs and vaccines for the most challenging diseases worldwide. MSD is a registered trademark of Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, USA. With our prescription drugs, vaccines, biological therapies, and veterinary products, we offer innovative health solutions in over 140 countries. With wide-ranging programs and partnerships, we are also committed to achieving improved access to healthcare. Today MSD is still at the forefront of research for the prevention and treatment of diseases which threaten people and society around the world, including cancer, cardiovascular diseases, new animal diseases, Alzheimer’s, and infectious diseases, including HIV and Ebola. For more information visit www.msd.com and follow us on Twitter.

MSD Human Medicine Switzerland

Switzerland is a key location for the company, which has 700 employees working there in national and international functions. The Human Medicine division in Switzerland is responsible for the distribution of prescription drugs and biopharmaceuticals in the areas of oncology, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, infectious diseases (including fungal infections, antibiotic resistance, HIV/Aids, and hepatitis C), immunology, women’s health as well as vaccines for children, young people, and adults.

MSD is active in clinical research in Switzerland, where the company provides medicines for clinical trials worldwide. Additionally, MSD is committed to raising health literacy and promoting the healthcare economy on a local level. The company is also active in Lucerne, where the MSD headquarters are located. In 2018 the company received certification as a “Top Employer” in Switzerland for the sixth year in succession, as well as the “Top Employer Europe” award for the third time.

More information is available at: www.msd.ch | Follow us on Twitter, LinkedIn and YouTube.

Press contact:
Liliane Elspass, Lead Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 34 24 / Mobile 079 235 58 90
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2018 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. All rights reserved.

CORP-1268084-0006, 11/2018

MSD a pris le départ du Swiss City Marathon de Lucerne avec la plus grande équipe d’entreprise

Lucerne, le 29 octobre 2018. Depuis 2010, l’entreprise biopharmaceutique MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG axée sur la recherche et ayant son siège à Lucerne soutient le marathon d’importance régionale autant que nationale depuis 2010. Cette année en tant que Charity Supporting Partner.

Avec tout juste 264 coureuses et coureurs de MSD issus de 36 nations, la plus grande équipe d’entreprise a pris le départ de la course. Les collaboratrices et collaborateurs avaient la possibilité de vivre cette course très originale dans une atmosphère pleine d’entrain, avec une vue à couper le souffle sur le site de MSD Suisse de Lucerne et de la laisser agir sur eux.

Un point particulièrement fort pour les collaboratrices et les collaborateurs : le parcours de la course passait directement devant l’un des quatre sites de MSD à Lucerne. La grande équipe a suscité beaucoup de réactions positives. Mais avant tout : la motivation ! C’est ainsi que toutes les coureuses et tous les coureurs de MSD ont rejoint l’arrivée. L’engagement social a apporté une motivation supplémentaire. Depuis le début, courir pour une bonne cause fait partie de l’engagement de MSD pour le Swiss City Marathon de Lucerne et pour cette raison, nos concurrentes et concurrents de MSD ont parcouru l’Extra Mile de l’UNICEF, après avoir franchi la ligne d’arrivée. Pour toutes et toutes, c’était là une expérience unique!

Lors du Swiss City Marathon de Lucerne, MSD soutient l’UNICEF Suisse et Lichtenstein en tant que Charity Supporting Partner. Après leur parcours officiel, les coureuses et les coureurs avaient la possibilité de courir un Extra-Mile pour une bonne cause. Une donation de 20’000 francs Suisse a été générée.

Ici, lors de la remise du chèque (de gauche à droite) : Jean-Blaise Defago, Directeur du Département Policy & Communications de MSD Suisse ; Kevin Ali, Président de MSD International, et Dr Hans Künzle, Président de l’UNICEF Suisse et Lichtenstein.

MSD et l’UNICEF

Cette année, MSD a soutenu l’UNICEF Suisse et Lichtenstein, le partenaire caritatif, en tant que Charity Supporting Partner du Swiss City Marathon de Lucerne. Toutes les coureuses et tous les coureurs qui ont terminé leur parcours de 10, 21, respectivement 42 kilomètres avaient la possibilité de poursuivre leur effort sur un Extra Mile, cela pour une bonne cause. Au moins 2’000 athlètes devaient effectuer l’Extra Mile pour que la donation atteigne le montant de 20’000 francs Suisse.

En 2018, la donation ira au projet de l’UNICEF « Lutte contre la malnutrition au Sud-Soudan ». Depuis 2013, la population du Sud-Soudan souffre des guerres civiles permanentes et de la malnutrition qui en résulte. Ce sont avant tout les jeunes enfants qui en sont concernés. Avec l’aide de l’UNICEF, les enfants sous-alimentés reçoivent une nutrition spécifique et des produits laitiers particuliers afin de reprendre des forces. Les dons seront entièrement attribués à l’UNICEF Suisse et Lichtenstein en faveur des enfants dans le besoin du Sud-Soudan.

Pour des informations complémentaires:
https://www.swisscitymarathon.ch/
https://www.unicef.ch/de
https://www.msd.ch

A propos de MSD:

Depuis plus d'un siècle, MSD, une compagnie biopharmaceutique mondiale de premier plan, invente pour la vie, présentant des médicaments et des vaccins destinés aux maladies qui posent le plus de défis. MSD est un nom commercial de Merck & Co., Inc., ayant son siège à Kenilworth, N.J., USA. Avec nos médicaments, nos vaccins, nos traitements biologiques et nos produits à usage vétérinaire délivrés sur ordonnance, nous travaillons avec nos clients et nous opérons dans plus de 140 pays pour apporter des solutions de santé innovatrices. Nous démontrons également notre détermination à améliorer l'accès aux soins de santé grâce à des politiques, des programmes et des partenariats d'envergure. Aujourd'hui, MSD reste aux avant-postes de la recherche pour faire avancer la prévention et le traitement de maladies menaçant les personnes et les communautés dans le monde - y compris le cancer, les affections cardio-métaboliques, les maladies animales émergentes, la maladie d'Alzheimer et les maladies infectieuses incluant le VIH et l'Ebola. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez visiter le site internet www.msd.com ou vous mettre en contact avec nous sur Twitter.

MSD Médecine humaine Suisse:

La Suisse est un site important pour l'entreprise. 700 employés et employées travaillent ici dans des fonctions nationales aussi bien qu'internationales. La division de la médecine humaine de MSD est responsable de la distribution de médicaments et de biopharmaceutiques délivrés sur ordonnance médicale dans les domaines thérapeutiques que sont les traitements antiinfectieux (incluant le VIH/SIDA, les résistances aux antibiotiques et l'hépatite C), les maladies des voies respiratoires, le diabète, la santé des femmes, les affections cardiovasculaires, l'immunologie, les maladies neurologiques, l'oncologie et la douleur de même que des vaccins pour les enfants, les adolescents et les adultes.

En Suisse, MSD est également active dans la recherche clinique et dans la production de médicaments destinés aux essais cliniques. Renforcer les compétences et l'économie en matière de santé est une autre occasion pour MSD de s'impliquer localement. C'est ainsi que MSD s'engage dans son site de Lucerne. En 2018, l'entreprise s'est vue décerner la certification «Top Employer Suisse» pour la sixième fois consécutive et celle «Top Employer Europe» pour la troisième fois.

Pour plus d'informations: www.msd.ch | Suivez-nous sur Twitter, LinkedIn et YouTube.

Contact:
Liliane Elspass, Policy & Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 34 24 / Mobile 079 235 58 90
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2018 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Lucerne. Tous droits réservés.

CORP-1268084-0006, 11/2018