Hero image

Diabetes

We have a long history of making an impact in type 2 diabetes.

Our scientific efforts to profoundly understand type 2 diabetes persist

Diabetes is one of the fastest growing health challenges of the 21st century, with the number of adults living with diabetes having more than tripled over the past 20 years.

Advancements in research have made an impactful difference for patients, and there is still much more work to be done. We strive for scientific excellence and innovation in all stages of research, from discovery through approval and afterwards.

The impact of diabetes

An estimated
463M

adults are currently living with diabetes

About
1.6M

deaths are directly attributed to diabetes each year

Type 2 diabetes accounts for
90%

of all diabetes worldwide

Our work in diabetes

Research

We are investigating the development of new treatment options to further improve the quality of life of diabetes patients.

Diabetes is a chronic illness and, as yet, there is still no cure for it. MSD has been actively conducting research into diabetes for years, to enable us to provide patients with new, innovative treatment options.

Legacy

With an unwavering focus on innovation and substantiated science, we are working on researching, developing and providing drugs and vaccines. In 2007, our long-standing research program for diabetes enabled us to contribute to one of the most important advances in type 2 diabetes treatment: the introduction of a new class of treatment known as DPP-4 inhibitors.

Although diabetes patients have seen their quality of life improve considerably, there are still many who do not reach their target blood sugar levels. Nowadays, there is a new class of antidiabetic substances used to treat type 2 diabetes, known as SGLT-2 inhibitors. This gives patients further options for combination and supplementary therapy for treating type 2 diabetes.

Diabetes is one of the leading causes of death in the world. At MSD, we support information and education about these diseases and are committed to continuously improving treatment options for patients.

Joanna Keiller

Director Business Unit Vaccines & Primary Care · MSD Switzerland

Previous
Next
Health awareness

What you should know about diabetes

About 500,000 people in Switzerland are affected by diabetes and approximately 90% of them (one in 18 people) suffer from type 2 diabetes. Many people may not even know that they have this disease, as the average case of type 2 diabetes is not diagnosed for seven years.

Health awareness

Five diabetes myths debunked

Get facts on five common falsehoods about diabetes

Responsibility

Our commitment to patients is unwavering

As long as there are still patients in hospitals, doctors desperate to add years to the lives of their patients, and a world where treatments aren’t accessible to all, we will be here, fighting with all we have to deliver more, sooner.

CH-NON-01221, 07/2021

Hero image

Diabetes

Wir haben langjährige Erfahrung im Bereich Typ-2-Diabetes.

Wir setzen unsere wissenschaftliche Forschung zum besseren Verständnis des Typ-2-Diabetes fort

Diabetes ist eine der am schnellsten wachsenden gesundheitlichen Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts. Denn die Zahl der Erwachsenen, die mit Diabetes leben, hat sich in den letzten 20 Jahren mehr als verdreifacht.

Fortschritte in der Forschung haben den Patienten grossen Nutzen gebracht. Aber es gibt noch viel mehr zu tun. Wir streben nach wissenschaftlicher Exzellenz und Innovation in allen Phasen der Forschung, von der Entdeckung bis zur Zulassung und darüber hinaus.

Die Bedeutung von Diabetes

Rund
463

Millionen Erwachsene leben derzeit mit Diabetes

Rund
1.6

Millionen Todesfälle werden jedes Jahr direkt auf Diabetes zurückgeführt

Rund
90%

aller Diabetes-Fälle sind Typ-2-Diabetes

Unsere Arbeit im Bereich Diabetes

Forschung

Wir forschen an der Entwicklung neuer Therapien, die Diabetes-Patienten noch mehr Lebensqualität schenken.

Diabetes ist eine chronische Krankheit und bis heute nicht heilbar. MSD engagiert sich seit Jahren aktiv in der Diabetesforschung, um Patienten neue, innovative Therapien zur Verfügung stellen zu können.

Langjährige Erfahrung

Mit kontinuierlichem Fokus auf Innovation und fundierte Wissenschaft arbeiten wir an der Erforschung, Entwicklung und Bereitstellung von Medikamenten und Impfstoffen. Unser langjähriges Forschungsprogramm im Bereich Diabetes hat es ermöglicht, im Jahr 2007 zu einem der wichtigsten Fortschritte in der Behandlung des Typ-2-Diabetes beizutragen: zur Einführung sogenannter DPP-4-Inhibitoren als Therapieoption einer damals neuen Klasse.

Auch wenn sich die Lebensqualität von Diabetes-Patienten damit deutlich verbessert hat, erreichen noch nicht alle ihren Blutzucker-Zielwert. Heute sind sogenannte SGLT-2-Inhibitoren eine neue Substanzklasse der Antidiabetika zur Therapie des Typ-2-Diabetes. Damit stehen den Patienten weitere Kombinations- und Ergänzungstherapien für die Behandlung des Typ-2-Diabetes zur Verfügung.

Diabetes ist eine der häufigsten Todesursachen weltweit. Bei MSD unterstützen wir die Information und Aufklärung über diese Krankheit und setzen uns dafür ein, die Behandlungsmöglichkeiten für die Patienten kontinuierlich zu verbessern.

Joanna Keiller

Director Business Unit Primary Care & Vaccines · MSD Schweiz

Previous
Next
Gesundheitsbewusstsein

Was Sie über Diabetes wissen sollten

Rund 500’000 Menschen sind in der Schweiz von Diabetes betroffen, circa 90% davon (eine von 18 Personen) leiden an Diabetes Typ 2. Viele Personen wissen möglicherweise noch gar nicht, dass sie ebenfalls daran erkrankt sind, denn es dauert im Durchschnitt 7 Jahre, bis ein Typ-2-Diabetes entdeckt wird.

Gesundheitsbewusstsein

Fünf Mythen über Diabetes

Lesen Sie die Wahrheit über fünf häufige Falschannahmen.

Verantwortung

Die Patienten stehen für uns an erster Stelle

Solange Patienten in Spitälern liegen, Ärzte verzweifelt versuchen, das Leben ihrer Patienten zu verlängern und wir in einer Welt leben, in der Therapien nicht für alle zugänglich sind, werden wir uns dafür einsetzen, mehr zu erreichen.

CH-NON-01222, 07/2021