Hero image

Infectious diseases

We play an important role in discovering and developing innovative medicines and vaccines to treat and prevent infectious diseases, including HIV and Ebola.

Our decades of research in infectious diseases have led to profound scientific advances

We’ve been combating global health threats caused by infectious diseases for more than a century. From developing one of the first antibiotics to pioneering research in HIV science, our focus has always been on the prevention and treatment of diseases that threaten people and communities around the world. But our work is far from done.

Our work in infectious diseases

35

years committed to research to help combat the challenges of the HIV epidemic

1942

the year we began producing penicillin "G"

40+

investigator-initiated antimicrobial stewardship programs funded across the globe

HIV

Our legacy in innovative HIV science continues

We remember when HIV was one of society's most daunting challenges, when millions of people lost their lives to the devastating AIDS epidemic. Our scientists embarked on an urgent mission to unravel and understand the virus, which led to groundbreaking research in HIV. We are still driven to do more. We are pushing the boundaries of HIV science because unmet medical need still endures. Eradication of the virus is our ultimate goal.

CMV

Prophylaxis of CMV infection

Cytomegalovirus (CMV)-associated disease is still one of the most essential threats for patients after allogeneic bone marrow transplantation. CMV infection should therefore be prevented in these patients. At MSD, we are committed to drive forward prophylaxis of CMV infection

Antibiotics

Continuing research and striving for improvements in the use of antibiotics

MSD has remained committed to antibiotic research over 80 years and brought forward new treatments each decade. We continue to invest in the research of antibiotics to address the unmet needs of patients.

Ebola

 Joining a partnership to combat a deadly virus

Since the emergence of the Ebola virus in 1976, periodic outbreaks have been a global health challenge. We are proud to be part of the global public-private partnership that has united government, industry, community groups, scientists, health care workers and ordinary people, to come together to help fight this deadly disease.

COVID-19

Our response to COVID-19

As a company dedicated to saving and improving lives, we have a special responsibility to help in the fight against COVID-19. We’ve been fully committed to developing an effective response to the COVID-19 pandemic since it was first recognized.

Learn more about our response to COVID-19

CDI

Prophylaxis of CDI infection

Cases of Clostridium difficile (CDI) infections have increased worldwide. The bacterium causes severe diarrhea and colitis (an inflammation of the colon) and is mainly transmitted during hospital stays. Patients who have had a Clostridium difficile infection are at high risk of getting it again. One in 6 people who’ve had a CDI infection will get it again in the subsequent 2-8 weeks. At MSD, we are committed to prevent recurrence of CDI infections.

Vaccines

Vaccines

Vaccines are one of the greatest public health success stories – and we’ve been discovering, developing and delivering vaccines to help prevent disease for over 100 years.

Our work in vaccines

Preventing and treating infectious diseases is part of our core mission. We’re committed to taking multiple approaches to combat this important issue.

Ece Bayrak

Director Business Unit Hospital Acute Care · MSD Switzerland

Previous
Next

The people and programs that are helping to combat infectious diseases

Explore the ways we are focusing our efforts on research in infectious disease in our stories.

CH-NON-01221, 06/2021

Hero image

Maladies infectieuses

Nous jouons un rôle important dans la découverte et le développement de médicaments et de vaccins innovants pour traiter et prévenir les maladies infectieuses, notamment le VIH et Ebola.

Nos décennies de recherche dans le domaine des maladies infectieuses sont à l´origine de grandes avancées scientifiques

Depuis plus d’un siècle, nous luttons contre les menaces sanitaires mondiales liées aux maladies infectieuses. Du développement de l’un des premiers antibiotiques à la recherche pionnière dans le domaine du VIH, nous nous sommes toujours engagés dans la prévention et le traitement des maladies qui menacent les personnes et les communautés du monde entier. Mais notre travail est loin d’être terminé.

Notre travail sur les maladies infectieuses

35

ans d'engagement dans la recherche pour aider à répondre aux défis posés par l'épidémie de VIH

1942

l'année où nous avons lancé la production de pénicilline «G»

40+

programmes de gestion des antimicrobiens à l'initiative de chercheurs financés dans le monde entier

VIH

Notre héritage en matière d'innovations scientifiques sur le VIH se poursuit

Nous nous souvenons de l'époque où le VIH était l'un des défis les plus redoutables de la société, où des millions de personnes perdaient la vie à cause de l'épidémie dévastatrice du SIDA. Nos scientifiques se sont lancés dans une mission urgente pour démêler et comprendre le virus, ce qui a conduit à des recherches révolutionnaires sur le VIH. Nous sommes toujours prêts à en faire plus. Nous repoussons les limites de la science du VIH car des besoins médicaux non satisfaits subsistent. L'éradication du virus est notre objectif ultime.

CMV

Prophylaxie de l'infection au CMV

La maladie associée au cytomégalovirus (CMV) reste l'une des menaces les plus importantes pour les patients ayant subi une greffe de moelle osseuse allogénique. Il convient donc de prévenir l'infection à CMV chez ces patients. Chez MSD, nous nous sommes engagés à faire progresser la prophylaxie de l'infection par CMV.

Antibiotiques

Poursuivre la recherche et s'efforcer d'améliorer l'utilisation des antibiotiques

MSD est engagée dans la recherche sur les antibiotiques depuis plus de 80 ans et a proposé de nouveaux traitements chaque décennie. Nous continuons à investir dans la recherche d'antibiotiques pour répondre aux besoins non satisfaits des patients.

Ebola

Rejoindre un partenariat pour lutter contre un virus mortel

Depuis l'apparition du virus Ebola en 1976, les épidémies périodiques constituent un défi pour la santé mondiale. Nous sommes fiers de faire partie du partenariat mondial public-privé qui unit les gouvernements, l'industrie, les groupes communautaires, les scientifiques, les travailleurs de la santé et les gens ordinaires, afin de s'unir pour aider à combattre cette maladie mortelle.

COVID-19

Notre réponse à la COVID-19

Forts de notre ambition de sauver et d'améliorer des vies, nous avons une responsabilité particulière dans la lutte contre la COVID-19. Nous nous sommes pleinement engagés à développer une réponse efficace à la pandémie de COVID-19 depuis sa découverte.

En savoir plus sur notre réponse à la COVID-19

CDI

Prophylaxie de l'infection au CDI

Les cas d'infections au Clostridium difficile (CDI) ont augmenté dans le monde entier. Cette bactérie, qui provoque de graves diarrhées et des colites (une inflammation du côlon), se transmet principalement lors de séjours à l'hôpital. Les patients qui ont déjà eu une infection à Clostridium difficile courent un risque élevé de la contracter à nouveau. Une personne sur 6 ayant souffert du C. Diff rechutera dans les 2 à 8 semaines qui suivent. Chez MSD, nous nous sommes engagés à prévenir la récurrence des infections à Clostridium difficile.

Vaccins

Vaccins

Les vaccins sont l'une des plus grandes réussites en matière de santé publique. Cela fait plus de 100 ans que nous créons, développons et fournissons des vaccins pour aider à prévenir les maladies.

Notre travail sur les vaccins

La prévention et le traitement des maladies infectieuses est une partie essentielle de notre mission. Nous sommes déterminés à adopter différentes approches pour lutter contre ce problème grave.

Ece Bayrak

Director Business Unit Hospital Acute Care · MSD Suisse

Previous
Next

Les personnes et les programmes qui contribuent à la lutte contre les maladies infectieuses

Découvrez dans nos stories comment nous concentrons nos efforts sur la recherche dans le domaine des maladies infectieuses.

CH-NON-01221, 06/2021