Hero image

Infectious diseases

We play an important role in discovering and developing innovative medicines and vaccines to treat and prevent infectious diseases, including HIV and Ebola.

Our decades of research in infectious diseases have led to profound scientific advances

We’ve been combating global health threats caused by infectious diseases for more than a century. From developing one of the first antibiotics to pioneering research in HIV science, our focus has always been on the prevention and treatment of diseases that threaten people and communities around the world. But our work is far from done.

Our work in infectious diseases

35

years committed to research to help combat the challenges of the HIV epidemic

1942

the year we began producing penicillin "G"

40+

investigator-initiated antimicrobial stewardship programs funded across the globe

HIV

Our legacy in innovative HIV science continues

We remember when HIV was one of society's most daunting challenges, when millions of people lost their lives to the devastating AIDS epidemic. Our scientists embarked on an urgent mission to unravel and understand the virus, which led to groundbreaking research in HIV. We are still driven to do more. We are pushing the boundaries of HIV science because unmet medical need still endures. Eradication of the virus is our ultimate goal.

CMV

Prophylaxis of CMV infection

Cytomegalovirus (CMV)-associated disease is still one of the most essential threats for patients after allogeneic bone marrow transplantation. CMV infection should therefore be prevented in these patients. At MSD, we are committed to drive forward prophylaxis of CMV infection

Antibiotics

Continuing research and striving for improvements in the use of antibiotics

MSD has remained committed to antibiotic research over 80 years and brought forward new treatments each decade. We continue to invest in the research of antibiotics to address the unmet needs of patients.

Ebola

 Joining a partnership to combat a deadly virus

Since the emergence of the Ebola virus in 1976, periodic outbreaks have been a global health challenge. We are proud to be part of the global public-private partnership that has united government, industry, community groups, scientists, health care workers and ordinary people, to come together to help fight this deadly disease.

COVID-19

Our response to COVID-19

As a company dedicated to saving and improving lives, we have a special responsibility to help in the fight against COVID-19. We’ve been fully committed to developing an effective response to the COVID-19 pandemic since it was first recognized.

Learn more about our response to COVID-19

CDI

Prophylaxis of CDI infection

Cases of Clostridium difficile (CDI) infections have increased worldwide. The bacterium causes severe diarrhea and colitis (an inflammation of the colon) and is mainly transmitted during hospital stays. Patients who have had a Clostridium difficile infection are at high risk of getting it again. One in 6 people who’ve had a CDI infection will get it again in the subsequent 2-8 weeks. At MSD, we are committed to prevent recurrence of CDI infections.

Vaccines

Vaccines

Vaccines are one of the greatest public health success stories – and we’ve been discovering, developing and delivering vaccines to help prevent disease for over 100 years.

Our work in vaccines

Preventing and treating infectious diseases is part of our core mission. We’re committed to taking multiple approaches to combat this important issue.

Ece Bayrak

Director Business Unit Hospital Acute Care · MSD Switzerland

Previous
Next

The people and programs that are helping to combat infectious diseases

Explore the ways we are focusing our efforts on research in infectious disease in our stories.

CH-NON-01221, 06/2021

Hero image

Infektionskrankheiten

Wir spielen eine bedeutende Rolle bei der Entdeckung und Entwicklung innovativer Medikamente und Impfstoffe für die Behandlung und Vorbeugung von Infektionskrankheiten, einschliesslich HIV, CMV und Antibiotika.

Unsere jahrzehntelange Forschung im Bereich der Infektionskrankheiten hat zu grossen wissenschaftlichen Fortschritten geführt

Seit mehr als einem Jahrhundert setzen wir uns für die Bekämpfung von durch Infektionskrankheiten verursachten globalen Gesundheitsbedrohungen ein. Von der Entwicklung eines der ersten Antibiotika bis hin zu bahnbrechender Forschung im Bereich HIV lag unser Schwerpunkt stets auf der Prävention und Behandlung von Krankheiten, die Menschen und Gemeinschaften auf der ganzen Welt bedrohen. Doch unsere Arbeit ist noch lange nicht getan.

