MSD supports World IBD Day

Lucerne, May 15, 2018 - Saturday May 19 is World IBD Day. It aims to support an increase in global understanding and awareness amongst the public for people with chronic inflammatory bowel diseases. In Switzerland, World IBD Day is being coordinated by the Swiss Morbus Crohn/Ulcerative Colitis Society (SMCCV). Already for the second time, MSD is supporting activities in Switzerland as official partner.

IBD (inflammatory bowel diseases) refers to continuous inflammatory diseases of the bowel.1 The two most common manifestations are Morbus Crohn and ulcerative colitis.1 More than 25,000 people in Switzerland are affected by it.2 The introduction of biological drugs in recent years has achieved great advances in the treatment of IBD patients.3 Nevertheless, there is no cure for Morbus Crohn and ulcerative colitis and the psychological strain on patients is often still very high2. Symptoms such as blood in the stools, diarrhea and tiredness make it hard for patients to live a normal life2.

Education and raising awareness on May 19 in Solothurn

On the occasion of world IBD day on May 19, the Swiss Morbus Crohn/Ulcerative Colitis Society (SMCCV) is this year once again taking a strong, symbolically purple, stand for people in Switzerland affected by chronic inflammatory bowel diseases. From 9:00 to 4:00 PM, visitors to the Solothurn country house will find out a lot of worthwhile information on this subject. In addition to exciting specialist talks by renowned speakers, there will also be a photo wall with a purple ribbon and a view into the largest model of a bowel in Europe. Above all, World IBD Day also gives the opportunity to those affected by the condition to meet each other and talk amongst themselves.

MSDs commitment to the fight against IBD

For years, MSD has been highly committed to researching new and improved treatment options for IBD patients. To develop innovative solutions that contribute towards the improved health of patients in Switzerland, MSD is continuously searching for cooperation opportunities. An example of the result of such a successful cooperation is IBDialog monthly: a practical app which gives patients in Switzerland with chronic inflammatory bowel diseases and their gastroenterologists a continuous overview of their course of treatment. It was developed by leading gastroenterologists from IBDnet and the patient organization SMCCV in close cooperation with MSD.

References

1 https://www.purpleribbon.ch/was-ist-ced (last access 5/10/2018)

2 http://www.smccv.ch (last access 5/10/2018)

3 Cote-Daigneault J et al "Biologics in inflammatory bowel disease: what are the data? United European Gastroenterology Journal 2015, Vol. 3(5) 419–428

About MSD

MSD is a leading global biopharmaceutical company which has been engaged in life science research for more than a century, developing drugs and vaccines for the most challenging diseases worldwide. MSD is a registered trademark of Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, USA. With our prescription drugs, vaccines, biological therapies, and veterinary products, we offer innovative health solutions in over 140 countries. With wide-ranging programs and partnerships, we are also committed to achieving improved access to healthcare. Today MSD is still at the forefront of research for the prevention and treatment of diseases which threaten people and society around the world, including cancer, cardiovascular diseases, new animal diseases, Alzheimer’s, and infectious diseases, including HIV and Ebola. For more information visit www.msd.com and follow us on Twitter.

MSD Human Medicine Switzerland

Switzerland is a key location for the company, which has 600 employees working there in national and international functions. The Human Medicine division in Switzerland is responsible for the distribution of prescription drugs and biopharmaceuticals in the areas of oncology, diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, infectious diseases (including anti-fungal, antibiotic resistance, HIV/Aids, and hepatitis C), immunology, women’s health as well as vaccines for children, young people, and adults.

MSD is active in clinical research in Switzerland, where the company provides medicines for clinical trials worldwide. Additionally, MSD is committed to raising health literacy and promoting the healthcare economy on a local level. The firm is also active in Lucerne, where the MSD headquarters are located. In 2018 the company received certification as a “Top Employer” in Switzerland for the sixth year in succession, as well as the “Top Employer Europe” award for the third time.

More information is available at: www.msd.ch

Press contact:
Dr. Angelika März, Director Policy & Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 35 18 / Mobile 079 378 02 47
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2018 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. All rights reserved.

CORP-1249067-0001, May 2018

MSD soutient la Journée Mondiale des MICI

Lucerne, le 15 mai 2018 – Le samedi 19 mai aura lieu la Journée Mondiale des MICI. Elle doit favoriser la compréhension et attirer l’attention du grand public sur les personnes atteintes de maladies inflammatoires chroniques de l’intestin (MICI). En Suisse, la Journée Mondiale des MICI est coordonnée par l’Association Suisse de la Maladie de Crohn et Colite ulcéreuse (ASMCC). MSD Suisse soutient les activités pour la deuxième fois déjà en tant que partenaire officiel.

