Hero image

Oncology

We’re working to invent a world where cancer isn’t just treated, but cured.

Our mission is to deliver breakthrough innovations that extend and improve the lives of people with cancer

We work to prevent cancer where we can and give oncologists more treatment options for their cancer patients that lead to a better quality of life and more time.

Everyone knows someone who has been touched by cancer. When a cancer diagnosis happens, what matters most isn’t what the next scientific breakthrough is – but when it will be available to patients in Switzerland.

Our work in oncology

31

clinical trials involving our cancer medicines in Switzerland (as of 11/2021).

~500

patients currently enrolled in our clinical trials in Switzerland and round about 250 patients are actively on study drug (as of 11/2021).

11

different types of cancer are being studied in our clinical trials Switzerland (as of 11/2021).

Our focus

Our company has a long history of bringing forward innovative medicines. In the field of oncology, we focus on immunotherapy, which aims to activate the body's own immune system to fight the tumor. Our relentless commitment to research and development has enabled us to establish an exceptionally broad research program with more than 1'600 studies. Switzerland is part of this program, currently conducting 31 clinical trials in 11 different tumor types (as of 11/2021). Today, our portfolio includes oncology medicines that treat different cancers and conditions related to cancer treatment.

Access to care

Improving access to cancer care is our strategic priority. We are working with the entire cancer community to help patients gain access to the oncology medicines that they need and to expand the provision of quality cancer care.

The Swiss Oncology team is

  • collaborating with authorities and institutions to ensure access to our medicines
  • working on solutions how to continuously improve the support of healthcare professionals and patients in the treatment of cancer
  • interacting with Oncologists, Scientific leaders and patient organizations to gain insight into market and customer needs.

Progress through partnerships

We work with the entire cancer community - advocacy partners, health care providers, government and industry colleagues - all who share our mission to extend and improve the lives of people with cancer.

Our team has engaged in collaborative efforts to raise the awareness of cancer and improve its prevention, including the creation of regular platforms for stakeholder to advance health policy discussions around cancer care. Furthermore we are a founding member of the multi-stakeholder alliance “All.Can” which aims to exploit efficiency in cancer care.

We participate in several initiatives to support patients with cancer. These include:

  • a website for disease management
  • campaigns to educate the public about early signs and detection
  • a partnership to improve sustainable cancer care all-can.org.

MSD is one of the world 's leading companies in oncology. Visionary research and collaborative action have already led to breakthroughs for the prevention and treatment of certain types of cancer and we're committed to driving further innovation to help change the future of this disease.

Will Wooding

Business Unit Director Oncology · MSD Switzerland

Previous
Next

It takes all of us to beat cancer

As long as doctors are desperate to add years to the lives of their patients, and a world where treatments aren’t accessible to all, we will be here: fighting with all we have to deliver more, sooner.

Clinical studies are the key to gaining new knowledge about the diagnosis and treatment of diseases.

We’re proud to be contributing to this effort in Switzerland.

The ongoing clinical study program in Switzerland includes 31 studies in various cancers (as of 11/2021).

CH-NON-00473, 11/2021

Hero image

Oncologie

Nous travaillons à inventer un monde où le cancer n’est pas seulement traité, mais guéri.

Notre mission est de proposer de nouvelles innovations qui prolongent et améliorent la vie des personnes atteintes de cancer.

Nous travaillons à la prévention du cancer grâce à des vaccins préventifs et à la fourniture aux oncologues d’options de traitement qui offrent à leurs patients une meilleure qualité de vie et plus de temps.

Chacun de nous connaît une personne qui a été touché par le cancer. Lorsqu’un diagnostic de cancer est posé, le plus important n’est pas de savoir quelle sera la prochaine percée scientifique, mais quand elle sera disponible pour les patients en Suisse.

Notre travail en oncologie

31

essais cliniques concernant nos médicaments anti-cancer en Suisse (en 11/2021).

~500

patients sont actuellement inscrits dans nos essais cliniques en Suisse et environ 250 patients sont activement sous traitement avec le médicament à l'étude (en 11/2021).

11

types de cancer différents sont analysés dans nos études cliniques en Suisse (en 11/2021).

Notre objectif

Notre entreprise a une longue histoire de développement de médicaments innovants. Dans le domaine de l'oncologie, nous nous concentrons sur l’immunothérapie, qui vise à activer le propre système immunitaire de l’organisme pour combattre la tumeur. Notre engagement continu à l’égard de la recherche et du développement nous a permis d’établir un programme de recherche exceptionnellement vaste, comprenant plus de 1'600 études. La Suisse fait partie de ce programme, et mène actuellement 31 études cliniques sur 11 types de tumeurs différents (en 11/2021). Aujourd’hui, notre portefeuille comprend les médicaments oncologiques qui traitent différents cancers et pathologies liées au traitement du cancer.

Accès aux soins

Améliorer l’accès aux soins contre le cancer est notre priorité stratégique. Nous travaillons avec l’ensemble des experts en oncologie pour aider les patients à avoir accès aux médicaments oncologiques dont ils ont besoin et pour étendre l’offre de soins de qualité contre le cancer.

L’équipe suisse d’oncologie

  • collabore avec les autorités et les institutions afin de garantir l’accès à nos médicaments,
  • travaille sur des solutions visant à améliorer continuellement le soutien aux médecins et aux patients dans le traitement du cancer,
  • interagit avec les oncologues, les sommités scientifiques et les organisations de patients pour avoir un aperçu du marché et des besoins des clients.

Des progrès grâce aux partenariats

Nous travaillons avec l'ensemble de la communauté du cancer (partenaires de défense, prestataires de soins de santé, collègues du gouvernement et de l'industrie) qui partagent tous notre ambition de prolonger et d'améliorer la vie des personnes atteintes de cancer.

Notre équipe s'est engagée dans des actions de collaboration visant à sensibiliser au cancer et à améliorer sa prévention, notamment par la création de plateformes régulières pour les parties prenantes afin de faire avancer les discussions sur la politique de santé autour des soins du cancer. En outre, nous sommes un membre fondateur de l'alliance multipartite « All.Can », qui vise à exploiter l'efficacité des soins contre le cancer.

Nous participons à plusieurs initiatives visant à soutenir les patients atteints de cancer. Celles-ci comprennent:

  • un site Internet pour la prise en charge de la maladie
  • des campagnes visant à sensibiliser le public sur les signes précoces et la détection
  • un partenariat pour améliorer la prise en charge durable du cancer all-can.org

MSD est l'une des principales entreprises mondiales dans le domaine de l'oncologie. Une recherche visionnaire et une action concertée ont déjà permis de réaliser des percées dans la prévention et le traitement de certains types de cancer, et nous sommes déterminés à encourager d’autres innovations pour contribuer à changer l’avenir de cette maladie.

Will Wooding

Director Business Unit Oncology · MSD Suisse

Previous
Next

Tous ensemble pour vaincre le cancer

Tant que des médecins prêts à tout pour prolonger la vie de leurs patients, et que les traitements ne seront pas accessibles à tous dans le monde, nous serons là: nous nous battrons avec tout ce que nous avons pour offrir plus, plus vite.

Les études cliniques sont la clé des nouvelles connaissances en termes de diagnostic et de traitement des maladies.

Nous sommes fiers d’y contribuer en Suisse. Le programme d’études cliniques en cours en Suisse comprend 31 études sur divers cancers (en 11/2021).

CH-NON-00473, 11/2021