Hero image

Diabetes

We have a long history of making an impact in type 2 diabetes.

Our scientific efforts to profoundly understand type 2 diabetes persist

Diabetes is one of the fastest growing health challenges of the 21st century, with the number of adults living with diabetes having more than tripled over the past 20 years.

Advancements in research have made an impactful difference for patients, and there is still much more work to be done. We strive for scientific excellence and innovation in all stages of research, from discovery through approval and afterwards.

The impact of diabetes

An estimated
463M

adults are currently living with diabetes

About
1.6M

deaths are directly attributed to diabetes each year

Type 2 diabetes accounts for
90%

of all diabetes worldwide

Our work in diabetes

Research

We are investigating the development of new treatment options to further improve the quality of life of diabetes patients.

Diabetes is a chronic illness and, as yet, there is still no cure for it. MSD has been actively conducting research into diabetes for years, to enable us to provide patients with new, innovative treatment options.

Legacy

With an unwavering focus on innovation and substantiated science, we are working on researching, developing and providing drugs and vaccines. In 2007, our long-standing research program for diabetes enabled us to contribute to one of the most important advances in type 2 diabetes treatment: the introduction of a new class of treatment known as DPP-4 inhibitors.

Although diabetes patients have seen their quality of life improve considerably, there are still many who do not reach their target blood sugar levels. Nowadays, there is a new class of antidiabetic substances used to treat type 2 diabetes, known as SGLT-2 inhibitors. This gives patients further options for combination and supplementary therapy for treating type 2 diabetes.

Diabetes is one of the leading causes of death in the world. At MSD, we support information and education about these diseases and are committed to continuously improving treatment options for patients.

Joanna Keiller

Director Business Unit Vaccines & Primary Care · MSD Switzerland

Previous
Next
Health awareness

What you should know about diabetes

About 500,000 people in Switzerland are affected by diabetes and approximately 90% of them (one in 18 people) suffer from type 2 diabetes. Many people may not even know that they have this disease, as the average case of type 2 diabetes is not diagnosed for seven years.

Health awareness

Five diabetes myths debunked

Get facts on five common falsehoods about diabetes

Responsibility

Our commitment to patients is unwavering

As long as there are still patients in hospitals, doctors desperate to add years to the lives of their patients, and a world where treatments aren’t accessible to all, we will be here, fighting with all we have to deliver more, sooner.

CH-NON-01221, 07/2021

Hero image

Diabète

Nous avons une longue expérience dans la lutte contre le diabète de type 2.

Nous ne relâchons pas nos efforts en matière de recherche pour mieux comprendre le diabète de type 2 persistent

Le diabète est l’un des défis sanitaires du XXIe siècle qui connaît la croissance la plus rapide, le nombre d’adultes vivant avec la maladie ayant plus que triplé au cours des vingt dernières années.

Les progrès de la recherche ont eu un impact considérable sur les patients, mais il reste encore beaucoup à faire. Nous visons l’excellence scientifique et l’innovation à tous les stades de la recherche, de la découverte à l’approbation et au-delà.

L'impact du diabète

Environ
463

millions adultes vivant actuellement avec le diabète

Environ
1.6

million de décès sont directement attribués au diabète chaque année

Le diabète de type 2 représente environ
90%

de tous les cas de diabète

Notre travail dans le domaine du diabète

Recherche

Nous faisons de la recherche dans le développement de nouveaux traitements qui procurent aux patients diabétiques une meilleure qualité de vie.

Le diabète est une maladie chronique incurable à ce jour. MSD s’engage activement depuis des années dans la recherche sur le diabète, afin de pouvoir mettre à disposition des patients affectés des thérapies innovantes.

Héritage

En mettant en permanence l’accent sur l’innovation et la science approfondie, nous travaillons à la recherche, au développement et à la préparation de médicaments et de vaccins. Notre programme de recherche portant sur de longues années dans le domaine du diabète a permis en 2007 de contribuer à l’un des progrès majeurs dans le traitement du diabète de type 2: l’introduction de molécules appelées inhibiteurs de DPP-4 comme option thérapeutique d’une nouvelle classe à l’époque.

Même si la qualité de vie des patients diabétiques s’est ainsi nettement améliorée, tous les patients ne réussissent pas encore à atteindre leur valeur cible de glycémie. Aujourd’hui, les substances appelées inhibiteurs de SGLT-2 constituent une nouvelle classe d’antidiabétiques pour le traitement du diabète de type 2. Les patients ont ainsi d’autres traitements d'association et traitements adjuvants à leur disposition pour le diabète de type 2.

Le diabète est l'une des principales causes de décès dans le monde. Chez MSD, nous soutenons l’information et l’éducation sur la maladie et nous engageons à améliorer continuellement les options de traitement pour les patients.

Joanna Keiller

Director Business Unit Vaccines & Primary Care · MSD Suisse

Previous
Next
Sensibilisation à la santé

Ce que vous devez savoir sur le diabète

En Suisse, près de 500 000 personnes sont atteintes de diabète, dont environ 90% (une personne sur 18) souffrent de diabète de type 2. De nombreuses personnes ignorent peut-être encore qu’elles sont également atteintes car il faut en moyenne sept ans pour qu’un diabète de type 2 soit détecté.

Sensibilisation à la santé

Cinq idées reçues sur le diabète démystifiées

Faites la lumière sur cinq fausses idées courantes sur le diabète.

Responsabilité

Notre engagement envers les patients est inébranlable

Tant qu’il y aura des patients dans les hôpitaux, des médecins prêts àtout pour prolonger la vie de leurs patients, et que les traitements ne seront pas accessibles à tous dans le monde, nous serons là : nous nous battrons avec tout ce que nous avons pour offrir plus, plus vite. 

CH-NON-01221, 07/2021