Hero image

Oncology

We’re working to invent a world where cancer isn’t just treated, but cured.

Our mission is to deliver breakthrough innovations that extend and improve the lives of people with cancer

We work to prevent cancer where we can and give oncologists more treatment options for their cancer patients that lead to a better quality of life and more time.

Everyone knows someone who has been touched by cancer. When a cancer diagnosis happens, what matters most isn’t what the next scientific breakthrough is – but when it will be available to patients in Switzerland.

Our work in oncology

31

clinical trials involving our cancer medicines in Switzerland (as of 11/2021).

~500

patients currently enrolled in our clinical trials in Switzerland and round about 250 patients are actively on study drug (as of 11/2021).

11

different types of cancer are being studied in our clinical trials Switzerland (as of 11/2021).

Our focus

Our company has a long history of bringing forward innovative medicines. In the field of oncology, we focus on immunotherapy, which aims to activate the body's own immune system to fight the tumor. Our relentless commitment to research and development has enabled us to establish an exceptionally broad research program with more than 1'600 studies. Switzerland is part of this program, currently conducting 31 clinical trials in 11 different tumor types (as of 11/2021). Today, our portfolio includes oncology medicines that treat different cancers and conditions related to cancer treatment.

Access to care

Improving access to cancer care is our strategic priority. We are working with the entire cancer community to help patients gain access to the oncology medicines that they need and to expand the provision of quality cancer care.

The Swiss Oncology team is

  • collaborating with authorities and institutions to ensure access to our medicines
  • working on solutions how to continuously improve the support of healthcare professionals and patients in the treatment of cancer
  • interacting with Oncologists, Scientific leaders and patient organizations to gain insight into market and customer needs.

Progress through partnerships

We work with the entire cancer community - advocacy partners, health care providers, government and industry colleagues - all who share our mission to extend and improve the lives of people with cancer.

Our team has engaged in collaborative efforts to raise the awareness of cancer and improve its prevention, including the creation of regular platforms for stakeholder to advance health policy discussions around cancer care. Furthermore we are a founding member of the multi-stakeholder alliance “All.Can” which aims to exploit efficiency in cancer care.

We participate in several initiatives to support patients with cancer. These include:

  • a website for disease management
  • campaigns to educate the public about early signs and detection
  • a partnership to improve sustainable cancer care all-can.org.

MSD is one of the world 's leading companies in oncology. Visionary research and collaborative action have already led to breakthroughs for the prevention and treatment of certain types of cancer and we're committed to driving further innovation to help change the future of this disease.

Will Wooding

Business Unit Director Oncology · MSD Switzerland

Previous
Next

It takes all of us to beat cancer

As long as doctors are desperate to add years to the lives of their patients, and a world where treatments aren’t accessible to all, we will be here: fighting with all we have to deliver more, sooner.

Clinical studies are the key to gaining new knowledge about the diagnosis and treatment of diseases.

We’re proud to be contributing to this effort in Switzerland.

The ongoing clinical study program in Switzerland includes 31 studies in various cancers (as of 11/2021).

CH-NON-00473, 11/2021

Hero image

Onkologie

Wir streben nach einer Welt, in der Krebs nicht nur behandelbar, sondern eines Tages heilbar ist.

Unser Ziel sind Innovationen, die das Leben von Menschen mit Krebs verlängern und verbessern

Wir arbeiten daran, Krebs durch vorbeugende Impfungen verhindern zu können und Onkologen Behandlungsoptionen zu bieten, die ihren Patienten mehr Lebensqualität und mehr Zeit schenken.

Jeder kennt eine Person, die an Krebs erkrankt ist. Wenn eine Krebsdiagnose gestellt wird, ist es nicht wichtig, was der nächste wissenschaftliche Durchbruch ist, sondern wann er den Patienten in der Schweiz zur Verfügung steht.

Unsere Arbeit im Bereich Onkologie

31

klinische Studien mit unseren Krebsmedikamenten in der Schweiz (Stand 11/2021).

~500

Patienten nehmen derzeit an unseren klinischen Studien in der Schweiz teil, rund 250 erhalten das Studienmedikament (Stand 11/2021).

