A blog post by Laura Luchini: Continuing our momentum in Zurich

“Coming together is a beginning; keeping together is progress; working together is success.” This quote from American businessman Henry Ford has long inspired me.

Laura Luchini, Associate vice President, EMEA Regional Head, Global Clinical Trial Operations

For the past 25 years, I’ve taken my career in many directions – all in a quest to enhance my experiences, broaden my skillsets and deepen my connections. Today, I’m proud to be in a role that means a lot to me: I am coordinating the set-up of MSD’s new global innovation and development hub in Zurich. The new Hub is yet another example of MSD’s steadfast, unparalleled commitment to science, and supports our mission of saving and improving lives. I’m enormously honored to be part of it.

What excites me most about Zurich Hub is the opportunity to build something that hasn’t been there before. The Zurich Hub is unique in that it’s focused on accelerating the development and marketing of MSD’s life-saving medicines and vaccines, thereby representing the entire value chain from a product concept to patient access.

As you may know, plans for the Zurich Hub were announced back in January, with a target of 2021 for operational readiness. Thanks to a very dedicated team, much of the groundwork has been laid, and despite the COVID-19 pandemic, we are still on track. I look forward to continuing the momentum established thus far and bringing my experiences and perspectives to the set-up of the Hub. A key focus of mine will be on collaboration. I believe we can only be successful by truly collaborating, building the right mindset and ensuring our people truly understand the impact of their contributions on our common goal. This will enable us to accelerate our innovative work even further dissolving the traditional boundaries between development and marketing.

And, that brings me to my final thought: our people. I’ve always believed that our company’s most important asset is our people. Our ambition for the Zurich Hub is big and can only be accomplished by a brilliant team of people who bring to the table a diverse set of backgrounds and experiences. I truly believe this diversity will make us strong! More than 100 people have been onboarded so far, and we look forward to welcoming future team members who are also driven by our company’s mission to save and improve people`s lives.

I’m confident the Zurich Hub will contribute to MSD’s future success and to the lives of people all over the world who rely on our products. I look forward to seeing what the future holds!


CH-NON-00885, 11/20

Un blogpost de Laura Luchini: Poursuite de notre croissance dynamique à Zurich

«Se réunir est un début ; rester ensemble est un progrès ; travailler ensemble est un succès.» Cette citation de l’homme d’affaires américain Henry Ford m’a inspiré longtemps.

Laura Luchini, Associate vice President, EMEA Regional Head, Global Clinical Trial Operations

Au cours des 25 dernières années, j’ai orienté ma carrière dans de nombreuses directions, tout cela pour améliorer mon expérience, élargir mes compétences et approfondir mes relations. Aujourd'hui, je suis fier d'occuper un rôle qui me tient à cœur : Je coordonne la mise en place du nouveau pôle mondial d’Innovation et Développement de MSD à Zurich. Ce nouveau pôle est un autre exemple de l’engagement constant et inégalé de MSD en faveur de la science, et soutient notre mission de sauver et d’améliorer des vies. Je suis très honorée d’y participer.

Ce qui me passionne le plus au sujet du pôle de Zurich est la possibilité de construire quelque chose qui n’existait pas auparavant. Le pôle de Zurich est unique en ce sens qu’il se concentre sur l’accélération du développement et de la commercialisation des médicaments et vaccins vitaux de MSD, représentant ainsi toute la chaîne de valeur, de la conception des produits jusqu’à l’accès des patients.

Comme vous le savez peut-être, les plans du pôle Zurich ont été annoncés en janvier, avec un objectif de disponibilité opérationnelle pour 2021. Grâce à une équipe très dévouée, une grande partie du travail préparatoire a été effectuée, et malgré la pandémie de COVID-19, nous sommes toujours opérationnels. J’attends avec impatience de poursuivre la dynamique établie jusqu’à présent et d’apporter mon expérience et mes perspectives à la mise en place du pôle. L’un de mes principaux axes sera sur la collaboration. Je pense que nous ne pouvons réussir qu’en collaborant réellement, en instaurant un état d’esprit approprié et en veillant à ce que nos collaborateurs comprennent réellement l’impact de leurs contributions sur notre objectif commun. Cela nous permettra d’accélérer notre travail d’innovation en dissolvant les frontières traditionnelles entre le développement et le marketing.

Et cela m'amène à mon dernier point : nos employés. J'ai toujours pensé que l'atout le plus important de notre entreprise est notre personnel. Notre ambition pour le pôle de Zurich est grande et ne peut être réalisée que par une brillante équipe de personnes qui apportent un ensemble diversifié d’antécédents et d’expériences. Je crois sincèrement que cette diversité nous rendra forts ! Plus de 100 personnes ont été engagées jusqu’à présent, et nous sommes impatients d’accueillir des futurs membres de l’équipe qui sont également motivés par la mission de notre entreprise : sauver et améliorer la vie des gens.

Je suis convaincue que le pôle de Zurich contribuera au succès futur de MSD et à la vie des personnes qui, partout dans le monde, comptent sur nos produits. J’attends avec impatience de voir ce que l’avenir nous réserve!


CH-NON-00885, 11/20