MSD Expands Operations in Switzerland

  • Company will open a new location in Zurich, focused on accelerating research, data and commercialization of our medicines and vaccines
  • Lucerne will remain the center of MSD’s presence in Switzerland

Lucerne, January 31, 2020 – MSD (Merck Sharp & Dohme AG) today announced that it will establish a new office in Zurich, Switzerland, aimed at accelerating the development and commercialization of many of our company’s medicines and vaccines, which supports our mission to save and improve lives around the world. The new location has a target date of 2021 for operational readiness.

“We are proud that MSD is building on our rich, almost 60-year legacy in Switzerland through the establishment of a new office in Zurich, which is a natural extension of our footprint here,” said Thomas Lang, Managing Director, MSD in Switzerland. “Lucerne will remain the center of our presence in Switzerland, and we look forward to our continued success.”

The new office in Zurich will be staffed by teams working in strategic and operational roles in medical affairs, clinical development, access and marketing operations functions. In addition to relocating employees from other MSD locations worldwide, new talent will be hired. By the time of its completion, more than 250 employees will work at the new site.

“We selected Zurich because of its exceptional academic and life sciences ecosystem coupled with its high stability, central European location,” added Klaus Beck, Vice President, Medical Affairs, MSD in Switzerland. “Zurich provides an ideal setting for our teams to achieve scientific excellence by collaborating to develop and commercialize our inventions to improve human health around the world.”

MSD has had a presence in Switzerland since 1963. With a regional office and manufacturing/packaging facility, Lucerne is considered the center of operations. Approximately 1,000 people work at the four Lucerne locations (Weystrasse, Citybay, Schachen and Kriens).

About MSD in Switzerland:

The field of human medicine in Switzerland is responsible for selling drugs and biopharmaceuticals available only on prescription in the therapy areas of oncology, diabetes, cardiovascular, infectious diseases (amongst others, fungus infections, antibiotic resistances, HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis C), immunology, women’s health as well as vaccines for children, adolescents and adults. In Switzerland, MSD conducts clinical research and manufactures drugs for worldwide clinical studies. MSD is also involved at its Lucerne location, among other things in the annual specialist event “Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern”. In 2019, the Switzerland company received the certification “Top Employer” for the seventh time in a row as well as the award “Top Employer Europe” for the fourth time.

About MSD worldwide:

For more than a century, MSD, a leading global biopharmaceutical company, has been inventing for life, bringing forward medicines and vaccines for many of the world’s most challenging diseases. MSD is the trade name of Merck & Co., Inc, with headquarters in Kenilworth, N.J., USA. Through our prescription medicines, vaccines, biologic therapies and animal health products, we work with customers and operate in more than 140 countries to deliver innovative health solutions. We also demonstrate our commitment to increasing access to health care through far-reaching policies, programs and partnerships. Today, MSD continues to be at the forefront of research to advance the prevention and treatment of diseases that threaten people and communities around the world - including cancer, cardio-metabolic diseases, emerging animal diseases, Alzheimer’s disease and infectious diseases including HIV and Ebola.

For more information: www.msd.ch
Follow us on Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

This information is intended exclusively for media professionals. MSD presents the advertising law provisions of pharmaceutical law, in particular to the ban on public advertising for prescription medicinal products.

Media department MSD Switzerland
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. +41 (0) 58 618 30 30
Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)

© 2020 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Lucerne. All rights reserved.

CH-NON-00410, 01/2020

MSD erweitert Geschäfte in der Schweiz

  • Das Unternehmen wird eine neue Niederlassung in Zürich eröffnen, deren Schwerpunkt auf der Beschleunigung von Forschung, Datengewinnung und Vermarktung unserer Arzneimittel und Impfstoffe liegt
  • Luzern bleibt das Zentrum der Präsenz von MSD in der Schweiz

Luzern, 31. Januar 2020 – MSD (Merck Sharp & Dohme AG) gab heute bekannt, dass sie eine neue Niederlassung in Zürich in der Schweiz mit dem Ziel eröffnen wird, die Entwicklung und Vermarktung vieler Arzneimittel und Impfstoffe des Unternehmens zu beschleunigen, um seine Mission zum Retten und Verbessern von Leben weltweit zu fördern. Der neue Standort soll im Jahr 2021 betriebsbereit sein.