11

verschiedene Krebsarten werden in unseren klinischen Studien in der Schweiz untersucht (Stand 11/2021).

Unser Fokus

Unser Unternehmen blickt auf eine lange Geschichte der Entwicklung innovativer Medikamente zurück. Im Bereich der Onkologie konzentrieren wir uns auf die Immuntherapie, die darauf abzielt, das körpereigene Immunsystem zur Bekämpfung des Tumors zu aktivieren. Unser unermüdliches Engagement in der Forschung und Entwicklung hat uns ermöglicht, ein aussergewöhnlich breit angelegtes Forschungsprogramm mit mehr als 1'600 klinischen Studien aufzubauen. Die Schweiz ist Teil dieses Programms, mit derzeit 31 klinischen Studien in 11 verschiedenen Tumorarten (Stand 11/2021). Heute umfasst unser Portfolio onkologische Medikamente für die Behandlung verschiedener Krebsarten und mit der Krebsbehandlung zusammenhängende Erkrankungen.

Zugang zu medizinischer Versorgung

Die Verbesserung des Zugangs zu Krebstherapien ist unsere strategische Zielsetzung. Wir arbeiten mit der gesamten Krebsgemeinschaft zusammen, um Patienten den Zugang zu von ihnen benötigten onkologischen Medikamenten zu erleichtern und das Angebot an qualitativ hochwertigen Krebstherapien zu erweitern.

Das Schweizer Onkologie-Team

  • arbeitet mit Behörden und Institutionen zusammen, um den Zugang zu unseren Medikamenten zu gewährleisten,
  • arbeitet an Lösungen, die medizinische Fachpersonen und Patienten kontinuierlich bei der Behandlung von Krebs unterstützen können,
  • koordiniert die Zusammenarbeit mit Onkologen, Wissenschaftsexperten und Patientenorganisationen, um einen Einblick in die Markt- und Kundenbedürfnisse zu erhalten.

Fortschritt durch Partnerschaften

Wir arbeiten mit der gesamten Krebs-Community zusammen: mit Interessengruppen, mit Dienstleistern im Gesundheitswesen, mit Regierungs- und Industriepartnern, mit allen, die unsere Mission, das Leben von Menschen mit Krebs zu verlängern und zu verbessern, teilen.

Unser Team engagiert sich für die Aufklärung über Krebs und die Verbesserung der Prävention, einschliesslich der Schaffung regelmässiger Plattformen für Interessenvertreter, welche die gesundheitspolitischen Diskussionen rund um das Thema Krebsversorgung vorantreiben. Darüber hinaus sind wir Gründungsmitglied der Multi-Stakeholder-Initiative «All.Can», die das Ziel verfolgt, die Effizienz der Krebsversorgung zu verbessern.

Wir beteiligen uns an mehreren Initiativen zur Unterstützung von Krebspatienten.
Dazu gehören:

  • eine Website über den Umgang mit Krebs
  • Kampagnen zur Aufklärung der Öffentlichkeit über die Anzeichen und Früherkennung von Krebs
  • Eine Partnerschaft zur Förderung einer nachhaltigen Betreuung all-can.org.

MSD ist eines der weltweit führenden Unternehmen im Bereich der Onkologie. Visionäre Forschung und partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit haben bereits zu Durchbrüchen bei der Prävention und Behandlung bestimmter Krebsarten geführt. Wir sind entschlossen, weitere Innovationen voranzutreiben, um die Zukunft dieser Krankheit zu verändern.

Will Wooding

Business Unit Director Oncology · MSD Schweiz

Previous
Next

Im Kampf gegen Krebs braucht es das Engagement von uns allen

Solange Ärzte verzweifelt versuchen, das Leben ihrer Krebspatienten zu verlängern und solange wir in einer Welt leben, in der Therapien nicht für alle zugänglich sind, setzen wir uns dafür ein, mehr zu erreichen.

Klinische Studien sind der Schlüssel zu neuen Erkenntnissen in der Diagnostik und Therapie von Erkrankungen.

Wir sind stolz, in der Schweiz dazu beizutragen.

Das klinische Studienprogramm von MSD in der Schweiz umfasst 31 Studien zu verschiedenen Krebsarten (Stand 11/2021).

CH-NON-00473, 06/2021