MSD as “Top Employer Switzerland 2017” and “Top Employer Europe 2017”

Lucerne, 24th May 2017 - The Top Employer label is given to companies that meet the highest standards in HR management and stand out as attractive employers. For the fifth time in succession the biopharmaceutical research company MSD, which is developing drugs and vaccines, has been awarded the label “Top Employer Switzerland” and for the second time also the label “Top Employer Europe.”

The Top Employer Institute has been giving awards to companies from a wide range of industries worldwide every year since 1991. The analysis process is multi-stage and lasts approximatively six months. Then the audit firm Grant Thornton examines the data. Crucial factors for gaining the “Top Employer” award include aboveaverage ratings under the headings Human Resource Management, Remuneration and Social Security, Career Opportunities, Working Conditions, Education and Training, and Corporate Culture. Only those companies with above-average performance in all these areas are awarded the "Top Employer” quality label.

Important for MSD from several perspectives

“We are really delighted to receive the award again in both categories. It is an important indicator both internally to our 600 employees at the four sites in the Lucerne region and externally to future potential employees. Switzerland is an important location for the research and development-oriented company. Over 50 nations are represented here. We consider diversity and interdisciplinary collaboration to be key elements of our success. Our corporate culture is molded to a large extent by the exchange of ideas across divisional and functional boundaries. This helps us to take new approaches and promotes innovative working.” Thomas Lang, Managing Director MSD Switzerland

“The Top Employer Award confirms our high standards in terms of the attractive working conditions that we want to offer our employees. It shows that once again we meet the requirements to be classed as a ‘Top Employer.’ In addition to a wide range of education and training options and an advanced system of performance recognition, our multi-faceted offering includes attractive national and international development opportunities within the global Group.” Kathrin Gilly, Director HR Switzerland and Austria.

“With our team of over 250 scientists, engineers, technicians, and process specialists at Schachen near Lucerne in Switzerland, we are part of the global MSD research and development network. For example, from here we developed in recent years a biological immuno-oncology therapy which is now used worldwide for patients with various serious forms of cancer. Development is continuing and we need equally highly qualified and well-motivated employees for the manufacture, analysis and packaging of these new medications, as well as for many other activities at our site. The ‘Top Employer’ award helps us to make our attractive opportunities more widely known.” Peter Hofstetter, Site Head Werthenstein GmbH.

A total of 16 companies were certified in Switzerland in 2017. The “Top Employer Europe” label also underlines the strong performance of MSD in comparison with other European employers.

For more information visit: www.msd.ch

Press contact:
Liliane Elspass-Elsener, Communications Lead, Policy & Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 34 24 / Mobile +41 79 235 58 90
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2017 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. All rights reserved.

CORP-1219036-0000, May 2017

MSD en tant que «Top Employer Suisse 2017» et «Top Employer Europe 2017»

Lucerne, 24 mai 2017 - Le label «Top Employer» est décerné à des entreprises dont la gestion des ressources humaines correspond aux standards les plus élevés et qui se distinguent en tant qu'employeurs attractifs. Pour la cinquième fois consécutive, la compagnie biopharmaceutique MSD axée sur la recherche des médicaments et des vaccins a été certifiée avec le label «Top employeur Suisse» ainsi qu'avec le label «Top employeur Europe» pour la deuxième fois.

Depuis 1991, l'institut «Top Employer» met à l'honneur des entreprises de différentes branches partout dans le monde. Le processus d'analyse comporte plusieurs niveaux et s'étend sur environ six mois. La société d'audit Grant Thornton examine ensuite les résultats recueillis. Des valeurs au-dessus de la moyenne dans les domaines que sont la gestion des ressources humaines, les perspectives de carrière, les conditions de travail, la rémunération et les prestations sociales, la formation et la formation continue ainsi que la culture d'entreprise sont déterminantes pour l'attribution du label «Top Employer». Seules les entreprises qui obtiennent des résultats supérieurs à la moyenne dans tous les domaines sont récompensées par ce label de qualité.

Important pour MSD dans diverses perspectives

«La distinction renouvelée dans les deux catégories nous réjouit énormément. C'est un signe important donné à l'interne, vis-à-vis de nos 600 employées et employés des quatre sites de l'agglomération lucernoise, et à l'externe, vers les futurs employés potentiels. La Suisse est un site important pour la société axée sur la recherche et le développement. Plus de 50 pays sont représentés ici. Nous considérons la diversité et la collaboration interdisciplinaire comme des éléments clés de notre succès. Les échanges intensifs dépassant les frontières des divisions et des fonctions façonnent notre culture d'entreprise dans une large mesure.» Thomas Lang, Managing Director, MSD Suisse

«S'agissant des conditions cadre attrayantes que nous voulons offrir à nos collaboratrices et nos collaborateurs, la distinction «Top Employer» confirme nos attentes élevées. Elle montre que nous avons répondu une fois de plus aux exigences définissant le label «Top Employer». A côté de notre offre étendue de formations et de formations continues, nous proposons d'attrayantes possibilités de développement au niveau national aussi bien qu'international et de reconnaissances des performances avancées au sein du groupe mondial». Kathrin Gilly, Director HR Suisse et Autriche.

«En Suisse, notre équipe composée de plus de 250 scientifiques, ingénieurs, techniciens et spécialistes s'active sur le site de Schachen dans le canton de Lucerne et elle fait partie du réseau mondial de recherche et de développement de MSD. De là, nous avons développé par exemple ces dernières années un biologique immuno-oncologique utilisé aujourd'hui chez les patients atteints de diverses formes de cancers graves. Le développement se poursuit et pour la production, l'analyse et le conditionnement de ces nouveaux médicaments de même que pour de nombreuses autres activités sur notre site, nous avons besoin de collaboratrices et de collaborateurs hautement qualifiés et motivés. La distinction «Top Employer» nous aide à promouvoir nos possibilités attractives ». Peter Hanson, Directeur du site Werthenstein GmbH.

En 2017, 16 entreprises ont été certifiées en Suisse. Le label «Top employeur Europe» souligne la forte performance de MSD en comparaison européenne.

Pour plus d'informations: www.msd.ch

Contact:
Dr. Angelika März, Director Policy & Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 35 18 / Mobile 079 378 02 47
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2017 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. Tous droits réservés.

CORP-1219036-0000, May 2017