Thomas Lang, Geschäftsführer von MSD in der Schweiz, erklärte: «Wir sind stolz darauf, dass wir durch die Eröffnung einer neuen Niederlassung in Zürich auf unserer fast 60-jährigen Tradition in der Schweiz aufbauen und unsere Präsenz natürlich erweitern können. Luzern bleibt das Zentrum unserer Aktivitäten in der Schweiz und wir freuen uns auf unseren anhaltenden Erfolg.»

Die neue Niederlassung in Zürich wird mit Teams besetzt, die in strategischen und operativen Rollen in den Geschäftsfunktionen medizinische Angelegenheiten, klinische Entwicklung, Zugang und Marketing arbeiten. Zusätzlich zur Versetzung von Mitarbeitenden von anderen MSD-Standorten weltweit werden auch neue Mitarbeitende eingestellt. Nach der Fertigstellung werden mehr als 250 Mitarbeitende am neuen Standort arbeiten.

Klaus Beck, Vizepräsident Medical Affairs von MSD in der Schweiz, ergänzte: «Wir haben uns aufgrund des aussergewöhnlichen Universitäts- und Biowissenschaften-Ökosystems in Kombination mit seiner grossen Stabilität und zentralen Lage in Europa für Zürich entschieden. Zürich bietet die idealen Voraussetzungen, damit unsere Teams wissenschaftliche Exzellenz durch Kooperation hinsichtlich der Entwicklung und Vermarktung unserer Erfindungen zur Verbesserung der menschlichen Gesundheit weltweit erzielen können.»

MSD ist seit 1963 in der Schweiz vertreten. Mit einer regionalen Niederlassung und einem Produktions-/Verpackungsstandort wird Luzern als der Hauptsitz betrachtet. Ungefähr 1000 Mitarbeitende sind an den Standorten in Luzern tätig (Weystrasse, Citybay, Schachen und Kriens).

Über MSD in der Schweiz:

Der Bereich für Humanmedizin in der Schweiz ist für den Verkauf rezeptpflichtiger Medikamente und Biopharmazeutika in den Therapiebereichen Onkologie, Diabetes, kardiovaskuläre Erkrankungen, Infektionskrankheiten (unter anderem, Pilzinfektionen, Antibiotikaresistenzen, HIV/AIDS und Hepatitis C), Immunologie, Gesundheit von Frauen sowie Impfstoffe für Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene verantwortlich. In der Schweiz betreibt MSD klinische Forschung und produziert Medikamente für weltweite klinische Studien. MSD wirkt an seinem Standort in Luzern u. a. auch an der jährlichen Fachveranstaltung «Trendtage Gesundheit Luzern» mit. Im Jahr 2019 erhielt der Betrieb in der Schweiz zum siebten Mal in Folge die Zertifizierung als «Top-Arbeitgeber» sowie zum vierten Mal die Auszeichnung «Top-Arbeitgeber Europa».

Über MSD global:

MSD ist ein geschützter Name von Merck & Co., Inc., Kenilworth, New Jersey, U.S.A. MSD ist ein führendes globales biopharmazeutisches Unternehmen, das seit mehr als einem Jahrhundert für das Leben forscht und Arzneimittel und Impfstoffe gegen die herausforderndsten Krankheiten weltweit entwickelt, darunter Krebs, Herz-Kreislauf, Alzheimer sowie Infektionskrankheiten, inklusive HIV und Ebola.

Mehr unter: www.msd.ch
Folgen Sie uns auf Twitter, LinkedIn und YouTube.

Diese Informationen sind ausschliesslich für Medienschaffende bestimmt. MSD befolgt die werberechtlichen Bestimmungen des Arzneimittelrechts, insbesondere das Verbot öffentlicher Werbung für rezeptpflichtige medizinische Produkte.

Medienabteilung MSD Schweiz:
media.switzerland@merck.com | Tel. 058 618 30 30
Jean-Blaise Defago (Policy & Communications Director)

© 2020 MSD Merck Sharp & Dohme AG, Werftestrasse 4, 6005 Luzern. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

CH-NON-00410, 01/2020