En anglais, MICI se traduit par IBD (inflammatory bowel diseases) et l’abréviation désigne des maladies inflammatoires récidivantes ou permanentes de l’intestin.1 Les deux formes les plus fréquentes sont la maladie de Crohn et la colite ulcéreuse.1 En Suisse, plus de 25’000 personnes en sont concernées.2 Ces dernières années, avec l’introduction de médicaments biologiques, de grands progrès ont été accomplis dans le traitement des patients atteints de MICI.3 Cependant, la maladie de Crohn et la colite ulcéreuse ne peuvent toujours pas être guéries et les souffrances des patients sont souvent encore très importantes.2 Les symptômes tels que du sang dans les selles, des diarrhées, des troubles abdominaux et de la fatigue affectent les patients pour qui il est difficile de mener une vie quotidienne normale.2

Informations et sensibilisation le 19 mai à Soleure

Cette année aussi, à l’occasion de la Journée Mondiale des MICI du 19 mai, l’Association suisse de la Maladie de Crohn et Colite ulcéreuse (ASMCC) donne un signal fort de couleur pourpre en faveur des personnes concernées par les maladies inflammatoires chroniques de l’intestin en Suisse. Entre 09h00 et 16h00, les visiteuses et les visiteurs du Landhaus de Soleure pourront obtenir beaucoup d’informations précieuses sur ce sujet. En marge des exposés passionnants d’orateurs reconnus, une paroi photographique ornée d’un ruban pourpre et la plus grande maquette d’intestin d‘Europe que les visiteurs pourront découvrir de l’intérieur seront présentées. La Journée mondiale des MICI offre aux personnes concernées la possibilité de se rencontrer pour parler et échanger.

L’engagement de MSD dans la lutte contre les MICI

MSD s’engage depuis des années avec beaucoup de dévouement en faveur de la recherche de nouvelles possibilités thérapeutiques et de l’amélioration des options thérapeutiques existantes des MICI. Pour développer des solutions innovantes contribuant à améliorer la santé des patients en Suisse, MSD cherche en permanence des possibilités de collaboration partenariale. Le résultat d’une telle coopération couronnée de succès est, par exemple, IBDialog monthly : une App pratique qui permet aux patients souffrant de maladies inflammatoires chroniques de l’intestin et à leurs gastro-entérologues en Suisse d’avoir un aperçu continu de l’évolution du traitement. Elle a été développée par des gastro-entérologues reconnus d’IBDnet et l’organisation de patients ASMCC, en étroite collaboration avec MSD.

Références

1 https://www.purpleribbon.ch/was-ist-ced (dernier accès le 10.05.2018)

2 http://www.smccv.ch (dernier accès le 10.05.2018)

3 Cote-Daigneault J et al "Biologics in inflammatory bowel disease: what are the data? United European Gastroenterology Journal 2015, Vol. 3(5) 419–428

A propos de MSD:

Depuis plus d'un siècle, MSD, une compagnie biopharmaceutique mondiale de premier plan, invente pour la vie, présentant des médicaments et des vaccins destinés aux maladies qui posent le plus de défis. MSD est un nom commercial de Merck & Co., Inc., ayant son siège à Kenilworth, N.J., USA. Avec nos médicaments, nos vaccins, nos traitements biologiques et nos produits à usage vétérinaire délivrés sur ordonnance, nous travaillons avec nos clients et nous opérons dans plus de 140 pays pour apporter des solutions de santé innovatrices. Nous démontrons également notre détermination à améliorer l'accès aux soins de santé grâce à des politiques, des programmes et des partenariats d'envergure. Aujourd'hui, MSD reste aux avant-postes de la recherche pour faire avancer la prévention et le traitement de maladies menaçant les personnes et les communautés dans le monde - y compris le cancer, les affections cardio-métaboliques, les maladies animales émergentes, la maladie d'Alzheimer et les maladies infectieuses incluant le VIH et l'Ebola. Pour plus d'informations, veuillez visiter le site internet www.msd.com ou vous mettre en contact avec nous sur Twitter.

MSD Médecine humaine Suisse:

La Suisse est un site important pour l'entreprise. 700 employés et employées travaillent ici dans des fonctions nationales aussi bien qu'internationales. La division de la médecine humaine de MSD est responsable de la distribution de médicaments et de biopharmaceutiques délivrés sur ordonnance médicale dans les domaines thérapeutiques que sont les traitements antiinfectieux (incluant le VIH/SIDA, les résistances aux antibiotiques et l'hépatite C), les maladies des voies respiratoires, le diabète, la santé des femmes, les affections cardiovasculaires, l'immunologie, les maladies neurologiques, l'oncologie et la douleur de même que des vaccins pour les enfants, les adolescents et les adultes.

En Suisse, MSD est également active dans la recherche clinique et dans la production de médicaments destinés aux essais cliniques. Renforcer les compétences et l'économie en matière de santé est une autre occasion pour MSD de s'impliquer localement. C'est ainsi que MSD s'engage dans son site de Lucerne. En 2018, l'entreprise s'est vue décerner la certification «Top Employer Suisse» pour la sixième fois consécutive et celle «Top Employer Europe» pour la troisième fois.

Pour plus d'informations: www.msd.ch

Contact:
Dr. Angelika März, Director Policy & Communications
MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG
Tel. +41 58 618 35 18 / Mobile 079 378 02 47
media.switzerland@merck.com

© 2018 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. Tous droits réservés.

CORP-1249067-0001, May 2018