Unsere Arbeit im Bereich Infektionskrankheiten

35

Jahre Engagement in der Forschung, im Kampf gegen die Herausforderung der HIV-Epidemie

1942

das Jahr, in dem wir mit der Produktion von Penicillin "G" begannen

40+

weltweit finanzierte Programme zur Erforschung von Antibiotika

HIV

Unser Engagement für innovative HIV-Forschung geht weiter

Wir erinnern uns an die Zeit, in der HIV eine der grössten Herausforderungen für die Gesellschaft war, in der Millionen Menschen durch die schwere AIDS-Epidemie ihr Leben verloren. Unsere Wissenschaftler machten es sich zur Aufgabe, das Virus zu entschlüsseln und zu verstehen - was zu einer bahnbrechenden HIV-Forschung führte. Wir sind entschlossen, mehr zu tun. Wir erweitern die Grenzen der HIV-Forschung, da immer noch ein ungedeckter medizinischer Bedarf besteht. Die Beseitigung des Virus ist unser oberstes Ziel.

CMV

Prophylaxe der CMV-Infektion

Cytomegalovirus (CMV) bedingte Erkrankungen sind nach wie vor eine der grössten Bedrohungen für Patienten nach allogener Knochenmarktransplantation. Eine CMV-Infektion sollte daher bei diesen Patienten verhindert werden. Bei MSD setzen wir uns dafür ein, die Prophylaxe von CMV-Infektionen zu verbessern.

Antibiotika

Kontinuierliche Forschung und Streben nach Verbesserungen bei der Anwendung von Antibiotika

MSD engagiert sich seit über 80 Jahren in der Antibiotika-Forschung und hat in jedem Jahrzehnt neue Therapien auf den Markt gebracht. Wir investieren weiterhin in die Erforschung von Antibiotika, um den ungedeckten Bedarf der Patienten zu decken.

Ebola

Partnerschaft zur Bekämpfung des tödlichen Virus

Seit dem Auftreten des Ebola-Virus im Jahr 1976 sind regelmässige Ausbrüche eine weltweite Herausforderung für die Gesundheit. Wir sind stolz, Teil der globalen öffentlich-privaten Partnerschaft zu sein, in der Behörden, Industrie, Verbände, Wissenschaftler, Mitarbeitende im Gesundheitswesen und Menschen aus der Bevölkerung gemeinsam gegen diese tödliche Krankheit vorgehen.

COVID-19

Unser Engagement im Kampf gegen COVID-19

Als Unternehmen, das es sich zur Aufgabe macht, Leben zu retten und zu verbessern, haben wir eine besondere Verantwortung, im Kampf gegen COVID-19 zu helfen. Wir haben uns seit dem Beginn der COVID-19-Pandemie für die Entwicklung von wirksamen Massnahmen im Kampf gegen das Virus engagiert.

Erfahren Sie mehr über unser Engagement im Kampf gegen COVID-19

CDI

Prophylaxe von CDI-Infektionen

Die Fälle von Infektionen mit Clostridium difficile (CDI) haben weltweit zugenommen. Das Bakterium verursacht schweren Durchfall und Colitis (eine Entzündung des Dickdarms) und wird vor allem während Spitalaufenthalten übertragen. Für Patienten, die bereits eine Clostridium-difficile-Infektion hatten, besteht ein hohes Risiko einer erneuten Infektion. Eine von 6 Personen, die bereits eine CDI-Infektion hatten, erkrankt in den folgenden 2 bis 8 Wochen erneut. Bei MSD setzen wir uns dafür ein, das Wiederauftreten von CDI-Infektionen zu verhindern.

Impfstoffe

Impfstoffe

Impfstoffe sind einer der grössten Erfolge in der Geschichte der öffentlichen Gesundheit. Seit mehr als 100 Jahren entdecken, entwickeln und stellen wir Impfstoffe zur Vorbeugung von Krankheiten bereit.

Unsere Arbeit im Bereich Impfstoffe

Die Vorbeugung und Behandlung von Infektionskrankheiten ist Teil unseres Engagements. Wir verfolgen verschiedene Ansätze, um zur Bekämpfung von Infektionskrankheiten beizutragen.

Ece Bayrak

Director Business Unit Hospital Acute Care · MSD Schweiz

Previous
Next

Die Menschen und Programme, die zur der Bekämpfung von Infektionskrankheiten beitragen

Erfahren Sie in unseren Stories mehr über unseren Fokus auf die Erforschung von Infektionskrankheiten.

CH-NON-01221, 06/2021